Book Notification

Maggie Toussaint Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cleopatra Jones Books

Publication Order of Cozy Christmas Shop Mystery Books

Death, Island Style (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dreamwalker Books

Publication Order of Lindsey & Ike Books

Really, Truly Dead (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turtle Tribbles (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mossy Bog Books

Publication Order of A Seafood Caper Mystery Books

Trouble with Horses (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seas the Day (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spawning Suspicion (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shrimply Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

House of Lies (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Second Chance (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seeing Red (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Buff (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Magic Candle Shop Mystery Books

as Valona Jones
Snuffed Out (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Wick of Time (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Maggie Toussaint is an American author that writes cozy mystery and romantic suspense novels. Maggie was a scientist before she took to writing fiction.

Maggie Toussaint was trained as a scientist. But she has always loved puzzles and relationships and she eventually found a way to combine those two aspects in the fiction she writes.

The author has a pen name (Rigel Carson) that she uses to experiment with science fiction. Maggie Toussaint was always a shy introverted girl. She could not stop talking when thrust into a group of warm familiar faces.

But when it came to strangers, she was happier keeping her mouth shut, and that is where books came into the picture, acting as a tool through which she could escape to other worlds.

Even as a child, Maggie knew that she was destined to write. However, during those early days, she never took any concrete steps to make her publishing dreams come true, and it wasn’t long before life came along and complicated things.

The author went to college, graduated and started a family. Then she began to pursue her career in earnest and it was quite a long while before she realized that she did not even have the time to read, let alone write.

Every so often, when her schedule cleared up and her family gave her some time to herself, Maggie would feel the urge to write. But she never gave into it, at least not at first.

Already a scientist at the time, Maggie tried to scratch the itch by writing about her job but the desire to write never felt truly satisfied. So, with no particular plan in mind, the author began to relieve the pressure that had built up in her imagination by jotting all her ideas down on pieces of paper.

Once some of those ideas began to resemble concrete stories, Maggie Toussaint began to collect newspapers and magazine. She was drawn to the people in the publications, particularly their faces.

She couldn’t help but muse about what her characters would look like if she ever attempted to turn one or more of her ideas into fully fledged novels.

But, still, even with all the newspapers and magazines and scraps of paper she collected, Maggie never took that significant step to write.

It wasn’t until her children began to grow up that the unexpected happened. Maggie will tell you that she stumbled into her first book rather than sitting down and making a conscious decision to write it.

The author remembers musing over the fact that her childhood in Georgia was so different and so much more carefree from that of her daughters who were growing up in the suburbs.

To make a more effective comparison between both childhoods, Maggie decided to document what she remembered about her days as a child. To paint a more accurate picture, the author reached out to family and friends.
At the time, the convenience of the internet was yet to emerge and Maggie had to write a lot of letters to accumulate the information she desired. At some point, Maggie woke up to find that she had an actual book on her hands.

Assuming that she had overcome the hardest stage of publishing, Maggie tried to sell her manuscript. However, the task proved to be far more difficult than she could have imagined.

Everywhere she went, Maggie was met with rejection. Her luck did not change until her cousin read her book and liked it. The editor of a weekly newspaper, he offered to publish her book one chapter at a time.

Excited at the opportunity to expose her work to the public, Maggie accepted. The decision changed her life. The weekly chapters proved to be so popular that the newspaper eventually offered to collect them into a single book.

The book was a small-scale hit, selling out all the copies that had been printed. The author was fortunate enough to have a mother-in-law who helped her do the illustrations for the book.

Intrigued by the relative success her first published work had attracted, the author realized that it was time for her to finally take writing seriously. She took creative writing classes even as she attempted to produce romance.

Her initial efforts were in vain primarily because her stories were so bad. She got into bed with an agent but even that approach failed to bear any fruit of note.

Having grown quite desperate and frustrated, Maggie Toussaint saw a turning point when she joined the Romance Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America. She also joined critique groups and, together, they helped her refine her craft.

They showed her the ins and outs of fiction writing. And once she finally felt comfortable with the quality her craft, Maggie left her science career and became a freelance writer. She did some technical writing work, experimented with the journalism field, kept writing and finally landed a book deal.

The first publishing contract she secured opened the door for even more book deals down the line until Maggie Toussaint finally achieved her dream of becoming a published author with several titles under her belt.

+In for a Penny
Cleo did not intend for her golf ball to find the dead body of a banker. The irrepressible accountant certainly didn’t expect her best friend to become the prime suspect in a murder.

But when the unexpected assaults her small Maryland town, Cleopatra does not hesitate to leap into the action. She throws her sleuthing hat on and does what she can to prove her best friend’s innocence by finding the real killer.

She is greatly hampered along the way by the machinations of her family.

+Gone and Done It
Baxley Powell is a landscaper who is planting a tree one random day when her shovel unearths a human skull. She does her duty by calling the Sheriff. But as she waits for his arrival, she decides to use her dream walking abilities to try and determine the identity of the victim.

Her actions get her tased. But with so many bills to pay and a child to support, Baxley does not hesitate to take the Sheriff’s offer to become a consultant for the police. Of course, before she can get the job, she must first prove her worth by solving the murder she unearthed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Maggie Toussaint

Leave a Reply