Book Notification

Marcie R. Rendon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cash Blackbear Books

Murder on the Red River (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girl Gone Missing (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sinister Graves (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where They Last Saw Her (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marcie R. Rendon is an American published author. She also belongs to the White Earth Anishinabe Nation. She is a mother as well as a grandmother. In addition to being a writer, she is also a performance artist. She has been recognized as a change-maker (part of the ’50 over 50′ group by POLLEN and MN AARP). She has also curated community-created performing arts.

Rendon’s debut fictional novel is titled Murder on the Red River. Published by Cinco Puntos Press, the novel was first released in 2017. It won an award in 2018 for its category as a debut crime novel, earning the Pinckley Prize. It also became a finalist for the category of best contemporary novel with ‘Western Writers of American SPUR’.

In addition to writing stories for adults, she also composes children’s books. The nonfiction books that she has written include MN Historical Press’s Pow Wow Summer as well as CarolRhoda’s Farmer’s Market. She also has had several of her plays published. She was the creative force behind the Raving Native Theater. This would produce the play Bring the Children Home in 2015 to 2016 at four different venues.

In 2017 Marcie Rendon received the honor of the Spoken Word Immersion Fellowship along with Diego Vazquez, a poet, for the work they did in local county jails with incarcerated women. Rendon has studied under Jim Northrup, an Anishinabe writer. She also received the “Writers of Color Award” from Loft’s Inroads for Native Americans.

Murder on the Red River is the first fictional novel to be released from author Marcie Rendon and the first in the Cash Blackbear series. The story features the main characters of Sheriff Wheaton and Cash. The two of them have a unique relationship, to say the least. It was Wheaton that came into her life when Cash was just three years old. At the time, he was the one to pull her from the wreckage of her mother’s car. Ever since that day, he has been busy keeping a watch over her and making sure that she is protected.

All along the local Red River, placed in northern Minnesota, this is not the easiest place to live. Cash didn’t have parents that she was living with and so would make her way through the various foster homes available to her, no easy feet. At just thirteen years of age she pursued her independence by working on farms.

At this point, the teenage girl is tougher than most girls her age by necessity of the life that she has had to live, and that carries through to being a self made young adult. She stands not too tall at five feet and two inches, and her wardrobe is simple. She wears blue jeans and a jean jacket that matches. She also has some adult habits in place. She likes to smoke cigarettes, Marlboros being her brand of choice. When it comes to alcohol, she prefers to have Bud Longnecks.

Now she also makes a living driving trucks and on the side maybe earns a little more by playing pool. As for Wheatman, he’s the strong and stocky kind. He is large and the lawman type, with darker skin that hints that maybe he’s got other ancestral roots mixed in with potential Scandinavian DNA. They may have met all these years ago, but he still is invested with Cash’s life.

Wheaton wants her to have a good life and get things together. If she can take her life by the reins, maybe get accepted into junior college as a student, she might start to go somewhere. The two of them have been intertwined in each other’s lives for so long that it’s natural for him to want her to have the best existence that she can.

But then the two of them wind up, looking at an Indian in a field that is totally dead. Cash starts to have dreams about the modest house owned by this dead man. Located on the reservation of Red Lake, with a mother and children, this is the type of power that this young girl has. It’s also the place that Wheaton thinks that they should be looking.

The two of them want to find out who killed this man and bring him to justice. Both of them know that the way is going to be dangerous. This isn’t the type of thing that you can take on while pretending that there aren’t any risks. The two of them start looking around for who could have done this. Their suspects include a Caucasian guy named Jim who is married and Longbraids, an Indian man that is making his way to Minneapolis so that he can become a member of the American Indian Movement.

Who was it that ended up doing the murdered guy in? That’s what Wheaton and Cash want to know. But will knowing come at a cost that is all too high to pay? And who really did commit this crime and why? Follow the plot to the last suspenseful end and find out what happens by picking up a copy of this thriller for yourself!

Girl Gone Missing is a book in the Cash Blackbear series by Rendon. It was nominated for a Sue Grafton Memorial Award by the Mystery Writers of America.

Meet the main character of Renee Blackbear, an Ojibwe woman. Most people call her by her nickname, Cash. She has lived in the city of Fargo for all of her life. She keeps to herself mostly and only could call one person her friend. That would be Sheriff Wheaton.

All those years ago, he pulled her from the car wreck when she was a toddler. Then it was a long road for Cash, going through various foster homes, working at farms, driving trucks. He wanted her to get a new lease on life so he helps her sign up for college.

It’s at Moorhead State, and she gets in. But what she learns may be not all that useful. Right from the start, she sees that people are talking a lot but it’s also not really about anything at all. She takes on classes and spends her time playing pool, drinking beer, and working. But when someone claiming to be her brother appears, and she dreams that there are girls needing help in the cities, things are about to get a lot more complicated. Find out what happens by picking up Girl Gone Missing!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marcie R. Rendon

3 Responses to “Marcie R. Rendon”

  1. Tabitha: 1 year ago

    I absolutely love this series! I listened to all 3 books on audible in 2 days at work and I love how you the books make you feel like your right there next to Cash all the way until the end. I cant wait for the next book. Thank you so much for a good read to make the work day more tolerable. 🙂

  2. Patty: 1 year ago

    Great series. Really enjoy your writing style and the information you give at the end of the books. Hope you have another Cash book in the works. Thank you

  3. Name (required): 1 year ago

    I love this series, I have just binge-read all three books and I am so looking forward to reading more about Cash and her world. Please write another book soon. Thank you.


Leave a Reply