Book Notification

MacGregors Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of MacGregors Books

The Bridegroom Wore Plaid (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mary Fran and Matthew (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Tartan (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MacGregor's Lady (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
What a Lady Needs for Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

MacGregors series by Grace Burrowes
Author Grace Burrowes pens the “MacGregors” series of historical romance novels. The series began publication in the year 2012, when “The Bridegroom Wore Plaid” was released. Besides novels, there was also a novella released in the year 2013.

The books are stand alone romances that take place in the Scottish Highlands and feature a member of the MacGregors family. It is set early in Queen Victoria’s reign, which forms the backdrop for stories that relate to three Scottish earls from different parts of Clan MacGregor.

“The Bridegroom Wore Plaid” is the first novel in the “MacGregors” series, which was released in the year 2012. The novel stars Ian McGregor and Augusta. His family or his heart, one of them is going to be betrayed. Ian MacGregor is wooing a woman that is wrong for him in every single way.

Being the new Earl of Balfour, however, he has to marry an English heiress in order to repair the family fortunes. But in Augusta, his intended’s penniless chaperone, Ian is finding everything that he has ever wanted in a bride.

This is a charming and superb romance that is filled with tenderness and warmth. Readers found it to be emotionally draining at times and found themselves emotionally invested in each of these characters, feeling their joy, sorrow, and fear when they do. Augusta is an outstanding character, filled with spunk and her open honesty and caring ways.

“Mary Fran and Matthew” is the first novella in the “MacGregors” series, which was released in the year 2013. This novel stars Matthew Daniels and Mary Frances MacGregor. Mary Frances MacGregor, widowed, has vowed that she is never going to succumb to manipulation by another handsome English guy. She still falls hard for the outcast and lonely Matthew Daniels.

Matthew does not just have a scandal back in his past, but is forbidden by his own conscience from explaining to Mary Frances why she should still marry him.

Fans enjoyed finding out how Matthew and Mary Fran got together. This novella provides a new perspective on some scenes with some new ones, as well. It makes the whole thing that much more interesting to read. With this one, this is proof of how great Grace Burrowes is, as she keeps it short and sweet, simply beautiful.

“Once Upon a Tartan” is the second novel in the “MacGregors” series, which was released in the year 2013. This novel stars Tiberius Flyn and Hester Daniels. Happiness or honor, he cannot have both. Tiberius Flynn might very well be an English lord through and through, but headstrong and intelligent beauty Hester Daniels has got no use for his high-handed ways. And it doesn’t matter just how charming, handsome, or beguiling he may be. They just see eye to eye in caring for the feisty little girl that happens to be under their protection.

Tiberius’ haughty insistence that his rather wealthy estate in England will be a better place for the kid than her rundown, beloved Scotland home sparks the fierce protectiveness in Hester, and battle lines become drawn.

In this one, Grace Burrowes creates captivating characters, and are simply complex and intriguing. She adds in a romantic setting in Scotland, a fantastic plot, and top notch writing. Fans found themselves being captivated by everything going on. Tiberius is a well drawn character, and winds up being one of Grace Burrowes’ most complex heroes so far.

“The Macgregor’s Lady” is the third novel in the “MacGregors” series, which was released in the year 2014. This novel stars Asher MacGregor and Hannah Cooper. Asher MacGregor has just come back from her years of wandering around in the Canadian wilderness to assume the earldom he has been avoiding, and locate a bride he doesn’t want. He is saddled with the additional family obligation which takes the form of a Boston heiress named Hannah Cooper, whom he is supposed to escort around the London ballrooms so she can find and English husband.

Hannah isn’t anymore interested in settling down in Britain than Asher is in going back to the New World. Yet their sympathy for each other quickly turns to passion. Hannah is anxious to go back to the family she is trying to keep safe back in Boston, and Asher is tied to his earldom out in the Highlands. Together, they have to trust in love to span the ocean of difficulties and differences.

Fans found this to be written sharply and found Hannah to be a gift of a character. Hannah and Asher make for a wonderful couple and help hold the attention of the reader very nicely. They just go with their feelings and don’t throw drama into things, besides their circumstances. Fans liked that this was not an instant love story, and wound up crying the entire way through the final third of the book.

“What a Lady Needs for Christmas” is the fourth novel in the “Macgregors” series, which was released in the year 2014. This novel stars Joan Flynn and Dante Hartwell. Lady Joan Flynn, in order to escape from a scandal, flees out to her family’s estate out in the Scottish Highlands. She has to get a husband by Christmas, or the holidays are going to ring in nothing but ruin.

Ambitious and practical mill owner Dante Hartwell is willing to marry Joan, because having a well-born wife is the best chance he will have of getting access to aristocratic investors.

While Christmas, not to mention trouble, get closer, their marriage of convenience turns into an unexpected intimacy, for true love often times hides underneath the most unassuming of holiday wrapping.

This is a fantastic read with wonderful characters and some great storylines and is a great holiday read that you can enjoy any time of the year. Joan is a fantastic character and the situation she finds herself in at the start of the book is one a bunch of women can relate with. Grace Burrowes is excellent at weaving a historical romance with some descriptive scenery and relatable characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » MacGregors

Leave a Reply