Book Notification

Lydia Millet Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Dissenters Books

The Fires Beneath the Sea (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shimmers in the Night (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bodies of the Ancients (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Trilogy Books

How the Dead Dream (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghost Lights (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Magnificence (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Omnivores (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
George Bush, Dark Prince of Love (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Happy Life (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Oh Pure and Radiant Heart (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Everyone's Pretty (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pills and Starships (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mermaids in Paradise (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sweet Lamb of Heaven (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Children's Bible (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dinosaurs (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Girl and Giraffe (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Love in Infant Monkeys (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fight No More: Stories (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall(1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Galaxy Not So Far Away: Writers And Artists On Twenty Five Years Of " Star Wars "(2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Electric Literature no. 1(2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Lydia Millet
Lydia Millet is a fiction author known for her captivating and unique stories. The talented author is a PEN Center USA and an American Academy of Arts and Letters award winner for her outstanding fiction stories. Some of her works have been listed among New York Times notable sellers. Her anthology Love of Infant Monkeys even became a Pulitzer Prize finalist. Before taking the plunge to write full-time, Millet spent the 90s working as a sub-editor for Busty Beauties, Hustler, and S.W.A.T. magazines. Currently, Millet lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her daughter and husband.

A Children’s Bible
A Children’s Bible introduces twelve teenage children and the events that change their view on life. When a group of high school friends decides to take a holiday to a beautiful destination on the East Coast, they look forward to fun and relaxation loads. They drag their teenage children with them, not knowing what an impact this holiday would have on the kids’ life. The sprawling house has everything the adults need, so they spend their time drinking and generally ignoring their children. However, a destructive storm descends on the resort and changes everything.

The children in this book devise games that keep them away from their parents. You will notice how dangerously negligent the parents are as all their focus is on their last hurrah. The children spend three days camping on the beach until a violent storm-force them back inside. Eve’s brother, Jack, likens the floods to what is written in the bible with Noah’s Ark. While the young boy did not believe in God, he believed that this message from nature needed to be taken seriously. At some point, men with guns come to disrupt the story’s direction, but ultimately, it goes back to that hazy dream right in the middle of the disaster.

This is a coming-of-age story featuring a bunch of pre-teen and teen children and their parents. Narrated by teenage Eve, who speaks collectively for the others, this story covers climate change’s generational burden. Children believe their parents could have taken action instead of just waiting for disaster to strike. There are religious notes and apocalypse tales that bring the story to life without being pushy. It is clever how religious teachings are used to show the realities in nature and everyday life. The author has managed to paint a clear picture of a world caught off guard, and the crisis that follows couldn’t have been predicted. However, she also highlights the various warnings that we have continued to ignore over the years.

A Children’s Bible paints a heartbreaking picture of today’s generational divide and what we expect in the future. The author also points out various ills in today’s society, including homophobia. Through Eve’s disgust for aging bodies and her obsession with looks, we get to see how the younger generation views the older one even in our society. However, when this young lady sees how life can change in an instant, her tone changes. In the middle of that storm, the self-destructive nature of human beings becomes clear. Eve begins to self-reflect. An unexpected vision midway through the story pushes her to even offer sympathy to those she previously detested.

Mermaids in Paradise
Mermaids in Paradise introduces us to the narrator, Deb, and her husband, Chip. These two Californians are honeymooning in the British Virgin Islands when they meet someone who shares a startling discovery. While Deb spends her time observing and criticizing other guests, her husband is the social kind who makes friends easily. Because of Chip’s friendly nature, this couple meets Nancy, a marine biologist staying at the same resort. Nancy claims that she had seen a mermaid swimming in the reef, something that excites the newlyweds. When others confirm that Nancy’s claims are true, Deb and Chip want nothing but to go searching for this magical creature.

Well, it doesn’t take long for the truth to be revealed. The mermaid indeed existed and what follows is a battle to protect it and its habitat. Can these people convince the resort to keep off the mermaid’s habitat? What will happen when others know that this creature exists? Once again, Millet’s knowledge of nature and environmental issues shows throughout this book. The humor helps lighten the mood even when the author is talking about serious environmental issues. You will enjoy interacting with the characters and witnessing as the events unfold. Since this is a satirical piece, you have to think deeper to understand the message the author is trying to put across.

The narrator’s voice is, at times, funny but mostly snarky, especially before they discover the mermaid. She then takes a more serious tone when highlighting the marine biologist’s efforts and the rest of the team puts into ensuring that the mermaid is protected. However, Deb remains the kind of character you would love to be friends with in real life. It is fun seeing this story through her eyes. You will keep turning the pages to see what mischief she is getting herself into. It is admirable how Deb and the teamwork ensure that the resort owners do not turn the reef into a theme park as this will only damage the mermaid’s habitat. Will this group of adventurous souls succeed in their quest? Read this book to the end to find out.

Mermaids in Paradise is a humorous read covering very serious environmental issues. Within the first few chapters, we get to know the narrator and her husband better. The duo is funny, and we see some of the things they enjoy on their honeymoon. However, when a creature they all love is in danger, the couple, an ex-Navy SEAL and the marine biologist, just met, swings into action and does everything possible to save it. Through Deb’s changing voice, we see the author’s sharp satire and subtle empathy. If you are looking forward to enjoying a mesmerizing and darkly comic tale, this book is perfect.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lydia Millet

Leave a Reply