Book Notification

M.J. May Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maverick Insurance Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Perfect Pixie Books

Perfectly Imperfect Pixie (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfectly Perfect Pixie: Peaches's Story (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfectly Charmed Pixie (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfectly Perplexing Zombie (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Reaping Covetous Books

Sow What You Reap (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Women Tell Tales (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying to Reap You (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brother's Keeper, Brother's Reaper (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes to Ashes (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pushing Up Roses (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reaping Consequences (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

M.J. May
MJ May is passionate about her furry kids, her garden, the backyard birds that eat her out of house and home.

MJ is a firm believer that changing the sheets on your bed with housecats involved should really be an Olympic event. Scores should be based on accuracy, speed, creative cursing, and how many times you have to toss a cat off the bed.

After writing for fifteen years, many of these stories she wrote just languished on her computer. At one point, her fear of never attempting to publish her work overcame her fear of failure. “Sow What You Reap” was the result.

She loves urban fantasy, supernatural, paranormal, and mystery genres. MJ writes both M/M and M/F oriented stories.

“Sow What You Reap” is the first novel in the “Reaping Covetous” series and was released in 2021. Speaking and seeing with lingering spirits really should be insanity in Leah McKnight’s life. A homicidal twin brother on the lam and murdered parents tell a completely different tale. It is not the dead that are causing Leah near-crippling anxiety, sleepless nights, and damaging nightmares, it is the living.

Six whole years have passed by ever since the August night that Leah discovered her parents murdered in their own bed, with Bobby (her sixteen year old twin brother) holding the gun. Leah has lived through hell and back, much of it of her own mental making. Every day is a struggle, however she continues to roll off her couch, feeds the cat, and goes to work.

Sometimes the status quo is the absolute best that one can hope for, what one desperately hangs onto. Witnessing a reaper claiming the soul of a dead man upends her hard won stab at normalcy.

Now she’s got a choice: talk with the lingering spirits of the dead, finding out why they turned from their own reaper, or just continue ignoring them. Leah is not the only one in her family with special gifts like this. Cecile (her cousin) cannot see the dead, however she can feel their emotions, which flips her personality, and leaves behind debilitating migraines in their wake.

Clearing the lingering spirits out of the town of Covetous is going to help out her cousin, however what is this going to do Leah and her pieced together sanity? The prickly reaper that Leah must deal with in the process is not going to make her job any easier. After all, reapers deal with the dead and not the living.

Trigger warnings include: gun violence, dying and death, miscarriages, murder, mental illness, self harm, and suicide attempts.

The novel also contains the importance of friendship, accepting and recognizing help when offered, protecting your family (related by blood or not), humor, prickly reapers, the furry ones that make our houses homes, and a hint of looming romantic intrigue.

“Perfectly Imperfect Pixie” is the first novel in the “Perfect Pixie” series and was released in 2022. Size matters. Pixies are supposed to be beautifully lithe and petite creatures with gossamer wings. Sporting ombre and luscious pink hair and their fluttering pink wings, Phil meets two out of the three criteria at least. At over six feet tall in height, nobody would dare to call Phil petite. Phil, as a home and heart pixie, yearns to find a home and family he’s able to bond to. When nobody’s willing to hire a pixie of his stature, he’s forced to work in another field. Turns out that pixies make horrible bouncers.

The sudden death of Sedrick’s sister-in-law and brother left Sedrick Voss a pack of just one, plus these two traumatized and young kids. He needs help. He needs a home and hearth pixie. However pixies are delicate and small creatures nowhere near sturdy enough to stand up to two growing werewolves. Phil seems to be the perfect answer, a pixie that may just be able to physically withstand tiny werewolf claws and teeth.

Phil’s overjoyed, at last able to do a job which speaks to his heart and soul. However peace is a hard-won commodity. Sedrick is right in the middle of this nasty custody battle with his nephew and niece’s maternal grandpa, one of the most arrogantly deceitful werewolf alphas ever to lead a pack. If their grandpa gets custody, Sedrick’s nephew and niece are in for a lifetime of being manipulated.

Between noxiously invasive garden gnomes, this custody battle, and fairy lawyers, Sedrick and Phil struggle just to keep their family and home safe. Pixies and werewolves do not mate. Sedrick and Phil are going to challenge such a misconception.

“No Good Deed” is the first novel in the “Maverick Insurance Mysteries” series and was released in 2023. Three years prior, Perry Atherton attempted to play the hero. It turns out that real life is nothing like the movies. Instead of saving somebody’s life, his reward was a blown out knee and head trauma. Perry’s dreams of becoming an astrophysicist got obliterated right along with his memories of that tragic night. Left with painful migraines, a poor memory, and a constant limp, he is grateful for his custodial position at Maverick Insurance.

Perry cannot remember, which Detective Nathanial Harmon cannot forget. The first night that Nate and Perry met is seared right into his brain: Perry lying on his back, the colorful sequences of his Pride shirt glittering in the otherwise dark alley. Perry’s swollen face, ragged breaths, and hemorrhaging body their very first introduction.

Nate and Perry’s futures will soon collide yet again, the instigator is a note that Perry was never meant to find, much less read. A killer is lurking in the office building that Perry cleans, and this nameless employee seems to be the next one on their hit list.

Perry is not so sure that he is ready to get involved again. He attempted to play Good Samaritan once before with pretty horrific consequences. However the not screaming murder will not allow his conscience just remain quiet and it convinces him to tempt the phrase about no good deed yet again.

Potential trigger warnings include: past violent trauma, gun violence, and murder.

Book Series In Order » Authors » M.J. May

Leave a Reply