Book Notification

Magic: The Gathering Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magic: The Gathering Books

Arena (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispering Woods (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattered Chains (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Sacrifice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cursed Land (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prodigal Sorcerer (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes of the Sun (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Song of Time (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Peace Shall Sleep (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Legacy (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darksteel Eye (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadowmoor (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alara Unbroken (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zendikar: In the Teeth of Akoum (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scars of Mirrodin: The Quest for Karn (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theros: A Godsend Novel (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey Into Nyx: Godsend, Part II (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Children of the Nameless (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Throne of Eldraine (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Magic: The Gathering: Greensleeves Books

Publication Order of Magic: The Gathering: Lorwyn Cycle Part II: Shadowmoor Cycle Books

Publication Order of Magic: The Gathering: Legends Cycle Books

Magic the Gathering series
The original ten “Magic the Gathering” books, published from 1994 to 1996 were deliberately not numbered as a marketing concern. The publishers believed that people might shy away from a multi-novel series. Some of the stories are linked, while others are not.

The heroes from “Arena”, Rakel and Garth, show up in “Shattered Chains”. The books “Whispering Woods”, “Shattered Chains”, and “Final Sacrifice” are part of “The Greensleeves Trilogy” or the “Whispering Woods Trilogy”.

All ten of these non-cycle novels were published by Harper Fantasy. The novels part of cycles or series were published by Wizards of the Coast.

All of the novels in this series are set in the multiverse, the center nexus is Dominaria, which is made up of an infinite number of infinitely different planes.

The novels from “The Brothers’ War” through “Scourge”, as well as “The Thran” and the … “of Magic” anthologies, are set on the plane of Dominaria and make up a rough chronological timeline of that plane’s history. The series began venturing out of Dominaria and into many new planes in the later books, like Mirrodin (which was once Argentum) in the Mirrodin Cycle, Ravinca in the Ravinica Cycle, and Kamigawa in the Kamigawa Cycle. The novels returned to Dominara with the Time Spiral cycle and it visited Lorwyn during the Lorwyn cycle.

The policy after this of publishing a trilogy of books for each year’s setting was discontinued, with the Zendikar, Alara, and Scars of Mirrodin block settings just getting a single novel each.

Theros was the final block to get a companion novel, and even then that was just in E-book form. With Wizards of the Coast citing various things like declining sales and an outdated model as two of the major contributing factors in their decision.

Starting with the Khans block in the year 2013, the company chose to tell the story line through the cards and some free online articles. They found that more of the players were familiar with the block story line than before when only the novels were telling the story. However the third Ravinica block got a novel that was written by Greg Weisman, called “Ravinica: War of the Spark”. In 2018, Brandon Sanderson even published an e-book set in the series called “Children of the Nameless”.

“Whispering Woods” is the second novel in the “Magic the Gathering” series and was released in the year 1994. Help Wanted As a Wizard’s Assistant. Has to be willing to relocate in time and space.

Gull should really have known better than to actually take the job. However with half of his village getting destroyed and his half-wit sister to look after, what choice did he really have? At the least the pay was good.

However this wizard was even worse than the ones that he had heard about. Between all the magical brawls, the tavern brawls, and taking care of that odd artifact that popped up, a guy could barely find enough time to catch his breath. And now, as his sister is starting to gather her wits, he really has got his hands full at the moment.

“Ashes of the Sun” is the seventh novel in the “Magic the Gathering” series and was released in the year 1996. This is the story of an ex-wrestler, named Ayesh, that is the last of her incredible civilization. In her world, storytelling is an art, and you can trade stories for food or other goods. Ayesh wants her people to be remembered, so she travels around, telling her story.

To her great frustration she finds that tales often change every time they are told, and the great cities of Neah (that were once her home) are not going to be remembered as they were. Nothing left to live for and ready to die, she gets captured by Minotaurs!

Forced right into the middle of intricate Minotaur politics, she does and sees things that she never believed possible. During her strange captivity, she finds she does want to live after all.

“Planeswalker” is the fifteenth novel in the “Magic the Gathering” series (Artifacts Cycle #2) and was released in the year 1998. The war has ended, however the battle has only started. The Brothers’ War boiled seas, crushed continents, and ruined the lives of millions of people. That was just the start of everything. The demons and inner circle of priests that corrupted the Brotherhood of Gix once upon a time live on, serving one unseen lord cocooned at Phyrexia’s center. Their mission to control the brothers Mishra and Urza was unsuccessful, yet their appetite for conquest is still there.

From the aftermath of the hugest battle in Dominarian history emerges one man, one that was changed to his very core. Harboring deep guilt over the monsters that he let loose on his own homeland and the destruction that he provoked, this legendary figure is being haunted by the ghosts of those that used to be and of those that he knows are coming again.

The man is Urza, and has become a planeswalker, which allows him to move easily from world to world, and wanders the planes looking to destroy the foul evil which corrupted his landed and wrecked his sanity. He has help from a rather unlikely ally.

Lynn Abbey, author of this book, gets down into the darkest and deepest corners of Urza’s mind and reveals the horror and madness lurking within. Lynn’s depiction of this mind blowing and horrific story is absolutely stunning.

“Judgment” is the thirty-sixth novel in the “Magic the Gathering” series (Odyssey Cycle #3) and was released in the year 2002. The time has finally arrived.

Every powerful fighter and wizard on the continent of Otaria wants only a single thing: power. One artifact is able to give them, undeniably, that which they are looking for, and nothing is going to stop any one of them from possessing it.

However in the end, just one is able to have it, and his actions are going to determine the fate of the entire world. The day of judgment is finally here.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Magic: The Gathering

Leave a Reply