Book Notification

Mac McKenzie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mac McKenzie Books

A Hard Ticket Home (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tin City (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretty Girl Gone (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Boyfriends (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Madman on a Drum (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jelly's Gold (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Taking of Libbie, SD (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Highway 61 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curse of the Jade Lily (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Kind Word (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil May Care (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unidentified Woman #15 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stealing the Countess (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
What the Dead Leave Behind (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like to Die (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Man's Mistress (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
From the Grave (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Doesn't Kill Us (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Wicked (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In a Hard Wind (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man in the Water (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mac McKenzie is the protagonist and centre figure in a series of crime fiction- mystery novels written by an American author David Housewright. Mac McKenzie – actual name is Rushmore McKenzie is a former St.Paul policeman who switches his career to an unlicensed private detective investigator. The series is scheduled in St. Paul, Minnesota. David Housewright started writing his Mac McKenzie series in the year 2003 with the novel named A Hard Ticket Home.

David Housewright worked as a journalist addressing criminal offense and sports, occasionally together, an advertising copy writer and inventive director, and a writing trainer. He has won the Edgar Award for his very first novel named Penance in the year 1996, and the Minnesota Book Award for his next novel called Practice to Deceive in 1998, both showcasing private detective eye Holland Taylor. He resides in St. Paul, Minnesota.

About the Series

Book # 1 A Hard Ticket Home

Ex- cop Rushmore McKenzie has additional time, and much more money, than he knows how to handle. In reality, when he’s prepared to be honest to himself who he generally isn’t, Mac is completely bored. Till he chooses to do a big favor for a friend going through a family catastrophe- 9 yr old Stacy Carlson continues to be clinically determined to have leukemia, and the merely one with the matching bone marrow that could save her is her elder sister, Jamie. The issue here is, Jamie ran out of the house many years ago.

Mac starts discovering the back streets of the Twin Cities, investigating Jamie’s very last known colleagues. He begins with the anticipated pimps and drug sellers, however the journey leads amazingly to some of the Cities’ esteemed business people, in addition to a few figures much more unsavory compared to streets hustlers he expected. As bullets soar and bodies fall, Mac is persistent, only to discover that exactly what he’s searching for, and why, isn’t precisely what he’d dreamed.

David Housewright’s uncanny capability to switch the Twin Cities into a fascinating, brooding background for noir fiction, and his profitable, humorous hero Rushmore McKenzie, function as a incredible one-two strike in A Hard Ticket Home, a series introduction that stands for Housewright’s well earned popularity among crime fiction’s growing stars.

Book # 2 Twin City

Mac McKenzie is wealthy. So wealthy that he’s quit his job being a Twin Cities police man and uses his time doing good significant and small for his friends. Then when an old Marine friend of his dad’s phone calls with a request Mac usually takes enough time to support him out. And it is among the unknown person favors he has ever been requested- an elderly beekeeper, Mr. Mosley who desires Mac to discover why his bees are abruptly dying in the droves.

Mac does several searching and in a short time arises a hornet’s nesting of difficulty in the person of Frank Crosetti, the latest neighbor on the property or home abutting the Mosley’s bees. What started off as a naive investigation into a few not regulated pesticides rapidly turns deadly. Crosetti stays around of sufficient length to create some very particular threats, and then vanishes into the wind leaving an aggressive rape, a deceased body, and a very upset McKenzie bursting for somebody at fault.

With just the slightest of hiking trails to follow along with and a suspect group of federal agencies gunning for him, Mac delves underground, taking merely a deposit of cash and a little toolbox with him on his undercover objective. Eventually Mac’s strong in the overlooked corners of Minneapolis sniffing at for almost any signal of Crosetti, not able to rest till he gets final results. Incorporating interesting humor and wit along with action packed storytelling, David Housewright’s 2nd Mac McKenzie book is smart, persuasive, and completely exciting.

Book # 3 Pretty Girl Gone

Rushmore Mac McKenzie has many old girlfriends, but just one proceeded to get married to the present governor of the Minnesota state. And just one is contacting him with a needy request to meet up with him in secret. Lindsay Barrett is taking an unknown e-mail which contains the makings of an unsightly gossip regarding her husband, the man going to run for better office, possibly even the best office. Somebody says they’ve proof that Jack Barrett murdered his senior high school love. Lindsay says this is an overall lie, but the reality lies hidden years before in the little town where the governor was raised.

Of course, Mac, who’s wealthier than he must be and constantly has sufficient time on his hands, is incorporated in the business of dealing with such issues for his buddies. So he packs and drives directly into the governor’s previous with the wonderfully developed plan to stick around and find out if he is able to stir up just a little information. He’s quickly got goons of all kinds poking him back again, which includes an awful small group of political changers and shakers who are not above kidnapping and killing to safeguard their pursuits. It’s obvious that his small plan has stirred up just trouble.

With no option but to stay to it, he proceeds transferring via a complicated web of interlock secrets and techniques and lies, some years older and some grounded strongly in today’s day. It really is up to Mac to organize truth from the untruth prior to a horrible rumor turns into a political night mare or even worse, prior to the outright lie is proven a solid, undeniable reality.

Book # 4 Dead Boyfriends

McKenzie believed the police officers were joking till they put him in prison. In the end, he did them a big favor by preventing a first year cop from toughing up a troubled lady at a murder scene. However the next thing Mac understands he’s in prison, missing out on a vital date with his sweetheart and relieving bad dreams he believed he’d ultimately forgotten and he’s vowing pay back for all of the things.

Madman on a Drum, Jelly’s Gold, The Taking of Libbie, SD Highway 61, Curse of the Jade Lily, The Last Kind Word, The Devil May Care, Unidentified Woman are the subsequent books in his series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mac McKenzie

Leave a Reply