Book Notification

Lucky Harbor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lucky Harbor Books

Simply Irresistible (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kissing Santa Claus (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sweetest Thing (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Head Over Heels (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lucky in Love (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Last (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever and a Day (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Mistletoe (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Had to Be You (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Always on My Mind (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas to Remember (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once in a Lifetime (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's in His Kiss (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
He's So Fine (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
One in a Million (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merry Christmas, Baby (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lucky Harbor Non-Fiction Books

Heating Up the Kitchen: Recipes with Love from Lucky Harbor (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

There’s no need to read this ongoing series of romance novels in any particular order, which means they can easily be picked up and read at any time. This series of romance novels from Jill Shalvis has proven to be popular as they continue to draw-in readers into its world of feel-good romance. Set within the idyllic coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington, it charts the lives and the loves of its residents there. Whilst on the surface it may appear to be a quiet and unassuming town, there are many secrets buried within and, not only that, there’s time to stop and get some recipes along the way. Leaving no stone unturned, the series invites its readers into the world of Lucky Harbor allowing them to see it in all its glory whilst getting to know the residents as they would their friends. Still going today, this has all proven to be a winning formula for Jill Shalvis.

Lucky Harbor: Simply Irresistible

In this novel we find ourselves introduced to the small seaside town of Lucky Harbor for the first time as readers. Maddie is our ticket in as she finds herself out of a job and, after leaving her boyfriend, currently at a crossroads in her life as she decides whether or not to continue living in Los Angeles. It is then that she’s offered a chance to start afresh when she’s offered the opportunity to take-over a small inn within the Washington town of Lucky Harbor, after it’s left to her by her mother.

Jumping at the chance she decides to get her sisters in on the deal as she attempts to persuade them to join her in this new life-changing venture. With their help she can bring about the much needed makeover that the establishment requires. It may take a bit of work getting them on her side though, as there’s a lot of healing that needs to be done. That is when a tall, dark and handsome man steps into her life in the form of the building contractor, thus sending Maddie head-over-heels for him. The problem is that she’s sworn off men forever since her breakup, so this new potential relationship finds difficulty before it’s even begun. Not only that, but she has some issues arise from her past as they come back to haunt her amidst her new beginnings.

Setting up the town and characters, this novel provides the overall tone for the series. Even though it’s not instrumental that these books are read in order, this is the best introduction available into the world of Lucky Harbor. As the protagonist finds herself placed within this world, so too do the readers, thus providing a gateway into this idyllic yet intriguing town.

The question now is whether or not Maddie will be able to find true love and settle down, or have to move on once more? Can she patch things up with her sisters building a bond once more between them all? Finally, will she be able to overcome her past and find a relationship that really is simply irresistible?

Lucky Harbor: The Sweetest Thing

This time we enter the town of Lucky Harbor from the perspective of Tara, as she leaves her life behind to go there and renovate the inn with both her sisters. All this after walking away from her ex-husband along with the broken dreams of her old life, as she seeks to start afresh within the infamous Washington coastal town. That is when an attractive sailor steps into the picture and sweeps her off her feet as he plans to keep her interested. This would be fine if her ex-husband didn’t also decide he suddenly wanted her back as well, coming back into Tara’s life at this most inopportune moment.

To add to all this it seems that Tara has not only one secret, but many of them and they all look like they’re going to rise up to the surface if she isn’t careful. It is now up to her to take control of the situation and decide what she wants in her life, which might involve a bit of self-exploration, whilst working out what it is that she wants. Lucky Harbor may have all that she needs though, and she could soon decide that everything she requires is there on her back doorstep. With her old life being a disaster she doesn’t want to turn back the clock, as she can only move forwards whilst making some key decisions in her life. Will she be able to move on from the ashes of her previous existence? Where exactly does her heart lie and for whom does it beat? Can the peaceful town of Lucky Harbor provide her with the tranquility she requires from life allowing her to settle down and start over once more as she soon discovers what truly is the sweetest thing?

The Lucky Harbor Series

With this series the main joy of it is its accessibility as it can easily be picked up by the casual reader, yet it also leaves in material for those looking for some substance. Offering a whole town to explore, it is episodic in nature providing idyllic romanticized scenarios in an irreverent self-aware style. It doesn’t suffer from any pretensions as it gives it audience exactly what they want, something which author Jill Shalvis knows how to do well. That probably accounts for much of the popularity of this particular series brand, as its touches of light humor mixed with pathos are adeptly fused together in one intoxicating mix. This isn’t to say there isn’t something for the long time fans to return for as Shalvis also manages to build upon the familiarity of her world with extreme workmanlike ease.

The series also branches out into other areas, as she’s also written books of recipes featured in the town allowing her readers further opportunities to get involved with the source material. With over twelve books and counting in the series, Jill Shalvis shows no signs of stopping anytime soon. They will continue to grow in popularity as the novels go from strength-to-strength.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lucky Harbor

Leave a Reply