Book Notification

Mackenzie August Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mackenzie August Books

The Last Teacher (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
August Origins / Killing August (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Secret (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flawed Players (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aces Full (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only the Details (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Desecration of All Saints (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
These Mortals (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Aim (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Stop (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fool For A Client (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Deals (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Symphony (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Mackenzie August” series is a set of novels by Alan Lee, the American author who has made a name for himself for writing exciting thriller and mystery novels. His stories are usually full of plenty of action.

He often shows his expertise capturing a sense of urgency that ultimately makes it possible for the reader to get immersed in the action. He will usually grab his readers attention right from the get go and keep them on the edge of their seats with a real sense of wit and confidence.

He usually does not waste time and writes with an idiosyncratic style that has over the years become something of a trademark. Even though he usually has a lot to say, he typically lets the story speak for itself so as not to undermine the imagination and entertainment value provided to readers.

Alan published “The Last Teacher,” his debut novel of the “Mackenzie August” series in 2015 and has never looked back since.

Growing up, Alan Lee showed much passion for the written word as his parents raised him to love writing and reading. During his childhood years in Roanoke, Virginia, he focused a lot on the written word as he developed his love for storytelling with both his writing and reading.

The sense of focus made it possible for Lee to come up with his own writing strategy that would make him into the author he is today. Lee is a man that heavily draws from his experiences in the real world. He is often constantly looking for his next big idea that he plows back into his writing and work.
Alan Lee currently makes his home in Roanoke Virginia, where he lives with his wife and children and their Boston terrier.

The “Mackenzie August” series introduces the lead as a unique character who usually has a smart answer for almost anything. He can be sometimes rude, sometimes irrelevant and sometimes does it just to make a point.

At the opening of the story, he is living with Timothy August, his father, alongside his two year old son. He is doing his best to be the type of father, son and man that he always idealized. Despite his carefree demeanor, he is an expert in the martial arts and is tough as nails.

Manny, his best friend in law enforcement sometimes lives with them. He is sweet as candy when he stays over, even though he has been known to sleep with his gun drawn when he sleeps on Mack’s floor.

It is an insanely good story that comes with church, drugs and wayward women. Mackenzie shows his tough side and has just the right amount of wit and snark that make for a great story.

“August Origins,” the first novel of the “Mackenzie August” series, introduces Roanoke private detective Mackenzie August. He happens to be a former police officer in Los Angeles.

He is on a leave of absence following a stint in which he worked on some depressing homicide cases. As a double major in Criminal Justice and English he had taught English for one year before going on leave.

He had then quit altogether and gone back to his hometown doing private investigative work for lawyers. He is still unpacking when the local sheriff asks if he would be willing to work undercover to bust a drug gang.

It is definitely going to be a dangerous job as the gang he is supposed to infiltrate has been known to be involved with drug trafficking between New York and Atlanta. Still he decides to take the job as he is a good detective and knows just the strategy to infiltrate the gang.

Influenced by the works of mystery greats such as Sue Grafton, Raymond Chandler, Robert B Parker and Mickey Spillane,, it is a great read that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

“The Second Secret,” the second of the “Mackenzie August” series is a compelling mystery novel.
At the opening of the novel, we are introduced to Veronica Summers aka Ronnie, a beautiful lawyer that finds herself fighting off the attentions of Mackenzie.
Mack just asked her to help with an investigation contracted to him by Calvin Summers, her father. The job has to do with finding an informant that had given information that had ultimately sent Calving to jail on charges of tax evasion.

Mack is not interested in tracking down the informant since his client has said that the life of the informant may be in danger if he finds him. But since Ronnie pleads with him to take it he does.

Over time he learns more about the business dealings his client is involved in and learns that he may be engaged in more than tax evasion. He is also associated with some undesirable characters, some of whom are mobsters.

However, since he promised to find the informant, he goes full steam ahead making for a fast paced and interesting whodunit novel.

The third novel of the “Mackenzie August” series by Alan Lee is “Flawed Players.”
At the opening of the story, August is contacted by a wealthy doctor who needs help after he is charged with theft.
Apparently, the man has been breaking into the houses of wealthy neighbors and taking expensive items. He would then phone in and ask to meet with the victims so that he could return the items.

But then he fails to show up for a meeting, only for his wife to find some of the items he had taken in their home. The doctor says he is innocent but nobody believes him.

When August starts looking into the neighborhood, he starts unearthing some ugliness that might not be readily apparent to outsiders. He soon stumbles upon a dark secret kept by Ronnie that has him swimming in an ethical maelstrom.

Alan Lee writes an intricate story of accepting what cannot be changed. The lead continues to show that he is a man of many talents who is willing to work to become better over time.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mackenzie August

Leave a Reply