Book Notification

Marcus Didius Falco Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Marcus Didius Falco Books

The Silver Pigs (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadows in Bronze (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Venus in Copper (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Iron Hand of Mars (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Poseidon's Gold (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Last Act in Palmyra (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Time to Depart (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dying Light in Corduba (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Three Hands in the Fountain (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Two for the Lions (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One Virgin Too Many (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ode to a Banker (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Body in the Bathhouse (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Jupiter Myth (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Accusers (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Scandal Takes a Holiday (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
See Delphi and Die (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Saturnalia (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Alexandria (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nemesis (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Marcus Didius Falco Non-Fiction Books

Falco: The Official Companion (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Lindsey Davis is an English historical novelist who was born in the year 1949. She is best known for the historical crime stories, which feature the protagonist Marcus Didius Falco. Upon completing her high school education, Davis was admitted to the prestigious Oxford University, where she majored in English Literature. After completing her University education, Lindsey Davis became a civil servant for a long spell. Having worked for more than 13 years in the civil service, Lindsey Davis decided to quit her work as a civil servant and become a full-time writer. This was right after a romantic novel that she had authored ended up as a runner-up for the Georgette Heyer Historical Prize.

Due to the author’s interest in archeology and history, she began working on the historical novel which was about Vespasian together with Antonia Caenis, her lover. However, upon completing this novel, the author was not successful in finding a publisher. However, she did not give up any hopes and began working on another novel, which featured Marcus Didius Falco, a Roman detective. This novel was titled The Silver Pigs and was set in the year 1989, which was set in the same period as the start of her successful writing career. After penning down this novel, the author then went ahead and wrote 19 more novels including the Course of Honor, which was published in the year 1997. With that said, Lindsey Davis is one of the most decorated authors, since she has managed to scoop several literary awards. From the year 1997 to the year 1998, Lindsey Davis was selected as the honorary president of Classical Association.

Marcus Didius Falco

The Silver Pigs is the first book in this highly entertaining book series. In the Silver Pigs, the author introduces the reader to Marcus Didius Falco, a 70 AD detective whose main job is to follow around young philandering wives of exceedingly rich husbands. However, it does not take long before he finds himself at the center of mayhem and murder, which involves high-ranking senators and also the Vespasian emperor as well. Falco, a thirty-year-old man, has an exceedingly huge family including his mother, who have been grieving the death of Didius Fester, Falco’s younger brother. Festus had been killed while on service in Palestine. Thus, when he meets Sosia Camillina, an exceedingly young girl, who happens to be the niece of Senator Decimus Camillus.

She is also the daughter of the younger brother to the senator, Publius Meto. Two men had been chasing down the 16-year-old. Thus Falco assists her to escape gallantly. Thus, these new friends eventually get to know one another. Sosia informs him that he had been kidnapped from her uncle’s house; however, the reasons are unknown to her. However, she had managed to successfully escape from the grasp of her kidnappers. After talking for some time with his best friend and a fellow ex-military officer, Petronius Longus, they decide that it is safe for Sofia to stay at Falco’s place for the night.

After a brief visit at the Senators palatial house and also verifying Sosia’s story and her relationship, Falco was able to receive a contract from the senator to work for him. Thus when the meeting was over, Falco decides to head back home to his house and flat. However, as he was heading back home, Falco was attacked by numerous huge aediles, who had been working for the praetors. These men wanted to know the exact location the girl. As all this is happening, Falco wants to know what exactly is the allies involvement in the matter and who exactly had sent them over. Falco wonders whether Camillus had suddenly changed his mind. Falco is taken to an office where Publius Camillus introduced himself. He is given a thorough beating and then accompanied to his home. Upon arriving they discover that Sosia had run away.

With that said, Silver Pigs is a novel that has been written in an exceedingly lighthearted tone and lots of jokes and humor. However, there is a lot of action and drama. The storyline not only moves fast, but there is also lots of genuine ancient Roman details. While working as an undercover detective, Falco meets with very many real Roman historical figures. He is an exceedingly tough guy, however his mother manages to keep him in hand. Shadows in the Bronze is the second book in this series. This installment begins where the first book had left off; thus it is highly important to read the first book before reading the second book. After successfully discovering and putting a sudden stop to a conspiracy, against the Vespasian Emperor, Falco’s main job is to ensure that he has tied lose ends.

People are not only dying mysteriously but also other strange people had been following people around. So as to contact the various senators on behalf of the emperor, Falco has to first travel to the seaside where he not only met with ghosts but also with numerous confident young women. Silver Pigs has been written in an exceedingly light tone. It is not only full of humor but also full of jokes. The research that the author has done is superb while the story is exceedingly fascinating. With that said, Lindsay has managed to paint an exceedingly vivid image of Rome in her books. This novel not only had a great plot. Thus you are going to love the adventures that Falco goes on to.

With Falco around, nothing will go wrong. Furthermore, the author has managed to make it exceedingly hard for the reader to guess what is going to happen next. You will not only love the characters but also the author’s writing style. You will also find the romance, which was woven into the storyline quite interesting. All in all, Marcus Didius Falco remains one of the best-developed characters of this era. Apart from being a private investigator, Falco also works as an amateur poet. He has penned down several satires, epigrams, odes, and plays. Falco was presented with Procurator of the Sacred-Geese.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Marcus Didius Falco

One Response to “Marcus Didius Falco”

  1. Kelly Wilkinson: 6 months ago

    I started to read Lindsey Davis’ SUPERB Falco series quite serendipitously. I had seen a book on the website of an independent used book store in my small city. Thinking it was about something quite different I went along and bought it. I think I finished it in one day, and since then I have been buying every novel in this wonderful series. I haven’t enjoyed books like this in a very, very long time.


Leave a Reply