Book Notification

Maile Meloy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Apothecary Books

The Apothecary (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apprentices (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The After-Room (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Liars and Saints (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Family Daughter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do Not Become Alarmed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Half in Love (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Both Ways is the Only Way I Want It (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Octopus Escapes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Selected Shorts: Wartime Lives(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Short Stories 2015(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat Joy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Maile Meloy is one of the well known fiction writers of America who has written and published a number of successful novels in her writing career. During her career as an author, which started in the year 2002, Meloy has written novels based on only the fiction genre. Recently, she has also tried to write short fiction novels. Meloy was born on January 01, 1972 in Helena, Montana, and never moved out till her high school years. She went on to join the Harvard College and obtained her bachelor’s degree in the year 1994. Later, Meloy completed her MFA from the California University, Irvine. As a result of the success of her novels, she has won many prestigious awards in her writing career. In the year 2001, author Meloy won the Aga Khan Price in the category of the best fiction by The Paris Review. She won this award for one of her stories titled ‘Aqua Boulevard’. This was followed by the Malamud/PEN Award in the year 2003 for her story collection, Half in Love. The most notable award won by author Meloy was in the year 2004 when she won the Guggenheim Fellowship. Eventually, she went on to be included on the list of 21 ‘Best Young American Authors’ by the Granta literary magazine.

Many of the stories written by author Meloy have featured in The New Yorker and she has also been a frequent contributor to the literary section of The New York Times. In one of her interviews on the Ploughshares website, author Meloy has described how she wrote the collection of stories, Half in Love. She has said that she wound up writing the book in different decades, partly set in Montana. The stories in the book seemed to be one of the hardest things to write in her career as they were based on the place that was very close to her heart. Even the other places described in the stories in the book are very close to her including Paris, London, and Greece. Being set in different places, the stories did not have geographical or temporal unity, but all the characters described in it were caught in something and another, half in love with someone or something. They face the deals of life with something that they did not expect. This way, author Meloy has described her successful collection of stories which helped her to become a well establish author with unique writing abilities. One of the collection of stories written by author Maile Meloy, ”Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It’ was made into a movie called Livingston in the year 2015. The film is directed by the popular director Kelly Reichardt and is expected to come out in early 2016. Author Maloy has a younger sister named Colin Meloy, who is a solo artist and author. As of today, author Meloy lives in Los Angeles, California.

One of the successful novel series written by author Meloy is The Apothecary series, which contains 3 novels in total. These novels were published between the years 2011 and 2015. The first novel of the series was titled ‘The Apothecary’ and was published by the G.P. Putnam’s Sons publishing house in the year 2011. Its plot is set during the time of the year 1952 and revolves around the lives of the main characters Jane Scott, Sarah Pennington, Jin Lo, Mr. Danby, Davis Scott, Sergi Shiskin, Olivia Wolff, Marjerie Scott, Detective Monclair, as well as a few others. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the Scott family is depicted as having just moved to London from Los Angeles. The Scott family has a 14 year daughter named Janie Scott, who meets a mysterious and unusual apothecary and his son named Benjamin Burrows in London. Benjamin is depicted as a fascinating boy, who does not seem to be afraid of standing up in authority and wishes to become a spy after growing up. Shortly after, Benjamin’s father gets kidnapped, due to which he and Janie are required to uncover the dark secrets from the sacred book of the apothecary, called as the Pharmacopoeia. In order fins his missing father, Benjamin Burrows must find the hidden secrets in the sacred book, and with the help of Janie Scott, he must try to keep it out of the reach of the enemies around them. They must protect the sacred books, especially from the Russian, who are already in possession of deadly nuclear weapons and might explore a lot more if they get their hands on the sacred book of apothecary. Soon, Janie Scott and Benjamin Burrows go on a dangerous race, testing and discovering new elements in their quest of finding Benjamin’s father. They come across potions that they did not believe were existing. They desperately try to protect the apothecary and prevent the impending disaster. The novel went on to become very successful and went on to win the California Book Award in the category of the Gold Medal for the best Young Adult Novel in the year 2011. It was also nominated for the prestigious Carnegie Medal in the year 2013.

The second novel of The Apothecary series written by author Maile Meloy was published under the title ‘The Apprentices’. It was released in the year 2013 by the G.P. Putnam’s Sons publishing house. The plot of this novel once again features the main characters Benjamin Burrows and Janie Scott, and revolves around the happenings in their lives. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown Benjamin and Janie have not seen each other for almost 2 years. Janie seems desperate to meet the defiant son of the mysterious apothecary that Benjamin is, as he has stolen her heart. Meanwhile, Benjamin Burrows is busy with his father in treating the wounded and sick people in the war torn wilderness of Vietnam. Besides that, Benjamin is also working on a magical formula that helps him to get in touch with Janie from across the globe. Shortly after, he discovers that she is in some kind of trouble and calls his friend Pip to help her. Soon, it is found that the three of them are trying to chase each other around the world desperately in order to find each other. Meanwhile, they also try to unravel the mystery that threatens them. Through this novel, author Meloy has tried to weave adventure and magic, and is helped by the stunning illustrator named Ian Schoenherr.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Maile Meloy

Leave a Reply