Book Notification

Lynda Wilcox Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Agnes Merryweather Mystery Books

Murder by Request (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chamaeleon Books

Publication Order of Gemini Detectives Books

The Lockington Legacy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Melbourne Medallion (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lady Eleanor Books

A Traitor At Tower Bridge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Drowning In Dulwich (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Poisoning In Piccadilly (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Burglary In Belgravia (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murderous Affair in Mayfair (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death At Dovecotes Court (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Verity Long Books

Strictly Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Organized Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Novel Way to Die (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scouting For Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Married to Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by the Glass (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Drive to Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Cold Death (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Deathly Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Tramp to Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Appetite For Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lynda Wilcox is a renowned English writer of cozy mystery, crime fiction, comic, and humorous novels. She has penned several mind-blowing novel series in her career, including the Gemini Detectives series, Verity Long Mystery series, Agnes Merryweather Mystery series, and the Lady Eleanor series. All the books of these series are widely popular and have helped Wilcox to establish herself as a noteworthy author. Author Wilcox showed an interest in writing at a very young age. The first published item penned by her was an item that she had written for her school magazine. When she was in her 20s, Wilcox used to write Pantomime stories for amateur groups. She was also one of the four members of the group called The Facts of Life. This group used to write and perform comedy sketches that were mostly broadcast on radio.

Nowadays, Wilcox is mostly involved in writing fantasy stories for children between the age groups of 10 & 13 and humorous crime thrillers for adults. Currently, she resides in a small town located in England. Wilcox is happily married and her husband is very supportive of her work. Her house appears to be untidy most of the time because she hardly finds any free time from her busy writing schedule to focus on the daily chores of the house. It is her husband who has to look after those things on most occasions. In her spare time, author Wilcox likes to indulge in pottering. Her garden is filled with attractive bindweed, lilies, brambles, nettles, and roses. The thing that keeps Wilcox busy most of the time is writing. She enjoys doing it and doesn’t bother about any other thing when she is writing in full flow. At times, Wilcox likes to take up reading as well. This allows her to do some research as well as relax with a nice book in her hand. Good wine and tasty food are her weakness. She loves to attend social gatherings and parties where they are available in abundance so that she can fulfill her appetite without any limit.

Author Wilcox was born in Derbyshire. As a child, she used to read voraciously. The books that would keep her busy for hours included the volumes of Famous Five and Secret Seven. In addition to the English literature, Wilcox excelled at various sports activities, especially sprinting. During her early teens, Wilcox set records at the club level that she believes will not be broken ever because they use to measure the runs in yards at that time unlike in meters nowadays. For a number of years, Wilcox lead a Guide Unit, which was basically a Girl Scout unit. Being the leader of the group, Wilcox used to devise interesting games for the girls. She would also take them to outings and holidays, locally as well as to places abroad, such as the Isle of Wight and Scotland. But, due to ill-health, she was forced to retire.

Wilcox succeeded in making many friends among them and still stays in touch with a lot of them. Several of them are now her regular readers and her ardent fans. Wilcox says that she took to writing on a serious level only after her husband became redundant in his fifties and she had to look for a new income source. After starting with children’s adventures, she moved on to create stories of whodunit. Wilcox takes great pride in knowing that her stories in both genres have become immensely popular. She wishes to tell many more stories in the years to come and is dedicated to working hard to achieve much success in her career.

A popular book series written by author Lynda Wilcox is known as the Verity Long series. It began in 2012 and consists of multiple titles all of which are widely popular. Every book features the chief protagonist in the role of Verity Long. She is introduced as a personal assistant, who gets involved in various mysteries and uses her special detection skills to solve them. Other essential characters mentioned in the series by the author are in the roles of Ernie Rutland, Jerry Farish, Thor, and several others. An intriguing book penned in the series is entitled ‘Organized Murder’. It was released in 2012. Initially, it is shown that Verity Long is sent by her crime-writer boss to meet a man named Ernie Rutland at the St. Isidores’s church. When Verity arrives at the church, she did not expect to find Ernie Rutland hanging by his neck. At first, she is quite shocked to find him in such a situation. Verity Long seems curious to find out what happened to the victim and who is responsible for his death. This sets her on a path to locate the killer and hunt him down.

The chase gets Verity involved with a group of waspish thespians as well as in the murky muck-raking gossips of a small town. Meanwhile, she seems worried about her ongoing romance with Jerry Farish, a detective inspector by profession. Verity feels that her relationship is threatened when a ghost from the past arrives. This complicates the search for the murderer even more. As Jerry Farish becomes busy with solving a series of bank robberies and major burglaries, the killer gets aware of Verity’s search for him and begins to get closer to her. The situation becomes so complicated that Verity starts feeling she is taking unnecessary stress and getting too much involved. But, when she realizes that what she is doing is important to get justice for the victim, she gains back her determination and dedication to catch the killer and make him pay for his crime.

Another excellent book written as a part of the series is called ‘Scouting For Murder’. It was published in 2013 and features Verity Long in the role of an amateur sleuth once again. This book opens by showing that Verity Long and the daughter of one of her close friends are going to Brownies. Verity expects to drop the kid off and enjoy a quiet evening at the wine bar that she regularly visits. However, her expectations are shattered when she comes across a dead body in the bar. The circumstances increase her curiosity so much that she feels the urge to investigate. In order to get to the bottom of the truth, she volunteers to cook for a holiday campsite. Verity sacrifices her gourmet diet for serving pizzas and sausages and knows that the task is quite tough for her as her interests lie in solving crimes and unraveling mysteries. When Verity learns that the killer has set her as his next target, she realizes there is not much time left with her. She must strive hard and get the killer arrested before he gets to her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lynda Wilcox

Leave a Reply