Book Notification

Luke Rhinehart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dice Man Books

The Dice Man (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adventures of Wim (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Search for the Dice Man (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Matari (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Est (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Voyage Back (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of the Die (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naked Before the World (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jesus Invades George: An Alternative History (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invasion (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Luke Rhinehart
Luke Rhinehart is the pseudonym of fiction writer George Cockcroft. The author holds a Ph.D. in psychology, and he taught Western and Zen literature among other courses in the university. Rhinehart first floated the dice living to his students, and the idea was met with both intrigue and disgust. The author thought that this could make an intriguing novel, but he took his time to think everything through. Rhinehart lives the Dice life, and so far, he has written six books and a good number of screenplays based on this concept.

The Dice Man
The Dice Man is the first book in the Dice Man series. The book stars Luke Rhinehart, a psychiatrist who is bored by his well-ordered life. Every day he wakes up, goes through the motions like clockwork, and after years of doing through the same routine, life has become boring. This is until an idea strikes him just after a night of partying. Luke sees a die under a card, and he decides that if the playing card reads one, he would go downstairs and rape his friend’s wife, Arlene. It turns out that the card reads one, and when he acts on his decision, Arlene likes the sex, so these two ends up having a good time.
This marks the beginning of a dangerous adventure that affects Luke’s professional and personal life. Luke begins to consult the die in everything, and this comes with its fair share of consequences. Overnight, Luke becomes a random man, a man without ego, habit, pattern, or any sense of self. The dice man loses his marriage, job, and tries everything from robbery and murder to spirituality and being a woman. The protagonist aimed to deconstruct the patterns he is used to and live a care-free life. How long will this last, and what do those around Luke think about his new way of life?

The concept here is simple yet exciting. By letting the dice determine his actions, Luke becomes something his former self would never recognize. Following his actions through the pages is fascinating, as it is hard to predict what he will do next. It is sad how The Dice Man distances himself from his children and wife and becomes a charismatic slave to the dice. While some of the actions are morally deplorable, philosophy and theory are exciting. One by one, the characters staring in Luke’s story fade as new adventures emerge, and he takes the center position in his life. A movement of Dice Men later forms as the random vibe catches on just like any other cult.

Imagine how life would be if you lived in a world without order. What if you could be a six-sided person, and the dice determine the individual you will be for that day? The chapters in this book are just as unpredictable as the protagonist. Some of the chapters are in the third person, but most are in the first person. It is clear that the author took the time to plot this book, and the storyline is unique. The tension rises as Luke decides to dice on risky activities, and some comic situations emerge along the way. The Dice Man is a scary, subversive, entertaining, and humorous read. Its conclusion is quite satisfying, and the setting will take you back to the 70s.

The Search for the Dice Man
The Search for the Dice Man is a sequel of The Dice Man. This story occurs 20 years after Luke Rhinehart ran away after the dice craze. The author places the reader in Larry Rhinehart’s shoes. Larry is Luke’s son, who lives a life opposite of what his father preached. Young Larry respects order, and he has been taking deliberate steps to get to where he is. Not leaving anything to chance seems to be working for him because Larry is not only a well-off Wall Street analyst, but he is also about to marry his boss’s daughter. What else could a young man his age want?

Well, it turns out that Larry has unresolved issues where his father is concerned. While everything has been going on ok since his father disappeared, the news that he could be making a comeback reorganizes Larry’s life. There is nothing more Larry wants than to tell his father off for abandoning him. What seems like a rumor turns into a newspaper article, and Larry is determined to find his father.

Larry goes in search of his father, but he is not the only one who wants a word with Luke Rhinehart. The FBI is closely following Larry in the hope that he will lead them to his father. Larry’s journey will lead him to Lukedom, a lawless town that his father created. Here, Larry is viewed as a god amidst a population that doesn’t know anything about planning and order. Jake Ecstein and Arlene have been living in this strange land, and the reader gets to meet them again.

After searching for his father in vain, it becomes clear that Larry has to explore the dice as it is only by chance that Luke can be found. The author introduces a host of new characters, while some old ones appear now and then. Get introduced to agents Macavoy and Lt Putt as well as Mr. Akito, Namamuri, and Kim. Since Larry is a bit conflicted, his life is not as spontaneous as his father’s. However, you get to see him grow and let his guard down the closer he gets to finding his father.

The Search for the Dice Man is a moving and erotic story that takes you back to a world without law and order. This story, just like its predecessor, comes with a good dose of unpredictability, violence, and sex. The storyline is engaging, and the new characters are just entertaining. This is one of those stories that should teach you to take life a bit easy. The story is short and is perfect if you are looking for a light and quick read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Luke Rhinehart

Leave a Reply