Book Notification

M.K. Farrar Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crime After Crime Books

with M.A. Comley
Watching Over Me (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down to Sleep (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
If I Should Die (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Ryan Chase Books

Publication Order of DI Erica Swift Books

The Eye Thief (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent One (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Artisan (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Child Catcher (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body Dealer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice the Lie (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mimic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gathering Man (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Witness (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Foundling (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devoted (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Grave Christmas (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Keeper (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Night Prowler (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wordsmith (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice the Lie is a prequel novella.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

About M.K. Farrar

Known for writing under the pseudonym of M.K. Farrar, Marissa Farrar is highly regarded for her entertaining paranormal and suspense romance novels. Really capturing the attention of the readers from the outset, she manages to deliver her stories in a straightforward and compelling manner. Extremely imaginative and innovative in her approach to storytelling, she has a style and approach to the genre that’s very much her own. Letting her work speak for itself, she understands her audience perfectly, giving them exactly what they’re looking for from the beginning.

Under her pen-name of M.K. Farrar, she largely writes mystery novels, keeping readers constantly guessing for the duration of the story. Holding the reader on the edge of their seat, she sets herself apart through her expert use of suspense, building a real sense of momentum. Pacing her narratives with an expert level of precision, she’s enormously gifted in how she constantly builds the tension throughout her stories. This approach to writing has proven to be massively successful for her, both critically and commercially, reaching readers from all around the world.

Another aspect of her work that so many have noted is that of her characters, as she creates real people, albeit in sometimes otherwise fantastical settings. Keeping her stories grounded regardless of paranormal elements, she manages to draw her readers in with her sense of relatability resonating with her audience. Each of her protagonists are also very well drawn, coming alive off the page and leaving and extremely powerful impression upon the reader. There’s so much more still to come as well, as she has plenty more novels planned for release upon the horizon in the near future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Torquay, Devon, in the United Kingdom, Marissa Farrar would grow up with a clear passion for the written word. Showing a keen interest in romance novels, she would come to find her own approach to the genre, developing her own tone and style. Finding inspiration from the world around her, she would use her own experiences putting it all back into her work and writing.

Always on the lookout for her next big idea, she draws from a whole range of different influences, such as Stephen King and Anne Rice to name a few. Travelling the world she’s lived in numerous countries, including Spain and Australia, now settling back in the United Kingdom. With a degree in Zoology, she continues to work with over sixteen novels to her name and counting, and there’s a lot more to follow.

Writing Career

Starting her literary career back in 2012, Marissa Farrar would begin with the novels ‘The Dark Road’ and ‘Alone.’ The second, ‘Alone,’ would also become the first in her much loved series of ‘Serenity’ novels, as many other books would later follow. Other series would include ‘Spirit Shifters,’ ‘Monster Trilogy,’ ‘Mercenary,’ ‘Flux,’ ‘Dark Codes,’ and ‘Dark Ridge Wolves’ just to name a few.

It was later in 2018 that she would begin writing under the M.K. Farrar pen-name, writing her first stand-alone novel titled ‘Some They Lie.’ Using the pseudonym to focus on mystery and thriller novels, she would also go on to write ‘Watching Over Me’ in 2019 with fellow writer MA Comley. This book would begin the ‘Crime After Crime’ series, and other series would include ‘DI Erica Swift,’ and ‘Detective Ryan Chase.’

The Artisan

First brought out on the 25th of August in 2020, this book would be the third in the ongoing ‘DI Erica Swift’ series of novels. Continuing on from the previous two books, it would provide an entirely stand-alone mystery with a self-contained narrative. Arriving on the Kindle platform, the series can be read in any order, but it does offer plenty of strands and arcs for returning readers.

There’s a serial-killer on the loose and they’re killing their victims in what they believe to be an artistic manner, arranging their bodies after death. With no clues or witnesses, DI Erica Swift is on the case, hunting down the killer, and doing whatever it takes to bring them to justice. Meanwhile Lara Maher lives with an overly possessive man who’s controlling every move that she makes, terrifying her with his moods. Where will this all end, why does the serial-killer prefer young professional women, and just who is the artisan?

It’s a thrilling story that keeps the reader constantly guessing throughout, as the tension is kept running every step of the way. The characters are also very well established, while Swift herself is developed from the previous novels, paving the way for more to follow. Maintaining the momentum throughout every step of the way, it’s a well paced novel that really captures a feeling of ambiance and atmosphere.

Chase the Dead

Brought out on the Kindle publishing platform once again, this would be the fourth novel in the ongoing ‘Detective Ryan Chase’ series of novels. Initially arriving in 2022 on the 21st of September, it would offer another stand-alone mystery story, with its own self-contained narrative as well. Again these are books that can be read in any order, as it just continues to develop the arc of Ryan Chase, along with further building the world around him.

Discovering a teenage girl by the Clifton Suspension Bridge who’s been murdered, DI Ryan Chase must investigate what actually happened. Learning about her life, Chase soon begins to find himself submerged in the world of the dark web, becoming entangled in an intricate and complex conspiracy. That’s when it begins to become apparent that the killer may strike again, and another victim may now be set in their sights. Will Chase be able to find them and bring them to justice, can he stop them in time, and what will become of his chase of the dead?

Another story from Farrar that’s hugely compelling, with countless twists and turns along the way that constantly keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. As a character, Ryan Chase himself is hugely compelling, making him stand out as a protagonist with his own unique personality. Dealing with tough subject matter sensitively as well, it makes for a well-written story that’s grounded and real, making it a must for both fans of the author, and of the genre overall.

Book Series In Order » Authors » M.K. Farrar

Leave a Reply