Book Notification

Mac Reilly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mac Reilly Books

One of Those Malibu Nights (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
There's Something about St. Tropez (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
It All Began in Monte Carlo (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Barcelona, with Love (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Mac Reilly series is a series of romantic suspense novels featuring the main protagonist named Mac Reilly. It is written by the well known English author Elizabeth Adler. There is a total of 4 books published in the series between the years 2008 and 2011. All the novels of the series feature the character of Mac Reilly as a private investigator. For solving most of the cases, Mac travels to different parts of the world along with his occasional girlfriend as well as partner named Sunny Alvarez. Author Elizabeth Alvarez began writing the series in the year 2008 and completed the debut novel titled One of Those Malibu Nights. She published it in the same year. Elizabeth contributed a total of 4 books in the series up to the year 2011 before going on to write the other novel series. In the beginning of the series, author Elizabeth has described one of the easy Malibu nights, which turns into a chaotic one when the scream of a woman are heard through the waves of the ocean. This causes the Malibu night to come to a halt.

The main protagonist of the series, Mac Reilly, was also present at that time and after that incident, his easy lifestyle seemed to change forever. He comes across a beautiful and distraught woman standing in front of the doorway of his beach house, wearing only a black colored negligee. The woman possesses a gun at points it at Mac Reilly, who somehow manages to dodge the bullet fired at him. After she is gone, Mac begins to wonder who the woman was. After a few days, she seems nowhere to be found and the Smith & Wesson gun that she possessed ends up in the car of Mac Reilly. This causes him to get entangled in a web full of deception. When he decides to solve the matter once and for all, he realizes that it cannot be done by him alone. Therefore, Mac Reilly takes the help from his on again, off again girlfriend named Sunny Alvarez. The two of them travel to a number of places, including Southern California,Rome, Mexico, and the French countryside. However, they seemed to be a step behind their enemy all the time, and one step ahead of the mysterious woman, who seemed to have the habit of getting lost every time they got close to her.

The first novel of the Mac Reilly series written by author Elizabeth Adler was released under the title ‘One of Those Malibu Nights’. It was published by the St. Martin’s Press publishing house in the year 2008. The plot of the novel is set in Malibu, California, United States, and revolves around the happenings in the lives of the main characters named Mac Reilly and Sunny Alvarez. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, author Elizabeth Adler has described a typical Malibu night, dark with the waves crashing the shore and a soft breeze blowing like a kitten’s breath. During such a silent night, Mac Reilly, the Private Investigator, hears the scream of a woman over the waves of the ocean. This causes his low-key beach lifestyle to change forever. After that, he meets a woman standing at the doorway of his fabulous beach house. This distraught and beautiful woman appears wearing only a black negligee and has a gun in her hand, waiting to fire it at Mac Reilly. He barely manages to save himself from the gunfire and wonders why the woman tried to kill him.

A few days later, she completely disappears and her gun is discovered from Mac Reilly’s car. Quite coincidentally, one of the big screen stars and the sweetheart of American movies named Allie Ray also goes missing at the same time. Mac Reilly suspects that the two women are somehow connected and after a short while, finds himself entangled in a deadly web. In order to get to the bottom of the mystery, he feels the need of help from someone close to in. At the same time, he remembers Sunny Alvarez, his occasional girlfriend. Along with her, Mac Reilly goes on a quest which takes him to the beaches in Mexico, the streets of Rome, French countryside, and Southern California. However, they always remain behind the murderer and ahead of the lost actress. Overall, the novel is full of trademark descriptions from author Elizabeth Adler, irresistible characters, suspenseful twists and turns, etc. These factors helped the novel to become successful all over the world. The success also helped author Elizabeth Adler to establish herself as one of the prominent authors of the suspense genre.

The second novel of the Mac Reilly series was published under the title ‘There’s Something About St. Tropez’. It was released by the St. Martin’s Press publishing house in the year 2009. The plot of the novel is once again set in Malibu, California and continues to revolve around the lives of the primary characters, Private Investigator Mac Reilly and Sunny Alvarez. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, 5 international vacationers are described as coming in contact with each other at the small seaside hotel in Malibu named Hotel of Dreams. All the five of them seem strangers to each other and complete misfits, who have run away from their common lives. Later, it is revealed that all of them have become the victims of an international art heist, a rental scam, haunting, and murder. On the other hand, the famous private investigator Mac Reilly and his partner cum girlfriend named Sunny Alvarez are depicted as having a perfect getaway in Malibu. They are also joined by their three-legged and one-eyed rescue dog named Pirate, and three-pound Chihuahua named Tesoro. However, they get involved in trying to sort out the problems in the lives of the vacationers. They are also required to deal with a couple of children on the mystery trail, solve the crime as well as a murder case, all in the backdrop of the glamorous and sunny world of St. Tropez.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mac Reilly

Leave a Reply