Book Notification

Lucy Worsley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eliza Rose (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maid of the King’s Court (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Name Is Victoria (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Mary (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Austen Girls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hardwick Old Hall (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bolsover Castle (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hampton Court Palace (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of Hampton Court Palace (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cavalier (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Courtiers: Splendor and Intrigue in the Georgian Court at Kensington Palace (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Courtiers: The Secret History of Georgian Court (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
If Walls Could Talk (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of the English Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Very British Murder: The Story of a National Obsession (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jane Austen at Home (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen Victoria (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Encounters with Victoria (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Agatha Christie: An Elusive Woman (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lucy Worsley is a well known English author, historian, TV presenter, and curator. She is best known for her work as a presenter and host of multiple series of historical topics on BBC. Worsley has earned an OBE for her services to the Heritage and History of the British Empire. Currently, she works for the Historic Royal Palaces as a Joint Chief Curator. As a writer, her work on the biographies of several historical personalities of England has earned great recognition far and wide. Author Worsley was born on December 18, 1973, in Reading, Berkshire, England. Her father was a professor at Reading University and used to teach geology. Worsley’s mother works as a consultant in the department of educational practice and policy.

Before attending university, Worsley completed her schooling from Abbey School, Bridgford School, and St. Bartholomew’s School, in Reading, Nottingham, and Newbury respectively. She earned her bachelor’s degree in Ancient & Modern History from New College, Oxford in 1995 with First-class honors. Later, Worsley obtained a doctorate in Philosophy in 2001 from the University of Sussex. She started her career by working as a curator of a historic house first. In 1995, she was employed to look after Milton Manor, located near Abingdon. Between 1996 and 2002, Worsley served for English Heritage as an INspector of Historical Buildings in East Midlands. During this time, she was involved in studying the life of Newcastle’s first duke, William Cavendish. Worsley even wrote an English Heritage guide to Bolsover Castle, William Cavendish’s home.

From 2002 to 2003, Worsley was the Manager of Major Projects & Research at Glasgow Museums. After this, she went on to become the Chief Curator at HRP, which is responsible for the maintenance of Hampton Court Palace, State Apartments of Kensington Palace, Tower of London, Banqueting House, and Kew Palace. In 2005, Worsley was chosen by London University’s Institute of Historical Research to be a senior research fellow. The same year, Worsley was also appointed by Kingston University as one of its visiting professors. From 2011 onwards, Worsley began presenting historical shows on television. Her earlier shows were mainly aimed at exploring the historical British homes like cottages, palaces, and other buildings. In 2012, Worsley moved on to co-present a show called Antiques Uncovered with collectibles and antiques expert Mark Hill. She even featured as the host of a TV show exploring the lives of women during the post-Civil War period. In the next few years, Worsley presented many other historical shows.

Most of the shows presented by Worsley are widely viewed by audiences in many parts of the world. In 2014, began her writing career with the book called ‘A Very British Murder’. It was published by BBC Books. Two years later, she came up with her first children’s novel called Eliza Rose, which describes the life of a noble girl living in a Tudor Court. Then, Worsley moved on to write Jane Austen’s biography and published it in 2017. Throughout her career, Worsley has won many awards & honors for her dedication towards her work in multiple fields. As of today, Worsley resides in Southwark, adjacent to River Thames. She is married to an architect named Mark Hines. Worsley is known to have a small speech impediment called rhotacism, which prevents her from pronouncing the letter “r” correctly. She tries to hire a speech & language therapist to help improve this condition, but did not achieve any success. Worsley considers herself a great enthusiast of sports activities. She used to be a cross country runner during her teenage years and still enjoys being a participant every now and then.

A successful book penned by author Lucy Worsley in her literary career is entitled ‘Eliza Rose’. It was released by the Bloomsbury Children’s publication in 2016. This historical fiction novel features the lead characters in the roles of Eliza Rose Camperdowne, Katherine Howard, and several others. The book opens by introducing Eliza Rose as a young, headstrong girl. She likes to enjoy the joys of being born in a wealthy family, but also knows her duties very well. As Eliza Rose is the only daughter of a rich, noble family, she is well aware that she would be married to a rich and very grand man one day. But, before that could happen, Eliza experiences that fate had other plans for her. When she becomes the maid of honor at a royal wedding, Eliza gets drawn to the treacherous and thrilling court of Henry VIII. Seeing how the events unfold before her eyes, Eliza Rose wonders if her glamorous and beautiful cousin Katherine Howard is her friend or rival. A time comes when she thinks of choosing her destiny on her own and doing things what she wants to do instead of being told by others all the time. But, that too seems quite impossible because the world is governed by men who don’t care much about a girl’s feelings.

Another mind-blowing book of Worsley’s career is known as ‘Lady Mary’. It was also published by Bloomsbury publication in 2018. This dramatic, touching, and thrilling novel tells the story of Catherine and Henry VIII’s divorce from the point of view of their beautiful daughter, Princess Mary that has never been heard before. Mary wishes for her family to be together more than anything else. She wants her parents to live in the same place together. But soon, she realizes that her wishes don’t have any importance to her father, Henry VIII, who announces his divorce from Catherine. As a result, Mary no longer remains his child. After the second marriage of his father, things get much worse for Mary. Being forced to live away from her mother, she is later made to perform the duties of a servant to her stepsister. As Mary spends each day in extreme difficulty, she prays that her days of trouble get over. In order to face the people trying to bring her downfall, Mary knows she must her strength. She knows she is a princess, no matter what people think about her. She has the royal blood and is all set to fight to get what rightfully belongs to her. This novel was highly praised for its excellent character description and interesting elements of history. The critics hailed Worsely for depicting the historical facts in great detailing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lucy Worsley

Leave a Reply