Book Notification

M.J. Scott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughter of Ravens Books

The Exile's Curse (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Traitor's Game (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Four Arts Books

The Shattered Court (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forbidden Heir (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unbound Queen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Courting The Witch: A Four Arts Novella (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Half-Light City Books

Publication Order of TechWitch Books

Wicked Games (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Words (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Nights (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Dreams (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Ways (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Deeds: A Futuristic Urban Fantasy Novel (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wild Side Books

The Wolf Within (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Side (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day You Went Away (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bring On The Night (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Goddesses of the Sea: A Mermaid and Sea Maiden Anthology(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About M.J. Scott

The Australian author M.J. Scott has been writing paranormal romances for quite some time now, as she clearly has a gift for flights of fantasy. Featuring stories of classic romance, she takes the reader on a journey into an otherwise undiscovered land, with the scope of her imagination being highly expansive. This has allowed her to garner attention from far and wide, building an audience from all across the world, as they all find something that they can relate to. Showing a clear love for her craft, she has managed to carve out her own specific niche within the literary industry quite unlike any other.

Early and Personal Life

It would be in Melbourne, Australia, where M.J. Scott was born and raised, reading and writing for most of her days. Growing up with a love and passion for the form, she was born in 1971, as she would come to establish a clear fondness for romance novels. Surrounded by books ever since she was a child, her family would imbue in her a love for the craft, allowing her to find her own style along the way.

She would later attend University in Melbourne too, all the while continuing to nurture her love of the written word. Over the years this would start to focus itself upon fantasy novels, as she would profess writers such as Tolkien and Eddings as her biggest influences growing up. In time this began to evolve, as her love of reading would be built upon, developing into the career that she currently has today, as she continues to write from her home in Melbourne.

Writing Career

In 2011 Scott would write her first novel titled ‘Shadow Kin’, which would also be the first in her series of ‘Half-Light City’ books. Over time she would also go on to create other series, such as ‘Wild Side’ in 2014, ‘Four Arts’ in 2015 and ‘TechWitch’ later in 2018. These would all largely be primarily fantasy novels, with grand narrative arcs running throughout, allowing her fans to find eagerly follow.

Scott would also seek to update her work, bringing into more of an urban contemporary setting, giving it a sense of vibrancy and immediacy. This she’d also combine to great effect with elements of romance as well, giving her characters a set of highly realistic real-world emotions. It is for this reason that so many readers have warmed to her stories, allowing them become beloved across the world for generations to come.

Iron Kin

Released through the ‘ROC’ publishing outlet, this would first be published in 2013 on the 2nd of April to much acclaim. It would also provide the third part in the long-running and highly successful ‘The Half-Light City’ series of books as well. Continuing on from the previous title, it would seek to build upon what came before, whilst also taking it in a whole new direction at the same time.

Further building upon a fantasy world that had already been firmly established, this manages to take the reader on a journey that they won’t soon forget. Giving them a whole world of different possibilities, it really works at transporting them to far off distant lands, giving them an insight into an other unseen way of life. As a writer, Scott has definitely worked at giving her world a very real and very grounded sense of believability too, making it seem whole and grounded. This goes for the characters too, as they evolve over the entire course of the series, and this particular book is no exception at all.

Expected to hide behind a veneer of respectability, the young metalmage was supposed to be safe within the confines of human society. With the treaty facing troubles though, it would appear that they all need to ensure that negotiations successfully go ahead, despite the issues. This means seeking to forge a certain alliance with one man who definitely is far from being the most ideal choice out there. Being a particular kind of trouble, Fen is known to drink extensively, whilst simultaneously binding himself in iron, so as to avoid the visions that come to him. What do they say though? Can he make sense of them and help save the day? How will things transpire for the next of the Iron Kin?

Wicked Games

This time published through ‘Emscott Enterprises’ this was to be a whole new venture for Scott as an author of fantasy fiction. Setting up the first novel in the ‘TechWitch’ series of books, it was first published on the 9th of October in 2018 to much acclaim. With a whole audience of fans already present and eagerly awaiting its arrival, it was keenly met with much eagerness and anticipation.

Combining magic with technology, this is definitely one fantasy novel that really is geared towards a more modern age. With a series spawning from this as well, it really does touch on exciting new ground, making for a story that brings in a whole variety of different elements. Using the character of Maggie to lead the way too, it sees in her a strong, but grounded leading protagonist, and one that really knows herself. Over the entire course of the story though, she begins to learn secrets about her past, evolving both her as a character and the world around her.

Living in San Francisco, Maggie Lachlan is a computer whisperer, as she goes about her day in a city looking to recover from the rising sea levels and earthquakes that’s befallen it recently. Known a the ‘Techwitch’, she is the one that everyone calls when they can’t find what issues are wrong with the computer. That’s when Damon Riley, the owner of the world’s largest virtual reality gaming empire, calls upon her to solve an issue that his entire staff can’t fix themselves. Taking a step into one of his games though, she soon finds herself in a whole new world, one where she quickly realizes she does indeed possess magical skills that she’s been lied to about her whole life. Will she be able to find out the truth behind it all? Is there a passion building between her and Damon Riley? What will become of her as she faces the demons in the wicked games?

Book Series In Order » Authors » M.J. Scott

Leave a Reply