BookSeriesInorder.com







Marie Benedict Books In Order

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Other Einstein (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Carnegie's Maid (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Only Woman in the Room (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lady Clementine (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mystery Of Mrs. Christie (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Marie Benedict is a historical fiction author from Pittsburg best known for her series of interconnected historical fiction. She studied at Boston College where she graduated magna cum laude and then went to the Boston University School of Law. She then went on to acquire more than a decade of experience in the legal field, working for two of the United States’ premier law firms before she decided to become an author. Even as she was practicing as a lawyer, she always felt that her calling was to unearth the stories of women that had been lost in the historical narrative. For Benedict, her mission is to find the most fascinating, complex and important women in history and tell their stories. She hopes that by doing this, she can bring to light their insights and contributions to both history and how these may be applied in contemporary society. The debut novel of the series was “The Other Einstein” that was published in 2016 and tells the story of the first wife of Albert Einstein, who was also a physicist and might have played a huge role in the many theories and discoveries by the great scientist. She followed that up with “Carnegie’s Maid” a USA Today bestselling title published in 2018 that tells of how an Irish immigrant woman made Carnegie the industrialist into what he was. Marie has also written several historical novels such as “The Chrysalis,” “Brigid of Kildare” and “The Map Thief” under the pseudonym Heather Terrell.

Marie’s journey to publication was very circuitous as she started as a lawyer in the Big Apple. Before then, she had abandoned aspirations of becoming the world’s foremost archeologist. She believes her path to becoming an author began as a teen when she was gifted the novel “The Mists of Avalon” by one of her favorite aunts that was an English professor. It was this novel that opened her eyes to the contributions, voices, and stories of women from significant happenings and events of the past. The epiphany that she got while reading the novel is what she intends to share with the audience of her own works. In her novels, she sets out to unearth unknown but important women from history. She digs through the debris of history to find these women that she then reintroduces to the modern world, where their issues and contemporary contributions may be looked at anew. While she was most significantly influenced by Marion Zimmer Bradley’s “The Mists of Avalon;” she cites several other authors as also being influential in her writing. Some modern-day influences include the likes of the “Bone Clocks” by David Mitchell, “Euphoria” by Lily King and “The Hours” by Michael Cunningham. She also loves classical authors such as Agatha Christie, Jane Austen, Edith Wharton, and A.S. Byatt. She currently lives with her husband and children in Pittsburg.

Marie Benedict’s “The Other Einstein” is a story in the tradition of “Mrs. Poe” and “The Paris Wife.” Benedict offers a window into the life of the fascinating and bright woman whose brilliance was lost in the enormous shadow that was Albert Einstein. She was a brilliant physicist just like her husband and there is controversy as to whether she made any major contributions to the general theory of relativity. Some historians believe that Einstein was inspired by very personal and profound insights from his wife. Her name was Mitza Maric and she had never been anything like the girls of her time. Unlike the typical twenty-year-old that was expected to have been long married, she had decided to go to college at Zurich university and study physics alongside brainy male students. Mitza knew that her path lay in math and physics and not in marriage until Albert Einstein a fellow student became interested in her. They are soon partners in heart and mind, though marriage might not have enough room for more than one genius.

“Carnegie’s Maid” tells the story of Andrew Carnegie and his maid and confidante that may have played a crucial role in his rise to prominence. Andrew was one of the most prominent members of the richest families in the United States that has settled in Pittsburgh. Lady Carnegie needs a maid and the family sends for one across the seas. But the woman unfortunately dies on the Atlantic voyage though they never come to know of it. One of the women on board the ship who is going to the US to make money to help her family back home in Ireland learns of their plight and pretends to be Clara Kelly the maid they had sent for. While she never knew anything about being a maid to a rich lady, she quickly learns the ropes and is soon friends with many of the staff. Over time, she makes a name for herself as one of the best maids Mrs. Carnegie ever had. In time, her business acumen also shines through as she becomes Andrew Carnegie’s confidant of sorts. It is not long before tongues in the Carnegie household start wagging as they become really close. “Carnegie’s Maid” tells of the vicious rules of society, the love between two people who never expected to fall in love, and the relationship between the staff and the Carnegie family.

Marie Benedict’s “The Only Woman in the Room” is the remarkable story of an equally extraordinary woman. It is a made-up account of Hedy Lamarr, a screen siren that was better known for her beauty though she had made significant contributions to science. At the beginning of the novel, an aspiring actress in pre-World War II Austria has been forced to marry a disreputable arms dealer. As the trophy wife to one of the most powerful men in Austria, she was privy to many clandestine meetings and dinner parties between powerful members of the government. While most of her guests dismiss her as an airhead, what they do not realize is that she takes in more than they would have wanted to reveal. She finally decides to run away from her abusive marriage and leaves the country. Hedy goes to the US and lands in Los Angeles, where she makes her name as a famous actress though she is always guilty about the pain of the Austrian people during the Second World War. She believes that she could have done more to help them out before she fled to the United States. She uses the knowledge she had gathered when she was a trophy wife and makes a weapon, she hopes will help bring a quick end to the war.

—-

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marie Benedict