Book Notification

Mac Faraday Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mac Faraday Books

It's Murder, My Son (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Loves Die Hard (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shades of Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blast from the Past (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Murders at Astaire Castle (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lady Who Cried Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelve to Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wedding and a Killing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Days to Forever (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Open Season for Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cancelled Vows (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Candidate for Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crimes Past (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Written by the American author Lauren Carr, she is well known for providing good solid mysteries that offer her readers both suspense and intrigue. Having had a lifelong interest in the mystery genre, she’s managed to create a viable writing career from it over the years. This is especially the case with the Mac Faraday mystery series which has been attracting readers from across the world, receiving both critical and commercial success. Featuring the recently divorced homicide detective who’s now supposed to be retired, Mac Faraday keeps getting himself into trouble. With another mystery always waiting just around the corner, he’s continually discovering another case desperately requiring his skills. Both entertaining as they are intriguing, they seek to keep the reader turning the page right till the very end with their ever enticing narratives.

Having produced over seven books in the series so far, they are still continuing to this day, as Lauren Carr carries on releasing them. Starting in 2010, they have been put out regularly, keeping up-to-date with cultural shifts managing to maintain their contemporary stance throughout. This is something that Carr will continue into the foreseeable future, as there are plenty of books ready on the horizon still.

It’s Murder, My Son

Originally published on the 23rd of June, 2010, this novel by Lauren Carr was looking to provide a unique take on the mystery genre. Setting up the central protagonist of Mac Faraday, it establishes his first initial mystery, creating a style and a tone all of its own. Creating the environment for them to work within as well, Carr manages to produce an effective and suspense filled mystery.

Homicide detective Mac Faraday is an intelligent and extremely diligent professional with a keen eye for detail. Leaving no stone unturned, he was known for always being able to crack any case, whatever that may have been. Recently he’s divorced though and, subsequently, his life feels like it is in tatters and somewhat messy following the break-up. His family also play an integral part in his development as well, as they seek to help him along with rebuilding bridges. The millionairess Katrina Singleton also plays a big part, unwittingly providing him with his first mystery of the series. The area itself is also a character almost as well, with its hidden secrets and hushed whispers, as he never knows what to expect lurking just around the corner. Taking place in Spencer, Maryland, the area is well researched thanks to Carr’s in-depth knowledge of the location. With her background information on the area, she really brings it to life as Mac Faraday goes about exploring it. With all its inhabitants, it works to set-up a fully realized environment for the series to come as Mac Faraday becomes an inhabitant of the area himself.

Mac is recently divorced and hoping to stay away from lawyers for good, that is until he comes across one telling him of an unclaimed fortune. It turns out that Katrina Singleton, the famous mystery novel writer, is really his birth mother leaving him her fortune. Then a stalker is harassing her and she’s found dead, a case which Mac Faraday must now investigate using his skills from his time as a homicide detective. What will he find after his mother claims from beyond the grave ‘it’s murder, my son’?

Old Loves Die Hard

Carrying on directly from the last, this book was first published in 2011 on the 23rd of April as a follow-up sequel. Continuing the adventures of Mac Faraday, it now provides him with another mystery to solve, with his character already firmly established. Using a new sense of style and tone, it seeks to develop it further, thus establishing the voice to an even greater degree than before.

With the good fortune Mac Faraday found after the previous novel, this time Carr introduces the idea of him adjusting to his new lifestyle. Seeing how he copes with his new-found wealth allows his personality to develop further for the many readers. This also enables him to get into further adventures that he wouldn’t have otherwise have had previously. He also has the assistance of his family to back him up this time, along with those in the area he’s now ingratiated himself with. That’s when people from his past turn up after he’s gained his new-found fortune, including his ex-wife who wants to get together with him again. This doesn’t play well with Mac as he finds it hard to trust people, as everyone has ulterior motives and hidden agendas. Not knowing where to turn, he must continue to rely on his own wits if he hopes to keep his reputation and not be exploited. With this new set of challenges laid before him though it’s going to be difficult.

After his wife returns looking to rekindle their relationship, coincidentally coinciding with his new-found fortune, things start to turn suspicious when she’s found murdered in Mac’s penthouse. Discovered dead along with her ex-lover, who had himself been prying into Mac’s personal business, Faraday soon realizes he’s going to have to clear his name. Looking to regain his reputation and protest his innocence, he needs to find the truth behind what happened. Will he be able to find the killer and reclaim his reputation, or will he be found guilty of a crime he didn’t commit? Can he learn the truth behind the real intentions of his ex-wife’s ex-lover and why he was so interested in Mac’s personal business? What will become of Mac as he gets to the bottom of the case only for him to discover old loves die hard?

The Mac Faraday Series

A popular line of books that are increasing in their appeal, this series continues to grow as there’s plenty of room to expand upon it yet. As a character Mac Faraday has a lot of potential, something which his audience of worldwide readers agree with. Producing a number of other books within the mystery genre as well, Lauren Carr is certainly an adept at the form understanding it well. Managing all the characters well, she has a firm grasp on their sense of direction and where they are heading overall. With no signs of stopping anytime soon, this is something that will carry on for some time yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mac Faraday

Leave a Reply