Book Notification

Matthew M.R. Hall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jenny Cooper Books

The Coroner (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disappeared (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Redeemed (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Innocent (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chosen Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Life to Kill / The Last Post (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronological note: The Innocent is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Black Art of Killing (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Crime Fiction: An introduction: A 60-Minute Masterclass (With: William Ryan) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

A British author writing for some years now M.R. Hall, or Matthew Hall, is a highly regarded novelist within the genre of the thriller. Creating well paced novels that move by with both action and suspense, he is also a highly gifted screenwriter, as he’s received a number of awards including a BAFTA for his television shows. Being no stranger to the silver screen as well as an established figure within the publishing industry, his work has been able to reach an even wider audience which increases day-by-day.

Early and Personal Life

Born on the first of May in 1967, the British author was brought up in London in the city, where he spent most of his childhood. It was his surrounding environment and upbringing that was to influence much of his later writing, giving him the inspiration he needed. With his source material he would later go on to become one of the most sought after writers of his generation, as he began to hone and craft his voice.

Educated in Hereford at the Hereford Cathedral School, he later went on to enroll at the Worcester College in Oxford. It was here that he gained a degree with law, thus giving him a strong insight into the legal process and how the justice system works. With his extensive education he was able to gain the learning needed to help formulate his in-depth novels, giving him the framework required to work within.

Being called upon to work for the Bar in 1990, he then took the time to gain the experience that he’d need to write many of his novels that were to form much of the basis of his forthcoming career. Later practicing as a barrister at 5, King’s Bench Walk he also managed to craft what was to be his tone, voice and style as well, thus allowing him to truly understand his craft. It was then in 1995 that he managed to forge himself a full-time writing career, creating the strong body of work that he has today.

Having a variety of different skills, he constantly keeps himself active and busy, always looking to diversify whilst gaining the inspiration needed for his material. He also runs his own production company ‘One Eyed Dog’, which he runs with fellow novelist G.F. Newman. He also takes part in amateur boxing, something he is somewhat of an enthusiast for, having taken part in his first bout in April in the year of 2014. Still living in Britain to this day, he continues to write bringing out his unique brand of literature whilst also looking after sixteen acres of woodland, along with caring for the conservation of the countryside, with his wife the well known journalist Patricia Carswell.

Writing Career

Getting his debut novel ‘The Coroner’, the first title in the Jenny Cooper series, he was soon well on his way to becoming a novelist as well as a screenwriter. After this he published the follow-up, ‘The Disappeared’, in the same year and his legacy was then set for what was to follow. Bringing out another eight books he quickly began to build on his oeuvre, thus building his audience bringing in many loyal readers from all across the globe internationally.

Now in talks with American film studios, he may be set to reach the silver-screen as well, with his work getting the cinematic treatment. Largely due to his talent for creating screen-friendly characters and narratives, he’s managed to turn the heads of many big studios. As he continues to gain awards as well, his writing career will carry on growing from strength-to-strength for some time yet.

The Flight

First published in 2012, this was to be the fourth installment in the Jenny Cooper franchise, with the character now firmly established in the minds of Hall’s readers. With the style and the tone already set-up for the audience, it jumps straight into the action, as the ambiance manages to recapture the essence of the prior novels. The characters themselves provide the audience with much of what they want too, giving the now loyal readers exactly what they are looking for, as another investigation is immediately underway for the eponymous coroner and investigator Jenny Cooper, as she leads the way for a new type of heroine.

Following the crash landing of Flight 189 in the Severn Estuary, it is up to the coroner Jenny Cooper to investigate the destruction of a lone sailboat and its sailor. After his body is washed though, things start to take an unexpected turn when he’s found alongside the body of a ten year Amy Patterson, a passenger of the ill-fated flight. Then, when Jenny begins asking questions that mysterious forces don’t want answered, she finds herself up against the powers that be in an attempt to get to the truth. Why did flight 189 really crash? Who could be behind it all? What will arise to the surface in the wake of the flight?

The Chosen Dead

Initially published in 2013 through the Mantle publishing house, this was set to be the fifth book in the ever popular Jenny Coop series of novels charting the progress of the eponymous coroner. With another case to investigate Jenny Cooper sets about her latest mystery with in her usual pragmatic manner, with both intelligence and wit, holding her own when the odds seem to be stacked against her. The style, tone and ambiance of the previous novels is also kept intact, something which will again please her legions of loyal followers all waiting for her next adventure to be solved.

Heading back to Bristol once more, this time the coroner Jenny Cooper has to look into what seems to be an unlikely suicide, but could in fact be covering up a vast conspiracy. Plunging to his doom from a motorway bridge, there is also the case of sudden death for a thirteen year old girl who was a daughter of the mans friend. Uncovering a web of conspiracy dating back many decades, Jenny Cooper has to unravel the connection between the two to get to the truth at the center of it all. Why would he be willing to take his life? What were the scientific endeavors gone corrupt about all those years ago? Just who are the chosen dead?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Matthew M.R. Hall

Leave a Reply