Book Notification

Magic Bone Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magic Bone Books

Be Careful What You Sniff For (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch That Wave (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Follow That Furball (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nice Snowing You! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Go Fetch! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Mess with the Ninja Puppy! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dogs Don't Have Webbed Feet (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rootin' Tootin' Cow Dog (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pup Art (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broadway Doggie (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Super Special (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Box with a Kangaroo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Magic Bone is an interesting book series written by Nancy E. Krulik who is the female author of more than 200 books for both young adults and children. Three of her books have also managed to be New York Times bestsellers. The book consists of 9 novels, which have been published from May 2013 up to October 2015 with a new one set to be released early February next year.

Children preferably those in grade one and kindergarten are the target audience for the Magic Bone series. The book series is an interesting story about a cute, playful puppy by the name Sparky who has a way of getting himself into trouble always. Every novel is a standalone story about the various adventures that he gets to. Information on various countries and cities is also provided as Sparky is transported to new places with every story. Sparky accidentally stumbles on a magic bone, which has the abilities to transport him to various parts of the world, including Rome, Hawaii, London, Switzerland among others.

The Sparky adventures are a must read for children as a way of entertaining them. Magic Bone series also educates kids on various geographical locations in the world introducing them to notable sites that they need to know. Another interesting feature that is likely to make the Magic Bone series stand out from the rest is the fact that the animals involved have human characteristics that enable them to communicate with each other.

A description on some of the book characters found in the Magic Bone series


Sparky is a cute, adorable and clumsy perennially hungry sheepdog puppy living with his owner. The rambunctious puppy that also happens to be the main character throughout the series finds it quite difficult to control his tail or paws due to his hyperactive nature.


Lena is a lonely Saint Bernard female rescue dog with a terrible sense of direction. She also happens to be quite clueless as although she is labeled as a female dog, she has not yet managed to pull off any rescue mission until she meets Sparky and becomes friendly to him.

Novels in the Magic Bone series

“Be Careful What You Sniff For”

Be Careful What You Sniff For is the introductory novel in the Magic Bone series. This is where the readers get to meet Sparky the hyperactive puppy. The fact that Sparky can’t control his legs or paws results in him, causing too many catastrophes inside his two-legged house. He is sent to the backyard away from his house as a form of punishment for breaking a lovely tick-tock-ticking toy.

Having time to burn and nobody to watch over him, Sparky embarks on digging around playfully which is his most favorite activity with an aim of finding a treasure or something to play with. He finally gets to find a strange bone that is going to change his life for good. After discovering the amazingly smelly bone, he decides to take one bite ignorant of what awaits him when he does so. The magic bone transports him to Cheer-i-o London.

Just like any other normal city, London is filled with various sights and both friendly and unfriendly characters altogether. Everyone in the city seems crabby and Spark finds himself in trouble when he gets into the dog pound with a bunch of mean looking bulldogs. Sensing danger he realizes that he needs to escape as the environment is not as friendly as he had thought. He later gets to make friends with a small dog like him and both plan their escape.

Will Sparky find his way back home to make amends with his owner for the wrongs committed? The animals in “Be Careful What You Sniff For” have human characteristics that help them communicate with each other, although they are limited in terms of communicating with their owners.

“Dogs Don’t Have Webbed Feet”

Evidently fascinated with the various adventures he has managed to encounter during the past few days, Sparky decides to take another bite of the magical bone. The magic bone teleports him to the Amazon rain forest in Brazil, where he encounters biting bugs, dogs with webbed feet that enable them to swim on water among other strange creatures.

On arrival, the Bush dogs decide to declare him their new leader because he has managed to save their home from the evil metal machines that were threatening to destroy their homes and the whole jungle. As much as being the leader comes with his perks, Sparky knows that home is the best place to me and starts looking for his magic bone only to discover that it had been buried under the trees that had been flattened by the metal machines. Will he get the bone in time to go home before anybody realizes he is missing?

“Nice Snowing You”

It is a cold season in Sparky’s homestead tempting him to use the magic bone to travel into a warm place. Hoping to escape the cold in his backyard, Sparky bites on his magic bone only to be transported this time to a snowy place by the name Zermatt in Switzerland.

This strange turn of events would discourage any other normal dog from experimenting with the bone, but not Sparky as we later come to learn. In a strategy of survival, Sparky befriends a rescued dog by the name Lena and asks her for the direction to a place where he can find shelter and food. Lena, who has a horrible sense of direction, offers to take him to a place she knows but ends up getting them both lost.

However, all is not lost as both Lena and Sparky seem to be in the right place and at the right time and Sparky gets to witness Lena’s first ever rescue mission. The two of them also explore the streets of Zermatt, the Glacier Palace, the Matterhorn and the Iglu-Dorf hotel. Although the adventure had threatened to be the worst ever, it develops into an exciting one that makes Sparky glad to have chewed his magic bone. Nice Snowing You just like the other books in the Magic Bone series has been a fun take on geography teaching children about Switzerland while entertaining them with the incredible Sparky adventures.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Magic Bone

Leave a Reply