Book Notification

Louise Douglas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Love of My Life (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing You (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets Between Us (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Her Shadow (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Your Beautiful Lies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret by the Lake (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House by the Sea (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarlet Dress (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Room in the Attic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets of the Sea House (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of Villa Alba (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer of Lies (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Louise Douglas is a general fiction and horror fiction author from North Somerset. Still, she was born in Yorkshire where she spent much of her childhood before moving to Somerset, where she has lived for the better of two decades.

Douglas penned “The Love of My Life,” her debut novel in 2008 and has never looked back since. She now has more than nine single standing titles to her name, most of which have become bestselling titles.

She currently lives with her partner and her three children. Louise has a passion for protecting the planet, nature, and animals.

When she is not writing her best selling novels, she can often be found walking Lola and Lil her family dogs and spending time with friends and family. She is also very active on social media platforms, where she usually interacts with her fans.

Like many of her contemporaries, Louise Douglas earned her living being a journalist and copywriting for all manner of clients. Still, all she ever wanted to be was a fiction author.

In 2006, she finally got the opportunity to embark on her journey when her partner was away for the week and her children were old enough not to want or need her constant attention.

She enrolled into a postal fiction writing course and started writing the manuscript for “The Love of My Life.” She used to do it every evening when she came back from work, and it would take her about half a year to finish the novel.

After she submitted it to Marianne Gunn O’Connor the highly regarded literary agent, she got a two book contract with Pan Macmillan. She was over the moon when the agent called to tell her the news as it was the most exhilarating moment of her writing career.

She thinks herself lucky to be able to do something that she has always dreamed about.

Even though Louise Douglas still works her day job that she has asserted she thoroughly enjoys, she still writes her fiction in the evenings as she has never been a morning person.

According to Douglas, the best thing about the past few years was learning from, meeting and working with some hugely inspirational and professional people such as Helen Guthrie, Imogen Taylor, Thalia Suzuma and Trisha Jackson at Pan Macmillan.

She also loves interacting with Pat Lynch and MArianne at the literary agency and the helpful, kind and talented Milly Johnson an author who she has become best friends with.

Louise Douglas’s novel “The House by the Sea” is an unforgettable, chilling and captivating story of jealousy, betrayal and the mysteries that may be found in every family.

The death of Anna Deluca could not have left her daughter in law Edie more relieved. She has always blamed the deceased for the accident that had torn the family apart. But Edie is lured to Sicily by the deceased’s will and the chance at spending some time at the abandoned but luxurious family Villa.

She suspects that Anna could be trying to still control their lives from the other side of the grave. It does seem that she is trying to reunite her with Joe, her former husband, even if the only thing she wants to do is leave Italy.

She was getting ready to leave when suddenly some dark secrets of the villa started getting unearthed. Who are the girls that she sees herself with in the photos taken in her childhood? Why is one of the kids scratched out of the photo or could someone want to keep some dark secrets hidden?

It does seem the villa is a place where ghosts roam freely but can Joe and Edie move on before their legacy is laid to rest.

“The Scarlet Dress” by Louise Douglas is a brilliant romance novel set in the hot and long summer of 1995. The lead is Alice Lang, a twenty two year old who is living at the Severn Sands holiday resort, where she has rented a caravan.

She has made friends with Marnie, a damaged and shy girl whose mother was deceased a few months past leaving her with her father, the caretaker of the holiday park.

The son of the woman who runs the bar is a youth named Will, who is falling for Alice and is terribly jealous when she sees other people. Tensions are soon rising beyond boiling point until Alice goes missing with only her Scarlet dress found on the beach.

Twenty five years later, the town has decayed and hardly anyone visits. The proprietors of the holiday park had left it to Guy deVillars, their son, who immediately put up the failing business for sale. The developers soon stumble into the body of a young girl who the police believe to have been that of Alice.
Marnie and Will’s lives are significantly impacted by the happenings of that summer all those years past. Now that Alice has been found they have to deal with old secrets and memories and an unbearable guilt for the role they played in her death.

Louise Douglas’s novel “The Secrets Between Us” is the gripping romance story between the brooding and dark Alex and Sarah. They have both left some terrible relationships and need new starts, which they embark upon together.

She thinks she will get the perfect life she has always desired but when she arrives at Burringstone Stoke, a tiny village in the country, she thinks there is something very fishy.

It turns out Alex is married to Genevieve, a talented, charming and beautiful woman loved by all who knew her. Sarah learns that Alex had a very good marriage that had produced Jamie a much loved son.

Why would Genevieve abandon such a great life and go missing without any goodbyes? According to Genevieve’s family, Alex may know more about his wife’s disappearance than he says he does.

But Sarah is in love with the man and believes he is not guilty of any dark secrets.

It is a cracking read full of breath holding moments, suspense and drama that is just as exciting as it is exhilarating.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Louise Douglas

One Response to “Louise Douglas”

  1. ROGER KEITH HARDING: 9 months ago

    Hello Louise, I have just read The Secret of Villa Alba, which I immensely enjoyed. It was a book picked at random for our mobile library. Being a Somerset man born and bred it was a surprise to see my departed Father’s name appear in print, Jack Harding and the little town of Shapcott. Two villages near where I live are Shapwick and Catcott, maybe an amalgam of those two?
    During the Covid lockdown, I started to write my first novel, with connections to Somerset. I have written 5 so far but none have been published, mainly due to a lack of knowledge in how to go about it and other pressures getting in the way.
    I am looking forward to reading more of your novels soon.
    Kind regards

    Roger Harding.


Leave a Reply