Book Notification

Magical Cats Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magical Cats Mystery Books

Curiosity Thrilled the Cat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleight of Paw (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Copycat Killing (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat Trick (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Catcall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Midwinter's Tail (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faux Paw (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cat Burglar (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws and Effect (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tale of Two Kitties (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cats Came Back (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Night's Tail (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Case of Cat and Mouse (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hooked on a Feline (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whiskers and Lies (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws to Remember (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Magical Cats Mysteries is a series of cozy and paranormal mystery novels written by the well known Canadian author named Darlene Ryan aka Sofie Kelly. The series revolves around the life of the main character, Kathleen Paulson as well as her two stray cats named Hercules and Owen. All the novels of the series feature the two cats as the actual protagonists as they are believed to have some special powers that help them to solve the murder cases throughout the series. There is a total of 7 novels published in the series between the years 2011 and 2015. Kathleen Paulson is described by the author as a librarian, who moves into a fictional town of Mayville Heights in Minnesota, United States. She is believed to have moved from Boston into this small town. After settling down in the new town, Kathleen gets acquainted with a couple of stray cats. She later gives them the names as Hercules and Owen. With the passage of time, she comes to know about their special powers and uses them to solve the murder cases that happen around her.

Author Sofie Kelly began writing the series in the year 2011 and published its first novel in the same year. She is currently working on this ongoing series and is about to publish a few more novels in the series very soon. The first novel of the Magical Cats Mysteries was published by the NAL publishing house and was titled ‘Curiosity Thrilled the Cat’. The plot of this novel is set in the fictional town of Mayville Heights, Minnesota, United States. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the main protagonist Kathleen Paulson is introduced as a librarian. The introductory part also shows the situations that force her to move to the new small town in Minnesota from Boston. Kathleen had a preconceived idea that she will be able to meet new people and make some new friends in her new hometown. However, she had no idea that she will be befriending a couple of stray cats. Actually, instead of Kathleen, it was the cats that became friendly with her initially. She named them a Hercules and Owen. The two cats have their own likes and dislikes and are totally different from one another. Owen likes to have an addiction for catnip and is a tabby while Hercules is more of a stocky tuxedo cat, who shares the fondness for Barry Manilow with Kathleen Paulson. The only thing that the two of them have in common is the gifted special power that they possess and use at the time of the investigations. They provide a great deal of support to Kathleen in her attempt to find the reality and catch the real murderers. The three of them get involved in a similar situation at the time of the Mayville Music Festival. No sooner than it gets started, the festival is interrupted by a murder. To everyone’s surprise, Kathleen Paulson gets arrested as the prime suspect in the murder. The case comes as a shock to her, but what appears to be more stunning than this is the fact that she considers her cats Owen and Hercules to possess some magical powers. Therefore, she relies on them to use their special skills and help her to clear her name of the crime that she has not committed.

The novel proved to be a fun-filled, cozy and thrilling murder mystery with an intriguing story. Even though it appears to be silly with its title, but it actually has enough magic that keeps it funny and thrilling at the same time. In the beginning, when Kathleen first comes to Mayville Heights, she does not have anyone to give her company. But the two cats make themselves comfortable and get adopted on their own in the house of Kathleen. She does not where they came from and why did they choose only her house to stay. However, she liked their sweet, funny and ornery nature. From then on, Kathleen began to have them in her company all the time and the cats also seemed to love her. During the Mayville Music Festival, her new library was getting renovated and when she arrives on one day to take a look at the work progress, she finds a dead body on the floor of her library. It is revealed that the dead body was of the bus conductor, who was not liked by most of the people of the town. Initially, there does seem any probable cause of the death. But, when the local, elusive detective begins the investigation, some very unexpected secrets about the small town are brought to the surface, which causes the citizens of the town to suspect one another for the death of the bus conductor. The readers liked the charming and likeable characters as well as the interesting story of the novel.

The second novel of the Magical Cats Mysteries was published under the title ‘Sleight of Paw’. It was published by the Penguin Books publishing house in the year 2011. Just like the first novel, this novel too continues to depict the mysteries around the life of the main character, Kathleen Paulson and her magical cats, who seem to possess some special magical powers that are used by Kathleen to solve the mysteries. In the opening plot of the novel, she is depicted as a new librarian in the small and the fictional town of Mayville Heights. Initially, Kathleen had never wished to be a crazy lover of cats. But, when Owen and Hercules, the special cats followed her to her home and began staying there permanently, she realized that she actually enjoyed having them in her company. Kathleen also believed that the cats possessed some magical powers and was sure that her mind was not playing any tricks about this belief. After a little while, an elderly woman named Agatha Shepherd is found dead near a local cafe, which is one of the favorites of Kathleen. She gets framed in the murder, but knows that her cats have the ability to turn invisible and access the clues that a normal person cannot. Kathleen knows that someone is hiding behind the dark secrets and she is determined to catch that cold-hearted killer with the help of her cats, Hercules and Owen.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Magical Cats Mysteries

Leave a Reply