Book Notification

Lynn Flewelling Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nightrunner Books

Luck in the Shadows (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stalking Darkness (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traitor's Moon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows Return (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Road (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glimpses (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Casket of Souls (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shards of Time (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tamír Triad Books

The Bone Doll's Twin (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Warrior (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Oracle's Queen (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Elemental: The Tsunami Relief Anthology(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales of the Emerald Serpent: Ghosts of Taux(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lynn Flewelling is an American published author of fiction.

Lynn was born October 20, 1958, with the name Lynn Elizabeth Beaulieu. She was born in Maine in Presque Isle, growing up in the region of northern Maine.

She attended the University of Maine, receiving her B.S in 1981. She would go on to study vet medicine. She has worked in many different jobs over the years. These include being a teacher, sales clerk, house painter, copy writer, freelance editor, and a journalist.

Some of her favorite authors that have inspired her work include Mary Renault, Stephen King, Umberto Eco, Tom Stoppard, Ray Bradbury, Anne Rice, and Peter Straub. She also has been influenced by and is a fan of William Faulkner, Homer, T.S. Eliot, Ernest Hemingway, William Shakespeare, Arthur Conan Doyle, Joyce Carol Oates, Toni Morrison, Isaac Asimov, Shirley Jackson, C.S. Lewis, E.B. White, and others.

Her writing has been translated into at least a dozen languages so that many readers can enjoy them.

She has lived everywhere from New York to Maine to California. Lynn got married to her husband in 1981. She and Doug have two children and pets together. She has taught lectures as well as workshops on creative writing at University of Redlands. She is also a Buddhist convert and is interested in promoting themes of feminism as well as LGBT(Q) cause topics. She has believed that all people are people and shouldn’t be discriminated against based on labels.

Flewelling has appeared at different conventions as well, including ConBust at Smith College and Comic-Con. Other authors have spoken highly about her work, including Orson Scott Card, Robin Hobb, Elizabeth Hand, George R.R. Martin, and Katherine Kurtz.

The first three novels in her popular Nightrunner series were acquired for film rights by Csquared Pictures.

Lynn Flewelling is is the creator and the author of the Nightrunner series. The series first started off in 1996 with the publication of the debut novel, Luck in the Shadows. The book ended up being a finalist for receiving the Compton Crook Award. It was also an Editor’s Pick in Locus Magazine for a best first novel. The second novel would come out in 1997 and is titled Stalking Darkness. That would be followed by the third novel, Traitor’s Moon, then Shadows Return. The fifth novel in the series is The White Road, followed by the sixth, Casket of Souls, and the seventh, Shards of Time. Traitor’s Moon was nominated as a finalist for the Spectrum Award (as was her 2004 novel, Hidden Warrior, part of the Tamir Triad series).

Luck in the Shadows is the first novel in the Nightrunner series of fictional novels by Lynn Flewelling. If you have been searching for interesting fantasy to check out, be sure to look into this series!

The main character in this book is Alec. Alec comes from Kerry, and things are about to get difficult for him. He’s taken in as a prisoner, accused of a crime that he never committed. He’s understandably upset bout the incident and is convinced of just one thing, that his life as he knew it is over. However, the last thing that he may have ever saw coming is his cellmate.

Seregil of Rhiminee wears many hats, from being a noble to a thief, a spy, a rogue. The last thing that he is would be predictable. He gets to know Alec a little better and then offers him the chance to be his apprentice. This one offer may end up changing both of their lives forever.

Alec is soon on a new road and is going down paths that he never knew was out there. On top of that, he may be edging himself towards a war that he never even knew was starting to brew. Neither he or Seregil expects that they will soon be involved in a malicious plot, the likes of which may go deeper than they could have ever thought.

Failure may end up costing them quite a bit, even more than their very lives. There’s no telling what might happen, and they both hope fortune is on their side. Can they end up finding luck hidden in the shadows? Or are these two destined to fail? Find out by reading the first book in the Nightrunner series!

Stalking Darkness is the exciting second novel in the Nightrunners series and the sequel to the first! In the debut story, Seregil and Alec had to take on a threat that was a risk to them both. With that concluded, they’re now free to focus their energy on an old evil that is threatening their land.

The Plenimarans have come up with a plan to take out their enemy, the Skalans, whom they are at war with. Their plan is to raise up Seriamaius, a Dead God, and use him to take out their old foe. The only issue is that they’ve tried to do this before, and it left Seregil knocked out in a coma.

The reincarnation is now being attempted again, headed by Duke Mardus and Vargul Ashnazai, his minion. Seregil may be involved in this yet again as an old prophecy implies that he will be a part of the journey to try and stop Duke Mardus from carrying out his plan. Fortunately, Seregil has a mentor and friend that is a wizard to help him out.

Nysander has guarded a fatal secret for some time. He has served for centuries as keeper of a clay cup that is hidden in a secret room. The secret is that the cup makes up the Helm of Seriamaius when put together with wooden disks and a crystal crown. Any person that puts on the Helm will find that they have taken on the god’s incarnation.

While the wizard has the cup and Duke Mardus has the disks, the crown is yet to be found. Sergeil is on a journey to find the Helm’s last piece and destroy it with Nysander. He’s told to keep it secret, even from Alec. As Seregil starts on his journey, he knows that the prophecy says that four will join in dark times.

With his world at risk, can Alec, Seregil, and Nysander protect the Helm? Or will it be too late? Read this engaging fantasy novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lynn Flewelling

Leave a Reply