Book Notification

Marc Turner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Chronicles of the Exile Books

When the Heavens Fall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Hunters (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Tide (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

All Lies Hidden (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hath No Fury(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marc Turner
Marc Turner was born in Toronto, Canada, but he grew up in England. He graduated from Lincoln College, Oxford University. In 1996 with a BA (Hons) in law, he subsequently joined a top ten law firm in the city of London.

After realizing that working at this firm didn’t mix all that well with the simple pleasures like having a life, he fled north first to Leeds and then to Durham in search of a better work-life balance. But unfortunately that proved to be elusive, and so in 2007, instead of taking the next step and moving to Scotland, he started working part time in order to devote more time to his writing. After the sale of “When the Heavens Fall”, his debut epic fantasy novel, he began writing full time.

“When the Heavens Fall” is the first novel in the “Chronicles of the Exile” series and was released in 2015. If you pick a fight with Shroud, Lord of the Dead, you’d better ensure you victory, or else death with just mark the start of your suffering.

A book that gives its wielder power over the dead has just been stolen from a fellowship of mages which has kept this powerful relic dormant for centuries now. The thief, who was a power-hungry and crafty necromancer, intends on using the Book of Lost Souls in order to resurrect an ancient race and challenge Shroud for dominion of the underworld. Shroud counters by sending one of his most formidable servants to seize this artifact at all costs.

But the god isn’t the only one that’s interested in the book, and this host of other forces converge, having been drawn by the powerful magic which has been unleashed. Among them is a reluctant Guardian that is commissioned by the emperor to find this stolen book, a young girl of great power whose past uniquely prepares her for an encounter with Shroud, and a troubled prince that battles enemies both political and personal.

The greatest threat to each of their quests lies not in the horror of some undead army but in the risk of betrayal from those that are closest to them. Each one of their choices comes with a personal cost and won’t just affect them but it’ll also determine their entire empire’s fate.

“Dragon Hunters” is the second novel in the “Chronicles of the Exile” series and was released in 2016. Deadly magic, meddlesome gods, and gritty characters.

Once a year on Dragon Day the fabled Dragon Gate gets raised to allow a sea dragon to pass from the Southern Wastes into the Sabian Sea. It’s there that it’ll be hunted by the Storm Lords, which is a fellowship of powerful water mages that rule an empire known as the Storm Isles. Alas, this year somebody forgot to tell the dragon which is the hunted and which is the hunter.

Emira Imerle Polivar comes to the end of her tenure leading the Storm Lords. She’s got no intentions of standing down graciously. She instructs this order of priests known as the Chameleons to infiltrate this citadel which houses the mechanism that controls the Dragon Gate to prevent the gate from being lowered back down once it’s been raised on Dragon Day. Imerle hopes that the dozens of dragons thus unleashed on the Sabian Sea is going to eliminate her rivals once she launches an attack on Olaire, the Storm Lord capital, in order to secure her grip on power.

However Imerle isn’t the only one that’s intent on destroying the Storm Lord dynasty. While the Storm Lords assemble in Olaire in answer to their mysterious summons, they become the targets of assassins that work for some unknown enemy. Once Imerle initiates her coup, that enemy makes good use of the chaos that’s created to show its hand.

“Red Tide” is the third novel in the “Chronicles of the Exile” series and was released in 2016. The Augerans are coming. And their ships are sailing on a red tide.

The Rubyholt Isles are this shattered nation of pirate-infested islands and treacherous waterways that shield the seaboards of Erin Elal and the Sabian League, which is a region that even dragons fear to trespass on. The Augerans beseech the Warlord of the Isles, as they seek passage for their invasion fleet through Rubyholt territory. However they’re sailing right into troubled waters. Their enemies have sent agents to sabotage the negotiations and to crush the Augeran fleet by any means necessary.

The Emperor of Erin Elal looks to forge an alliance with the Storm Lords, looking to repulse the Augerans with a united front. However the battle lines for this struggle are not nearly as clearly drawn as it first seems, for the Emira of the Storm Isles mistrusts the Erin Elalese just as much as she does their common foe. And the Augerans may just be planning a little bit of sabotage of their own.

However nothing in this realm of mortals can escape the notice of their meddling gods; every step that they take is shadowed and each decision that they make is ensnared in a web that is so vast and subtle, its real shape might just be fathomed once it’s much much too late.

“All Lies Hidden” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2023. Samantha Greenwood (a civilian consultant in interrogation) works for London’s Metropolitan Police Service, where her psychic abilities and impressive closure rate have drawn the suspicion and admiration of her colleagues.

But for Greenwood, her job isn’t a calling, but a way to escape from the memories of a chequered past which includes her young son’s death and her marriage’s breakdown. Now the only person that matters to her is Cate, her daughter.

Cate then becomes the subject of her latest investigation. While Greenwood starts digging deeper, she learns that Cate’s been harboring secrets. And when Samantha does something unthinkable, it sets her down the path of discovering the dark truths that her daughter’s been hiding. Her life won’t ever be the same again.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marc Turner

Leave a Reply