Book Notification

Louise O’Neill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Louise O’Neill
Louise O’Neill is an Irish author that was born February 24, 1985 and grew up in Clonakilty, in West Cork, Ireland. After she graduated from Trinity College Dublin with her BA in English Studies, she went on to complete a post-grad in Fashion Buying at DIT.

She moved to New York City in the year 2010. During this time, she worked for Kate Lanphear, the senior Style Director of ELLE magazine. When she returned to Ireland in the year 2011, she started writing her first novel.

Louise has since won Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year at the 2014 Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, The Bookseller’s Inaugural YA Book Prize 2015, and the Children’s Books Ireland Ellis Dillon Award for a First Children’s Book.

Louise has also won Best Author at the Stellar Shine Awards 2015, the Literature Award at the Irish Tattler Women of the Year Awards 2015, and the Praeses Elite award by Trinity College Dublin.

Louise works as a freelance for a number of Irish national newspapers and magazines, where she covers fashion, feminist issues, and pop culture. As of 2016, she has written as a weekly columnist for the Irish Examiner.

She went from hanging out on set with A-list celebrities to spending many of her days in pyjamas as she writes, and has never been happier in her entire life.

Louise’s debut novel, called “Only Ever Yours”, was released in the year 2014. Her work is from the young adult romance and young adult fantasy.

“Only Ever Yours” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2014. In a world where baby girls are no longer born naturally, women get bred in schools, trained in the arts of pleasing men until they get ready for the outside world. At graduation, the most highly rated girls then become “companions”, permitted to live with their husbands and breed sons until they are not useful anymore.

For the girls that get left behind, the future, as either a teacher or a concubine, is grim. Best friends Isabel and Freida are sure they are going to be chosen as companions as they are among the most highly rated girls in their year.

But while the intensity of the final year begins taking hold, Isabel does the unthinkable and begins putting weight on. Then, into this sealed female environment, the boys start showing up, eager to pick out a bride. Frieda has to fight for her future, even if this means betraying the only love, the only friend that she has ever known.

Readers loved the writing in the novel, which is absorbing and engrossing, and despite the heavy subject matter, you want to continue reading. The novel is fast paced and never felt dull.

“Asking For It” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2015. It is the start of summer in a tiny town in Ireland. Emma O’Donovan is eighteen, happy, beautiful, and confident. One night, there is a party. Everybody is there. All eyes are on Emma.

The very next morning, she wakes up on the front porch of her house. She has no recollection of what happened, she does not know how she got there. Nor does she know why she is in pain. However, everybody else knows.

Pictures taken at the party show, in rather explicit detail, just what happened to Emma that night. Sometimes people do not want to believe what is right front of them, particularly when the truth concerns the heroes of the town.

“Almost Love” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. If it does not hurt, then it is not love. When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard. So it does not matter at all that he is twenty years older than her. That, slowly but surely, she sacrifices everything else in her life in order to be with him. That he sees her in secret only.

Sarah’s friends have grown worried. Her dad cannot comprehend how she could let herself be used like this. And she is incredibly close of losing her job. However, Sarah cannot help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. Love is supposed to hurt. Right?

“The Surface Breaks” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. Deep beneath the sea, off of the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid that dreams of freedom from her controlling dad. On her very first swim up to the surface, she ends up drawn towards a human boy.

She yearns to join his carefree world, however how much will she need to sacrifice? What is it going to take for the little mermaid to locate her voice?

This is a book with the darkest of undercurrents, filled with rallying cries and rage: storytelling at its most spellbinding.

“After the Silence” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. Nessa Crowley’s killer has been protected by silence for a decade now. Until a team making a documentary decide to learn the truth.

On the day of Keelin and Henry Kinsella’s wild party at their big house the violent storm engulfed the whole island of Inisrun, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley’s lifeless body lay in the garden, her last breath was silenced by the thunder and the music.

The murderer could not have escaped Inisrun, however one got charged with the murder. The mystery that surrounded the death of Nessa stayed hidden. However, the islander knew who to blame for the crime that changed them forever.

A decade later a documentary crew shows up, there to lift the lid off of the Kinsella’s carefully built lives, determined to locate the evidence that will prove Henry’s guilt and Keelin’s complicity in the murder of the beautiful Nessa. Louise O’Neill shows that lethal secrets are devastating to those that hold them close.

Fans found this novel to be an honest, bold depiction of obsessive love. Some found this to be a darkly compelling mystery, and powerfully atmospheric. The novel is chillingly good, disturbing, and brilliant.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Louise O’Neill

Leave a Reply