Book Notification

Lowcountry Tales Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lowcountry Tales Books

Sullivan's Island (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plantation (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Isle of Palms (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shem Creek (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pawleys Island (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bulls Island (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to Sullivan's Island (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Summer (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Folly Beach (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hurricane Sisters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Single Ladies /Carolina Girls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Same Beach, Next Year (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen Bee (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion Beach (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronologically, Bulls Island takes place after Folly Beach.

Dorothea Benton Frank is an author of more than sixteen books with all of them revolving around the Low Country of South Carolina. When she is not writing, she is either cooking or gardening. Furthermore, she loves to travel a lot and most importantly spend time with her kids and husband. Her most recent work is All the Single Ladies which was officially released on the 9th of June 2015.

A low Country Tale

As the first book in the Paperback novel, A Low Country tale is set in the stormy and steamy landscape of South Carolina and the Sullivan’s island marks the debut of a really great novel. It also tells the story of an exceedingly courageous woman and her journey toward finding the truth. For a majority of reader’s the Sullivan’s island was indeed the first book for them to read from Dorothea Benton Frank. A Low Country Tale comes together like biscuits and honey with a Southern flavor to it.

In this book life sends Susan towards several curves. Her husband has gone out of line while her bills are piling up way faster than the way she expected. Susan’s teenage daughter is also an excellent character. Unlike any other teenager, Susan’s daughter is a very good kid, though a little wayward most of the time. The easy banter between Susan and her daughter is truly amazing to read. Apart from that, Susan is also extremely lucky to have sister who supports her steadfastly. The sister lives in the island homestead as Susan goes through the mire of her life.

The storm that Susan is experiencing is going to get extremely worse right before she experiences a calm. If you haven’t read any of her previous books then you would really love her writing style. Her writing style is comfortable and fluid. As an author, Dorothea has the ability to transport you the reader into a world that is away from the putrid smell and traffic noises which is characteristic of the urban life. She takes you into a world that is full of sweet pie smells and salty air of sea water. As the story continues, a mystery unravels as many questions are answered, most of which had been kept hidden by the family.

Return to Sullivan’s Island

In this book, the author revisits the enchanted South Carolina landscape which made her extremely famous and a New York best seller. In this book, the author focuses on the next generation of the Hayes and Hamilton’s. The author creates a world where an aspiring author Beth Hayes whose quite uncertainties and chirpy monologues makes her endearing which is much of a character that she is as the house that she lives in. After her graduation from college, Beth makes a return to her family home in Island Gamble.

On the other hand, her mother Susan decides to visit Paris. The author’s portrayal of a large family is not only precise but also complicated. As a character, Susan is not only kind but also very adoring. Apart from Susan we are also introduced to Aunt Maggie who is a stickler for manners. The two aunts, Alison and Maggie who are in charge of running a vitamin and Exercise Empire and the two uncles Henry and Timmy are also very interesting characters. All the character’s that Frank decides to use in this book all steam up the pace of the book, in such a manner that there is no room for Beth’s love affairs with Woody Morison and Max Mitchel and her friends, though the two characters later on in the book become extremely important characters. Throughout the book, the author is extremely funny as she weaves through the undercurrent which incites some major surprises later on in the book. The Winsomely oddball characters, tight storytelling and the Southern magic touches definitely makes this book a winner.


The plantation is a very charming and endearing tale about a family which is brought together due to the difficult times that they are both facing. As a highly accomplished writer, Frank has the aptitude to weave history, humor, folklore and plain fun throughout the book. In this book we are introduced to one Caroline Wimbley who may list more than a million things why she has untied herself from her mother, Lavinia.

She decides to escape to New York City and marry the first man who was going to show her interest. Ever since her father passed away, she has never felt really close to her mother. As the years passed away, Caroline becomes happily married, finds a very stable job and eventually finds a son who makes her extremely happy. Heading home to the Queen Tall Pines Plantations that she was brought up in is found nowhere in her list of priorities. Fate crackles noisily, freckles her head and sets its sight firmly on Caroline’s life.

A very strange phone call from her brother suggests that their mother might have fallen ill, thus Caroline decides to rush back home and see her. Upon arriving at the plantation, very little appears to have changed. All things are extremely beautiful just as she could remember. But later on, it downs on her that surfaces appearances man very little. As she settles in, the unflattering family secrets begin to lurk every branch of her family and also promises to wreak havoc in the family. The only one thing which Caroline is certain of is that Lavinia happens to be the only individual who happens to be full control of her own sanity.

Nonetheless, the plantation is a chock full of the low country wisdom and bust a gut funny. The author’s ability to entice all her characters to stand up and dance makes this novel more endearing than it being just any other story. This is indeed a tribute to the Southerner’s and what is said in the book is done. Furthermore, this story is extremely rich with the southern familiarity and the infamous tawdry secrets. Dorothea’s Frank spellbinding aptitude to spin a yarn strikes the reader in an extremely gentle manner as each of us remembers the ties which binds as family.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lowcountry Tales

Leave a Reply