Book Notification

Margaret Frazer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Books

with Mary Monica Pulver
The Novice's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Servant's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outlaw's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bishop's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Murderer's Tale (With: Mary Monica Pulver) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prioress' Tale (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Maiden's Tale (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reeve's Tale (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire's Tale (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clerk's Tale (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bastard's Tale (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter's Tale (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Widow's Tale (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sempster's Tale (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Traitor's Tale (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apostate's Tale (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Note: The first six Sister Frevisse books were written with Mary Monica Pulver together under the "Margaret Frazer" pen name.

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Short Stories/Novellas

The Witch's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shakespeare's Mousetrap / That Same Pit (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone-Worker's Tale (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Heart (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Joliffe the Player Books

A Play of Isaac (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Dux Moraud (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Knaves (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Lords (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Treachery (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Piety (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Play of Heresy (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Bischop Pecock Tales Books

The Simple Logic of It (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heretical Murder (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowly Death (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Circle of Witches (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Neither Pity, Love, Nor Fear (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Gods, Strange Men (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Volo te Habere... (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
This World's Eternity (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Kings (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Caroline Canfield Mysteries Books

with Various, Joyce Christmas, G. Miki Hayden, Kate Charles, Dianne Day, Serita Stevens, Jacqueline Fiedler, Tom Kreitzberg
Tiger's Palette (By: Jacqueline Fiedler) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sketches with Wolves (By: Jacqueline Fiedler) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Historical Whodunits(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shakespearean Whodunnits(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Royal Whodunnits(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unholy Orders(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Margaret Frazer (November 26, 1946 – February 4, 2013) was an esteemed American author renowned for her novels set in medieval England. Born in Kewanee, Illinois, she later made her home in Elk River, Minnesota, where she continued her writing career.

Margaret Frazer, a pseudonym adopted by Gail Frazer (born Gail Lynn Brown) and Mary Monica Pulver Kuhfeld, emerged from a partnership forged in the Society for Creative Anachronism, a historical recreation group. Their collaboration began with “The Novice’s Tale,” marking the debut of a series under the Margaret Frazer name. After the sixth book, Gail continued to write using the pseudonym exclusively.

“The Novice’s Tale” introduced readers to Dame Frevisse, a nun entangled in mysteries and murders, offering a distinctive challenge and an immersive look into 15th-century England. Frazer’s meticulous descriptions and the intellectual depth of her protagonist garnered acclaim, with “The Outlaw’s Tale” particularly noted for its vivid depiction of medieval life, rich characterization, and intricate plot.

Frazer also created the Joliffe series, spotlighting a medieval actor with a spy’s wit, further enriching her exploration of the era. Beginning with “The Play of Isaac,” this series expanded her portrayal of 15th-century England through a new lens, maintaining her signature detail and narrative depth.

Frazer’s dedication to historical accuracy stemmed from a fascination with medieval England, sparked by her studies in archaeology and fueled by literature and Shakespearean drama. Her research spanned the period’s economy, society, politics, and culture, aiming to write from the perspective of those living at the time, which contributed to the authenticity and vibrancy of her work.

Describing herself as “an ordinary woman with four cats and not enough bookshelves,” Frazer’s personal life was as rich as her novels. Despite a divorce in 1991, she remained close to her two sons, Justin Alexander and Seth Gupton, who recall their childhood filled with medieval fairs and their mother’s passion for the era.

Her final novel, “Circle of Witches,” was published in 2012, a year before her death from breast cancer at the age of 66. Frazer’s career also included acting, with performances at notable theaters. She received multiple accolades, including Edgar Award nominations and the Herodotus Award for “Best Short Story Historical Mystery.”

Margaret Frazer’s legacy is not just in her vivid storytelling but in her unwavering dedication to bringing the intricacies of medieval England to life, leaving an indelible mark on historical fiction.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Margaret Frazer

One Response to “Margaret Frazer”

  1. Sarah Hurst: 3 years ago

    Was looking for the title of the book where Dame Frevisse becomes the Prioress of the cloister. These are amazing books. Thank you.


Leave a Reply