Book Notification

Malus Darkblade Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Chronicles of Malus Darkblade Books

By: Dan Abnett, Mike Lee
The Daemon's Curse (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodstorm (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reaper of Souls (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warpsword (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord of Ruin (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chronicles of Malus Darkblade Volume One (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chronicles of Malus Darkblade Volume Two (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

The British writers Mike Lee and Dan Abnett have been writing for quite some time now, with them being highly prolific figures within the science-fiction and comic book scene, creating strong profiles that have come to be regarded as some of the biggest brands currently working to date. Working on some major franchises such as ‘The Punisher’ and ‘Doctor Who’, Dan Abnett is a highly gifted writer known for his many various contributions to the genre, as he combines both character and excitement to thrilling effect. With expert world-building skills as well, he’s able to provide a sense of scope and scale that’s unrivaled to this very day, with many looking to replicate his work throughout the rest of the industry. Imaginative and creative, he’s also worked on a number of his own series too, as he has managed to build worlds of his own alongside the various franchises that he’s worked on throughout the years. One such series is that of his long-running ‘Malus Darkblade’ series of novels; a franchise which he’s worked on with Mike Lee as well, as they’ve both combined their efforts to create this independent series set within the ‘Warhammer’ universe. Working with a major franchise such as ‘Warhammer’, the table-top gaming brand, they’ve essentially created their own thing from it, making it stand out on its own two feet. Following the character of Malus Darkblade, it follows him as a Dark Elf as he travels across the kingdom looking to exert his influence as far as he possibly can to all corners of the known land. Using all the tactics at his disposal, such as cunning, cruelty, ambition and intelligence, he’s a gifted warrior, as well as being the bastard son of Vaulkhar of Hag Graef, another previously legendary figure within and throughout the kingdom, as Darkblade seeks to make his own name heard by all.

With over five books in total in the series, the books themselves were launched between the years of 2005 and 2007, starting with ‘The Daemon’s Curse’ and finishing with ‘Lord of Ruin’. Following up the first title with ‘Bloodstorm’ in the same year, the third, ‘Reaper of Souls’, would be released the following year in 2006, followed by ‘Warpsword’ in 2007. These would all fit into the world of Warhammer, following many of the rules and initial concepts laid out for them, providing a template to work with, whilst also allowing them plenty of creative freedom to essentially do their own thing within this universe.

The Daemon’s Curse

Published under the Games Workshop’s own publishing house in the United Kingdom, this was all set to be the first in the ongoing series of Malus Darkblade novels. Setting up the character of Malus Darkblade himself, Lee and Abnett manage to establish him as a worthy and formidable presence within the world of Warhammer. Creating a sense of danger, he’s all set of navigate this danger filled world as he undertakes a journey of epic proportions, as he leads an expedition into previously uncharted lands.

Setting up the franchise, this brings in many of the leading themes and ideas that are going to become most prominent throughout the series itself. Not only that, but it also manages to establish the main characters, especially Malus Darkblade, as he essentially comes to life off of the page for the reader. The world of Warhammer is also extremely well realized too, as Lee and and Abnett make the most of it, fully utilizing the sense of scale and proportion throughout, giving it a very real sense of grandeur within the minds of readers, regardless of whether they’re fans of the Warhammer franchise or not.

Learning the location of an extremely powerful relic, Malus Darkblade the legendary Dark Elf vows to make it his, as he undertakes a long and dangerous journey. Leading an expedition into the Chaos Wastes, he finds that he may be undertaking one of the most dangerous missions of his life, as he soon discovers, that this could potentially take his life. Possessed by a powerful daemon, he soon finds that he’s up against the elements, as he attempts to overcome the obstacles that lie ahead of him. Will he be able to achieve his mission? Can he keep himself safe? What will become of the Daemon’s curse?


Released under the Games Workshop publishing banner once more, this provides the second title in the ongoing ‘Malus Darkblade’ series of novels. Carrying on in much the same vein as before, it provides the next thrilling chapter in this epic fantasy saga, as well as progressing him as a character and personality. This allows readers to really feel as if they are there traveling alongside him on his epic journey, really getting a feel for both the action and the ambiance of the world itself.

Still an anti-hero of sorts, Malus Darkblade is still possessed by the ever foul daemon Tz’arkan, as it forces him to push on with his quest, otherwise he will be made to forfeit his soul. This means that he must seek a number of magical artifacts, all of which could save him from being condemned to hell and forfeiting his soul to evil. Pushing on with his quest he sets out to navigate a danger filled labyrinth with a fearsome guardian at its very center, as he must make it to the end if he even hopes to succeed. Will he make it? Can he save his own soul? What will become of the bloodstorm?

The Malus Darkblade Series

Whilst many may not be so familiar to the world of Warhammer, this doesn’t matter, as it essentially allows any newcomers into the world, giving them enough information to go on throughout. As a character Malus Darkblade himself is more than engaging, as he is far more than simply a two-dimensional character, as he is fully fleshed out over the course of the series. Not only that, but it also builds upon the world of Warhammer too, as it further establishes it, building it up and deepening it even more, something which will be hugely beneficial to both fans and non-fans alike for many years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Malus Darkblade

Leave a Reply