Book Notification

Maggie Pill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Max & Lucy Mysteries Books

Cutest Little Killer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Sleuth Sisters Mysteries Books

The Sleuth Sisters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
3 Sleuths, 2 Dogs, 1 Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Boonies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleuthing at Sweet Springs (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat, Drink, and Be Wary (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peril, Plots, and Puppies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captured, Escape, Repeat (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Trailer Park Tales Books

Once Upon a Trailer Park (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice the Crime This Time (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Third Crime's the Charm (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Maggie Pill is a pseudonym by an American author of mystery books Peg Herring popularly known for her Sleuth Sisters Mysteries. The series is about three mid-aged sisters who narrate the books in turns. The novel plots are intriguing with plenty of twists and turns, but the power of the series is the lessons that the readers learn about working together to empower other women to stand up for themselves. Each sister has their distinct romantic relationship which they work for themselves and their husbands.

The Sleuth Sisters

The sleuth sisters, the debut novel in the Sleuth Sisters Mystery series narrates a story of three sisters; Faye, Barbara, and Retta. Faye tries to persuade Barbara, her elder sister, who is a retired lawyer, to start an investigation company. After they begin the detective agency, they decline their first two prospective cases. The first case is on someone who convinces them that her brother who has been ‘missing’ for some time now was kidnapped and the second involves a man in fear of the aliens who have already invaded his property and clothing.

Later they are enthralled when they get the first client come to seek help in their agency. The client is a young lady who wants them to look for her brother who escaped after he was accused of killing his wife and brother-in-law. The lady wants her brother to be cleared of killing, an incident which took place six years back. However, the victim’s father is a person of dignity in the society and wants the man found and put behind bars for the murder he committed.
As they try to find out what happened, they face oppositions from every corner. The cops do not trust the lady detectives, and most people in the town are entirely confident that Neil Brown murdered his brother and wife because of anger.

Someone tries to stop the sisters from finding what happened the day the suspect escaped. The sisters work together, and the new head of police becomes their friend, and the problem arises when both Retta and Barb start liking him. Barb decides to put her concentration on the case and proves that Neil is not guilty.

However, her success means that she will have to face a despairing murderer in a dangerous place and only her two sisters can be of help to her, and the problem is that they have no clue of where she might be.

The sisters do an excellent job in looking for the murderer, and it is interesting to see what barb does in her mission to clear bad people in the community. The head of police adds some taste of romance in this mystery book making it more thrilling.

Barbara does not want to inform Retta about the agency since the moment they will include her; she will attempt to take over the whole business. Retta, on the other hand, views things differently, and she is sure that her sisters have no enough knowledge to serve society.

Retta, their young sister, finds out that Faye and Barbara have formed an agency and they never included her, and this makes her offended and plans to inquire. The three sisters are very different from one another where one is a lawyer, the second acts very motherly to people, and the third is agitated to the social modulation and the people around her. The characters are well drawn and likable, and the author uses beautiful descriptions of different places to make a good plot.

The plot of this mystery book is exciting and creative since each of the three sisters narrates each of them showing her loud voice making the novel impressive. Each of the three ladies reveals an action from her point of view. The narration does not extend over in its chronological order so there is no point you will get bored when reading.

The author gives an insight into the nature of each of the three ladies as they connect, offering an excellent example of independent narrators. Maggie pill also shows how middle aged ladies can have a good life after they retire, or when they become widows or after their children grow and leave them alone at home.

Sleuth Sisters has a good mystery plot, and even though it is a book detective role, it celebrates the women and sisterhood in society. It appreciates the differences in women with the three ladies finding out that they are stable if they bring their strengths together.

3 sleuths, 2 Dogs, 1Murderer

3 sleuths, 2 Dogs, 1Murderer, the second book in the Sleuth Sisters mystery series is a continuation of the first book. The three sisters live a town called Michigan and love one another and do the sisterly things together. Retta gets into a relationship with a man who is accused of killing his wife. The man named Winston Darrow questions her sisters asks the detective agencies to help him out because their sister will be thought o be involved in the crime. Retta defend Winston saying that he is not capable of committing such a crime.

Retta relationship with the new client force, the sisters, to include her in solving the Case to ensure that she is not caught up in a mess and Winston discovers that there is someone which is claimed to be the real murderer chasing after him.

One day, Faye rescues a dog she finds injured on the road, and even though Barbara is not a fan, she agrees with her to keep at home. The dog turns out to be bad-tempered, and though Retta doubts adoption, she is determined to make the dog be a great friend with hers.

Retta’s relationship with Winston takes a different turn when she learns the truth that he was married at the time he was courting her. Winston has been cunningly deceiving her, and it seems that there are things which were going on without her knowledge. After a while, we learn about the past of his wife and more details about the three sister’s current and previous spouses and their mother-in-law.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Maggie Pill

One Response to “Maggie Pill”

  1. Judy: 1 year ago

    I would Ike to know if you’re going to write anymore of the Sleuth sisters books? I’ve read all of them that I see and I really enjoyed them. Or do you have anymore like them.
    Thank You


Leave a Reply