Book Notification

Lyle Nicholson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Bernadette Callahan Mystery Books

Polar Bear Dawn (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pipeline Killers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treading Darkness (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Wolf Rising (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Climate Killers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caught In The Crossfire (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Ancestors (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Devil Bird Cries (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Exit (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Misdiagnosis... Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Dolphin Dreams (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Half Brother Blues (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lyle Nicholson is a bestselling Canadian mystery author who is best known as the author of the “Bernadette Callahan Mystery” series of novels. He started reading from a very early age spurred on by his father and mother who were keen readers.

At the age of 18, he set out on a journey of discovery following the death of his father. He traveled across Europe, acted in a Johnny Cash directed movie and lived on an Israeli Kibbutz.

During the 1970s, he lived the life of a hippie, became an Ashram monk, married in the 80s and started his wildly successful company so that he would never be fired again. Upon his retirement in 2011, he took the years of experience he has accumulated over the years to write his mystery novels.
Nicholson now makes his home in Kelowna, British Columbia, where he lives with his wife and writes his mystery novels.

When he is not writing, he can be found riding his bike through the vineyards and orchards, watching movies on Netflix, making bread, kayaking on the lake and gathering ingredients from frms to use in their cooking projects.

Given his love for reading, writing is something that Lyle Nicholson always wanted to do from a very young age. He often wrote letters to friends whenever he travelled regaling them with stories from his adventures.

The first time he saw his words in print was when he came back home and saw that his city paper had published a travel story with all the photos attached. It was such an emotional experience that moved him even closer to becoming an author.

Nicholson would go on to become a freelance writer with magazines and newspapers but he always got writer’s block whenever he tried to write fiction. Determined to become an author, he went back to college and also took a short course to learn how to write a novel.
Lyle also got involved in writing groups but the greatest learning experience he had was when he attended the University of Alberta.
When he wrote his first story, it came back with all manner of red correction marks and a recommendation to read “The Elements of Style.” It was from this book that he learned the art of writing as it changed how he saw fiction writing and writing in general.

Lyle Nicholson was motivated to become an independent author as he loved the freedom of publishing storylines he chose himself. While he at some point approached traditional publishers, he realized that authors still do a lot of their own promotion.

Since he has a background in marketing and sales, he thought he was well positioned to do his own marketing and hence he did not see the need to work with traditional publishers. She also had access to many book designers and editors that work for publishers willing to work with him.
When indie publishing became a thing, he decided to try it out and published Polar Bear Down in 2013. He has now published a short story, at least two novellas and more than five novels.

As for authors that have been a huge influence, he has cited Kurt Vonnegut for his irreverent challenging of authority. Another author he likes is Douglas Adams and his “Detective Dirk Gently” series and “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe.”

“Polar Bear Down” by Lyle Nicholson is an excellent detective mystery story that will have its readers on the edge of their seats. The Alaskan Detective Frank Mueller is close to retirement. He is also coming from two stints in rehab following three marriages.
He is currently on probation with the force but his bosses throw him a bone. He is asked to work on a case that the Anchorage Police Department has no interest in investigating fully. He is to work with a Canadian Detective Bernadette Callahan, who has a lot to prove as she is in her mid thirties.
The biracial police officer is an Irish and Cree Indian that grew up on a reservation in the northern parts of Canada. She knows the traditional ways of the people taught to her by her grandmother.

Instinct tells her that while they are investigating the case of four dead people there is something more to it. Meanwhile, the oil companies embroiled in the mystery think the deaths are bad for business and they want a quick resolution.

The detectives are being pressured to adopt a wrong conclusion but Callhan doggedly refuses and starts pursuing a series of unlikely suspects. These include several executives from Wall Street, a low life gangster of Mexican extraction and a Chemistry professor that has a beef with big oil.

Lyle Nicholson’s novel “Pipeline Killers” sees Bernadette Callahan, the Canadian detective of the serious crimes division, asked to look into a mysterious industrial accident.

The body of a man was found near a pipeline in the outer reaches of a small town in Canada. At first glance, it seems as if the death was a result of a university experiment taken too far. The students responsible may have been doing a prank that soon became too real.

What they invented with their prank could now wreak all manner of havoc on all pipelines in the world. Soon after, terrorists get their hands on the experiment and now intend to use it as a weapon. It is now up to Detective Callahan to find a way to retrieve it or find the only man with the skills and experience to get it back.

It is a brilliant story with vividly painted characters that people a gripping and heart stopping mystery that has been compared to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Stieg Larsson.

“Climate Killers” by Lyle Nicholson is a novel set at a time when North America is facing accelerated climate change. The oceans are rising, forests are burning, and citizens are dying of the extreme heat.

It is at this time that the Canadian Detective Bernadette Callahan is tasked with finding a scientist that could provide the solutions needed. But first, she will need the help of someone she thought she had left in the past.

In her search, she will go as far as the Nicaraguan lakes, an under the sea laboratory in Florida and deal with the High Arctic cold and darkness. But she is always one step behind another force and thinks there could be someone in Canadian Intelligence or the FBI that is leaking critical information.

As she gets help from unlikely forces, she walks a fine line between the scientific and the mythical in search of answers. If she can see through the madness of the uprisings and government fallings, maybe she can find an answer to stop the acceleration of climate change on earth.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lyle Nicholson

Leave a Reply