Book Notification

Magical Cures Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magical Cures Mysteries Books

A Charming Crime (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Cure (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Potion (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Wish (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Spell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Magic (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Secret (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Fatality (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Ghost (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Hex (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Voodoo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Corpse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Misfortune (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Blend (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charming Deception (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Magical Cures Mystery is a series of novels by prolific and popular mystery and paranormal author, Tonya Kappes. The series of novels are a combination of the paranormal and cozy mystery novel thus creating an explosive mix called a paranormal cozy mystery. The first novel of the series was the fan favorite, A Charming Crime published in 2012. One of the most prolific of writers, Kappes had written eight more titles in the series by 2016, including four box sets. The chief protagonist in the series is June Heal who is on a quest to find and belong to a community that has magical powers. Similar to the regular cozy mystery series, the Magical Cures Mystery series is all about mysterious murders solved by an amateur sleuth. But Kappes throws in an innovative twist by incorporating an element of the paranormal in the murders. Incorporating this element makes the mysteries even harder to solve, though the tension and endings are more palpable. With quirky lovable characters and dialogues that are simply hilarious, the mystery series are great for any mystery fan that loves a lighthearted story set in a small town. With so many interesting and funny characters in the novels, Kappes asserts that she always knew, the Magical Cures Mystery would grow into a series right from the very first novel.

When the lead character June Heal is introduced in the series, she is the owner and proprietor of A Dose of Darla, a homeopathic cure shop. An important thing to note about the homeopathic curist is that, in the beginning she is self-taught, which means that there are many things about homeopathy she does not know and others which she just has a rudimentary understanding. In a spiritual world where you are likely to encounter magic in every town, Heal has wits, beauty, and the power to bewitch anyone that she wishes. Despite her unlimited powers of homeopathy, June Heal is a loving family member, good friend, and an empathetic witch that is always ready to help anyone who walks into her store with problems she can solve. Even as she was a complete novice on homeopathy at the beginning of the series, over the next several novels, she grows to become one of the go to person for any person seeking psychic or spiritual services. However, what she thinks is a natural gift for homeopathy actually is not, as at some point in the series it comes out that she descended from a long line of psychics. Over the course of the series, June finds herself in a fix many times after she is accused of a series of paranormal murders. Kappes spices up the novel with Heal’s love life, which for some reason is always in shambles.

The cozy paranormal mystery series is set in the magical fictional town of Whispering Falls. Seeking to expand her homeopathic business, June Heal moves her business to the quaint town in Kentucky, only to find that it is full of secrets. Kappes systematically unleashes these secrets upon the unsuspecting reader in rather hilarious fashion. She takes you on a fun journey of laughter, fascinating magical spells, and romance plots, which is sure to make any paranormal and cozy mystery reader fall in love with Whispering Falls and the protagonist June Heal. What the author has done very well in the series is the use of tension, particularly through always putting the author in a tight spot. Growing from a self-taught homeopathic practitioner to an experienced psychic that attended the well renowned Hidden Hall University, the series is a journey of the protagonist from commoner to elite practitioner. Nonetheless, the experience and education just seems to increase the pressures, as the more of it she has the more complex her troubles seem to become. With a lot of fun action such as potion making, interaction with genies, strange animals, and talking crystal balls, the Magical Cures Mystery series is one of the best mystery series you could read.

The first novel in the series introduces us to the chief protagonist, June Heal and the magical town of Whispering Falls. June Heal believes that her homeopathic practice has overgrown the flea market in her little hometown and takes the logical step of moving it to Whispering Falls in Kentucky. While she can now grow the business, trouble is not far away, as she soon discovers that the town full of magical secrets. A few sprinkles of fairy dust, whispering animals, and talking snow globes, just to mention a few, are some of the magical secrets she confronts within a few days of moving into the supposedly charming city. While she had never taken her homeopathic business so seriously, June soon finds out her family is full of practicing psychic and that her magical potions actually work as they are supposed to. However, none of that can save her from her predicament as the prime suspect in the murder of one of the townspeople. The deceased, who turns up dead in the nearby lake with one of June’s lucky charms in hand, had a very public bust up with June just a few days past. And that is not the only thing she has to worry about as ever since she moved into town, she has been falling for Sheriff Oscar Park, her high school crush.

In the second title of the Magical Cure Mystery series, A Charming Cure, June Heal’s homeopathic shop has the distinction of being one of the most popular shops the magical town of Whispering Falls. However, trouble is never that far away for June as desiring to further her knowledge, she checks herself into Hidden Hall, a spiritual school for psychics, leaving Sheriff Oscar Park to operate the shop. At Hidden Hall, she discovers that there are two factions, the Dark Siders and the Good Siders, and she does not fit in any. The spiritual University is home to all types of spiritualists with black and white magic and everything in between lurking on every corner. When several spiritualists end up poisoned to death or missing, the school administration makes the shocking revelation that someone with malevolent intentions had stolen the Ultimate Spell and was using it for evil. Madam Torres, Heal’s mentor reveals to her that Whispering Falls will be in deep trouble if she cannot find the Ultimate Spell, and destroy the evil spiritualists before they take out the entire community.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Magical Cures Mystery

Leave a Reply