Book Notification

M.S. Morris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bridget Hart Books

Aspire to Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing by Numbers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do No Evil (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Love And Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darkly Shining Star (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Preface to Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Toll for the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Tom Raven Books

The Landscape of Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath Cold Earth (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dying of the Year (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep into that Darkness (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days Like Shadows Pass (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vigil for the Dead (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stained with Blood (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

MS Morris is the pen name for the wife and husband writing duo of Margarita and Steve Morris. They first met in 1990 when they were both students at Oxford University. Margarita was born and brought up in the beautiful Victorian spa town of Harrogate in North Yorkshire, which she never did appreciate until she had to leave. At Oxford, she studied Modern Languages and thereafter spent a year in Mainz Germany. When she graduated from Oxford, she moved in with Steve in Windsor and they would live in the city for more than sixteen years while she worked in computing. In 2008, they moved back to the Oxford area with their two sons. On his part, Steve Morris practiced as a nuclear physicist after graduating from Oxford University. He would then become an entrepreneur during the dot com era before he decided to become an author with the “Lycanthropic” werewolf series of novels. Together, they write crime and psychological thriller novels the most popular of which is the “Bridget Hart” series of novels. The first novel of the series “Aspire to Die” was published in 2019. They currently live in Abingdon in Oxfordshire, England.

MS Morris’s “Aspire to Die” opens to the body of a wealthy and beautiful student discovered in her room at the prestigious college in Oxford. DI Bridget Hart is put in charge of the case and is puzzled by the fact the student did not seem to have any enemies yet her homicide had been bloody and brutal. Hart is driven as well as haunted by a personal tragedy and since she has just been promoted to detective inspector, she has to prove herself especially with her first homicide. Her investigations into the case unearth an intricate web of ambition, lust, and lies that result in conflict with some influential people. But she is not going to let anyone off the hook in the claustrophobic and closed confines of Oxford, where academics and student work and live side by side and among them a killer poised to strike. It is a roller coaster of a ride, particularly for Bridget who is new to the job though she has the help of a persevering, hardworking and dedicated team.

MS Morris’s novel “Killing by Numbers” is the homicide investigation of Gabriel Quinn, a reclusive artist that was shot walking down Oxford High Street. DI Bridget Hart goes into the world of contemporary art where artwork worth millions changes hands during auction, given that her victim had been an artist killed outside a gallery. Bridget believes that the artist’s last words, which had been a combination of a letter and a bizarre code of eight digits hold the key to unscrambling his mysterious murder. But then Ben her ex-husband comes into town and complicates her professional and personal life. He had recently been promoted to senior detective working for the London Metropolitan Police and has some interesting information about the murdered artist. It is an intriguing and clever mystery that will keep a reader turning the pages with its combination of personal stories and the professional side of a murder investigation.

In “Do No Evil” by MS Morris, DI Bridget Hart is back at her old alma mater at Oxford for a reunion dinner. She believes she is going to have a lot of fun reuniting with old friends and acquaintances even though everything goes down the drain not long after they arrive. The college feast is served with bits and pieces of human flesh and it is soon discovered that one of her friends has been murdered. Baxter who is her arch-rival has been put in charge of the case and since she could be a potential suspect, Bridget cannot be involved in the investigations. However, she is not one to be prevented from doing what she feels is right and she is soon conducting private investigations. It is not long into the investigations that she reckons that the murderer could be someone close to her. What makes it even more interesting is that more bodies turn up over the weekend and it seems they are dealing with a deranged killer determined to kill for some unknown reason. Will Bridget be able to unearth the dark secrets from the past and bring the killer to book. If she does not succeed in her mission she may just be the next target of the killer. It is a fascinating mystery with some thrilling and dangerous moments that make for a great and entertaining story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » M.S. Morris

2 Responses to “M.S. Morris”

  1. Lynn Boyers: 2 months ago

    I have just read Aspire to Die my first ms Morris book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait to start Killing in Numbers
    Two new authors for me to read. Wonderful

  2. Gaetan Vir: 3 years ago

    Iread and appreciated both books: ‘Aspire to Die’ and ‘Killing by Numbers’ in Large Print. I’m almost blind, now.


Leave a Reply