Book Notification

Lucy Clarke Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sea Sisters / Swimming at Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Single Breath (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blue (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Seen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Let Me In (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Castaways (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
One of the Girls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hike (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lucy Clarke is a bestselling and award-winning author of mystery fiction novels from the south coast of England.

Ever since she was eight, her family owned a Dorset beach hut and between March and October, they were lucky enough to be allowed to spend some nights there.

During these months, they used to spend almost every weekend on the beach. As such, Clarke remembers a wonderful childhood waking up to the sound of the waves and having evening barbecues.

Up to this day, there is still a vibrant close-knit community in Dorset, where she met her husband when she was just eleven years old.

When she got older she left Dorset and moved to Cardiff to study English Literature but came back to the seaside after traveling the world and completing her degree.

By this time, she already knew that she wanted to become a fiction author but needed money to support herself.

It was then that she decided to set up Bright Green Enterprise, her own company that worked with secondary schools delivering social enterprise events.

By establishing her business, she finally has the free time she needed to go back to Dorset beach and start writing her fiction.

Unlike many authors, Lucy Clarke never thought she would become an author as she believed she was set for a career in business.

As a twenty-four-year-old, she traveled a lot and this gave her the space to work out what was good for her. When she came back to the United Kingdom she was certain that being a fiction author was the career for her.

However, it was not until she was 30 that she signed her first book deal. By this time she had a ton of rejection letters enough to paper a full wall. As such she literally had weak knees when her agent called to say a publisher had made an offer for her novel.

It was quite a long journey for Clarke to get a publishing deal but she kept pushing on. The one thing that kept her inspired and motivated was that she had the beach hut and could work on the drizzly and cold days looking out at the sea.

It would take two years to draft her debut novel and get her agent very quickly. Her agent gushed about how beautifully she had written about the coast.

According to the author, “The Seas Sisters” which was published under Harper Collins in 2013 was inspired by her love of the ocean and her travel journals.

The idea for “Swimming At Night,” which was Lucy Clarke’s debut came from her fascination with travel journals.

Whenever she travels, she often keeps a journal and always thought it would be tempting and intriguing to read another person’s travel journal.

With that in mind, she started to wring her novels featuring Mia and Katie the lead protagonists of her novel. She now has more than a dozen works to her name across several series and single-standing novels.

When Lucy Clarke is not writing her novels, she can often be found in the outdoors. Being a very outdoorsy person, she loves to engage in camping, paddleboarding, hiking, windsurfing and barbecuing with friends.

Of course, she also loves reading and can often be found hunkering down at the beach with a novel.

As an author, she never gets to completely switch off as everything she does and everything that happens around her can be an inspiration for her next work.

“The Sea Sisters” by Lucy Clarke starts off by making some profound assertions. It says that some relationships between siblings may have some very dark and deep undercurrents that people swimming on the surface would rather not know about.
The lead is Katie, a woman whose world is shattered when Mia her younger headstrong sister is found dead in Bali. According to the police, the death was a suicide but she does not believe any of it.

The only thing she has to go with are the travel journals of her sister, which makes it possible to retrace her sister’s last few months.

She goes country by country and page by page, as she attempts to unearth the mystery surrounding her beloved sister’s decease. What she finds will change everything but the search for the underlying truths may just push her to a breaking point.

It is an excellent work of premium chick-lit fiction that features two sisters one adventurous and the other wild. It is an easy read that grabs one by the throat and never lets go right to the very end.

Lucy Clarke’s novel “The Blue” is a spine-tingling adventure work in the tradition of “The Beach” by Alex Garland.

The work follows several friends traveling around the world on a yacht and the chilling nightmare when one of the friends goes missing at sea.

Kitty and her best friend Lana left home in the search for freedom and they are lucky enough to get invited onto a fifty-foot yacht named “The Blue” that is making its way to New Zealand from the Philippines.

The crew of the pleasure boat is composed of young travelers with wanderlust and it is not long before the two girls’ dream of romance comes true.

Kitty and Lana are hypnotized by “The Blue,” and have a lot of fun relaxing on deck, drinking rum, and exploring remote islands.

But then one of their newfound friends goes missing at sea following a heated argument with a member of the crew. Soon enough the dark secrets that had led them to the pleasure boat start to be brought to light.

It is in turn haunting and gorgeously scenic as it tells the story of freedom, friendship, and a desire to leave the past in the past.

“Last Seen” by Lucy Clarke is a remarkable read that introduces two close friends who have always had a close friendship ever since they were children.

Isla and Sarah have been there for each there through thick and thin for years until life throws them a curveball. Their ten-year-old children go missing but it is only Jacob who returns, leaving one friend still in mourning while the other is overjoyed.

7 years later while they are remembering her son’s death, Jacob, the son that had been found goes missing once again. Sarah panics and puts together a search team but the kid is nowhere to be found.

Someone somewhere has information on what happened all those years in the past and what has transpired in the intervening period.
Just who can Sarah trust in such a climate?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lucy Clarke

2 Responses to “Lucy Clarke”

  1. Tracey Roberts: 1 year ago

    Hi, Lucy just wondering does your books need to be read in order?
    It’s only that I have one of your books called The Castaways and I don’t want to read if it needs to be in order.
    Could you please get back to me thanks Tracey

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      Nope they are all standalone novels 🙂


Leave a Reply