Book Notification

Mainak Dhar Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of 7even Books

Sniper's Eye (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sniper's Debt (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Alice in Deadland Books

Alice in Deadland (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Through the Killing Glass (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Off with Their Heads (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hunting the Snark (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadland (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Phantoms of the North (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crocodile's Jaws (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
I, Neil (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Unit 22 Books

The 1st Assassin (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The 2nd Fugitive (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The 3rd Survivor (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The 4th Traitor (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Flashpoint (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Line of Control (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vimana (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Heroes R Us (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Zombiestan (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hindustaan (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chronicler of the Undead (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
03:02 (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Herogiri (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Little Mayhem (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
In Enemy Hands (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Face in the Mirror (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Brand Management 101 (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Funda of Mix-ology (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cubicle Manifesto (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hindustaan, What if the British never conquered India? (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Brand Shastra (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Open Secrets (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Black Fang Betrayal(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Mainak Dhar works in a cubicle during the day and writes at night, and he spends his time with his wife, Puja, and their son Aaditya, as well as his laptop. He has lived much of his life in India, having been born there. He has spent fifteen years outside of the country.

The first work he had “published” was a stapled collection of poems and Maths solutions (he felt no one would pay for his poems by themselves). These he sold to his fellow classmates for fifty cents in Grade 7 and spent the money he made on comics and ice cream.

Ever since he was a kid, he loved storytelling. He had an imaginary friend that sat next to him while he was in class and penned a diary about the end of the world and buried it in the garden, allowing future historians to find it.

A big influence on him has been the nomadic childhood he had. Adjusting to new friends and places every few years made him rely on his imagination and was the first thing to stoke his love for writing.

The first immediate spark for Dhar, that made him take a real step towards becoming a writer was an interview with Stephen King. He said that even if somebody pays you a penny for something you have written, that makes you a published writer.

Dhar’s dad, Maloy, was someone he admired since he kept his own love of writing alive. Even after a hiatus that lasted over thirty years, he published his first book when he was 58 years old and became a bestselling author. He would later die in the year 2012.

Dhar’s mother, Sunanda, always encouraged Dhar’s love of writing. She even went to publishers with him as he, during college, saw a near impossible dream to get published as an author. She also whispered in his ear, telling him that no dream was too big for him to dream. She died of cancer in the year 2001, but Dhar still feels that she is there with him, nudging him on gently to write just one more page and view one more dream.

After his mom died, writing took a backseat for him, and he wound up drinking himself to obesity. He stopped drinking, got into shape again and kick-started his writing, having made a resolution to pen a book each year.

He finds that he himself has become reborn, in a sense, over the last few years. This came to him with the realization that he had met a woman that he wanted to spend the rest of his life with. Having Puja, his wife restarted the hope in him that things are able to turn out for the best after all.

In the year 2004, Puja made him the happiest guy on Earth by saying yes when he proposed to her. They were married for over three wonderful years when they were joined by Aaditya, their son.

Dhar’s debut novel, “Flashpoint” was released in the year 2002. His work is from the horror genre.

“Alice in Deadland” is the first novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2011. Civilization, the way we know it, ended over fifteen years ago, and left its legacy: the barren wastelands (called the Deadland). And a brand new terror for any of the humans that survived: hordes of undead Biters.

Alice, age fifteen, has spent all of her life inside the Deadland. Her education has consisted of how she can best use knives and guns during the ongoing battle to survive against these Biters. On one day, Alice notices a Biter going down a hole in the ground and she follows it, hoping to find the fabled underground bases of the Biters.

Alice finds something that throws her into an action filled adventure that changes her whole life, as well as all humans living in the Deadland forever. It is an adventure where she is going to learn about the terrible conspiracy that is behind the ruin of humanity. The real truth behind the Biters’ origins, as well as the prophecy this mysterious Biter Queen believes that Alice is destined to fulfill.

This prophecy is based off the charred remains of the final book found in the Deadland, it is called “Alice in Wonderland”.

“Through the Killing Glass” is the second novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2012. It has been more than two years since Alice followed a Biter with a set of bunny ears down a hole. That triggered events forever changing her life as well as that of everyone else in the Deadland. The Red Guards have been fought right to a standstill. Alice has been able to restore some sort of peace between the Biters and the humans. Under Alice’s leadership, humans have laid foundations for the first organized, large community since The Rising happened. It is a city called Wonderland.

The peace was shattered during a series of brutal Biter attacks and Alice finds that she is shunned by the very people she helped to liberate.

“Off With Their Heads” is the third novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2012. The Rising happened just a few months before Alice was born and fifteen years before the events of “Alice in Deadland”. It was a few days that ruined human civilization as we know it, which reduced much of the world to just a radioactive wasteland that teems with many undead Biters and is controlled by some shadowy Central Committee.

This novel brings to life The Rising’s final days through four different shorts. Each of which is depicted through the perspective of a pivotal character from the “Alice in Deadland” series. These stories show how Dr. Protima became Queen of the Biters. Feel a young man’s pain through his major sacrifice while he becomes the bunny-eared Biter that Alice would later follow down the hole. There is Chen’s rise from being a conflicted young Chinese Army officer to being General in the Red Guards. Then finally share the dramatic escape of Alice’s parents from a city that is overrun with Biters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mainak Dhar

Leave a Reply