Book Notification

Maggie Sullivan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maggie Sullivan Mystery Books

No Game for a Dame (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tough Cookie (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Dare a Dame (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shamus in a Skirt (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Moxie (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dames Fight Harder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uncivil Defense (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ration of Lies (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory Garter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dame Worth Killing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maggie Sullivan Short Stories/Novellas

The Barefoot Stiff (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Concrete Garter Belt (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Maggie Sullivan novel series is a popular series of mystery, thriller, and fiction novels. It consists of six novels and three novellas published between 2011 and 2018. It is written by a renowned United States writer named Ruth Myers. Every novel of this series features the main protagonist in the form of Maggie Sullivan. She is depicted as a private eye living in Dayton, Ohio. The settings of all the books take place in Ohio during the late 1930s and early 1940s. At the series’ beginning, Maggie Sullivan is introduced as a tough character. She does not fear going down Dayton’s mean streets when the country is going through the Great Depression. Maggie is said to possess a.38 Smith and Wesson pistol, and always carries a gin bottle. Ruth has described Maggie Sullivan in the role of a female detective at a time when women rarely worked outside their homes. Working in the law enforcement department was hardly chosen as a career field by a woman, but Maggie Sullivan appears to be of a different breed. She likes to take up challenges and put up a fight with all her strength.

Maggie’s character helps to strike the balance between describing a plausible story and reflecting the mindset and the realities of a modern woman. Initially, Maggie is hired to investigate petty thefts and small crimes in the city. But, as the story progresses further, she gets the opportunity to investigate real cases involving murder. With the effective portrayal of Maggie Sullivan’s character, Ruth Myers has demonstrated toughness, resourcefulness, tenderness, etc. Maggie showcases all the traits of a dedicated private investigator, as she moves around various evidences and clues, puts them together, and works to solve the crimes. While carrying out the investigations, Maggie goes through various twists & turns. On many occasions, her own life falls into danger. But, she neither fears, nor loses confidence in her abilities. Maggie works through every case with equal dedication and determination. She doesn’t fear if the criminal she is trying to catch is dangerous. The readers enjoyed reading the Maggie Sullivan stories. They loved the depiction of the character of Maggie as well as the others that helped take the stories forward.

One aspect of Maggie’s character that the readers seemed to enjoy particularly is that she has contacts with the lower working class and uses them to get resourceful information. Some of her trustworthy contacts include the waitress at a local diner, the newspaper delivery boy that Maggie comes across daily, several career girls at rooming house, etc. The other characters depicted by Ruth in this series that support the main character include Gil Tremain, Rachel Minsky, Mick McConnell, Loren Collingswood, Frank Scott, Walter Benning, Tabby Warren, etc. Every novel of this series found takers in all the places of their publishing. The readers enjoyed the mysteries and the intriguing characters to a greater extent. They reviewed the books with excellent comments and praised Ruth for her unique creation of characters and plots. Even the critics spoke highly about Ruth’s work in this mystery series and appreciated her dedicated efforts in coming up with the exciting stories. The readers hope that Ruth will create a few more stories involving Maggie Sullivan in the future. Ruth wishes to stay true to her talent and give her fans many more entertaining stories to read in the days to come.

A very popular book written in the Maggie Sullivan series is titled ‘Shamus in a Skirt’. It was released in 2015 by Tuesday House publishers. The book is set in Dayton, Ohio, just like every other novel of the series. At the book’s beginning, it is described that Maggie Sullivan comes across a man, who offers her two times her normal fee to investigate a jewelry theft at his hotel. The man informs her that the thieves broke the well-protected safe and took everything he has kept inside it. Maggie seems skeptical about the unusual offer and the man’s personality. Her suspicion about the man turns into a reality when the dead body of a servant is found from the trash can. Also, the murder of a jeweler popular for making high quality fakes gets Maggie more than she had bargained for. Her initial investigation raises doubts about a guest, who disappeared without any trace. Maggie suspects that this guest might hold important information about the murder mystery. The police does not believe any of the theories of Maggie Sullivan. They think that this case is a well-planned trick carried by a client of hers. Back on the streets of Dayton, Maggie strives to find the culprit among a long list of suspects. In the meantime, the city police is pre-occupied in the preparations of the FDR visit. Maggie becomes all alone when the Irish policeman who tried to win her heart moves to Chicago. She faces numerous adversaries, who stun her at every turn.

Another exciting book of this series is titled ‘Maximum Moxie’. It was also released in 2016 by Tuesday House. The central characters mentioned in this novel include Gil Tremain, Rachel Minsky, and Maggie Sullivan. At the story’s start, it is depicted that a few days before the attacks on Pearl Harbor takes place and the United States is plunged into the World War, an engineering goes missing in Dayton. Maggie Sullivan is given the task of finding this engineer named Gil Tremain. She wonders if Gil has been kidnapped or he has turned against his employer & his country and become a traitor. Maggie tries to piece together the last movements of Gil Tremain and comes across certain secrets. She also learns that Gil’s employers and his wife don’t want the secrets to be revealed. In the process of getting to the bottom of the truth, Maggie is attacked and an important witness gets killed.

Maggie learns that her opponents are really very ruthless when they make an attempt to kidnap the daughter of Gil Tremain. And the matter becomes even worse when a local crime lord gets involved in the investigation. While Maggie is still investigating, the Pearl Harbor attacks take place. Following the attacks, every cop is put into service to protect the research and manufacturing facilities. As the people of the country learn that their nation is preparing to enter into the war, they become fearful and cling to their close ones. Tensions spread everywhere and routines & schedules begin to shatter. In such a tense situation, Maggie finds herself lonely. She knows that she cannot expect the police to help her. She races against time to save Gil Tremain and catch his kidnapper.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Maggie Sullivan

Leave a Reply