Book Notification

Marie Rutkoski Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kronos Chronicles Books

The Cabinet of Wonders (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Celestial Globe (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jewel of the Kalderash (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Winner's Trilogy Books

The Winner's Curse (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bridge of Snow (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winner's Crime (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winner's Kiss (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shadow Society Books

The Shadow Society (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jacks and Queens at the Green Mill (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Midnight Lie Books

The Midnight Lie / Fall Like Thieves (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hollow Heart (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fierce Reads: Kisses and Curses(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eternally Yours(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Born in 1977, Hinsdale, Illinois, United States of America, Marie Rutkoski is one of the bestselling authors of all times. Marie Rutkoski has written several novels for children as well as young adults. She was brought up in Bolingbrook, Illinois together with her three siblings. During her tender age, Marie Rutkoski showed great interest in books. After completing her education at the University of Iowa and staying in different places including Prague and Moscow, she decided to enroll at Harvard University and study Shakespeare. It was during this time that she honed her writing skills. In most of her works, she uses the third person style of writing while referring to herself. Currently, Marie Rutkoski is an English Literature Professor at Brooklyn College where she teaches children’s literature, renaissance drama as well as fictional writing among others. She owns a home in New York from where she can easily see birds of prey residing at the Washington Square Park. She is a wife and proud mother to two sons who are great friends with the family cat that keeps snubbing the in the middle of the night. The most interesting thing about Marie is that she can comfortably tie a double figure eight knot while closing her eyes. In addition, she learned how to play a violin at a young age and she loves crème brulee. During career, Marie has won several awards including

•University of Iowa Honors program collegiate (1999

•Frank Knox Memorial Fellowship (2005)

•American Booksellers Associations (2008)

•Dexter Travelling Fellowship (2003)

The Winners Curse (The Winners Trilogy)

At times, getting want you want is likely to cost you everything you adore. At the age of seventeen, Kestrel, the daughter of a general in one of the most powerful empires has two options: joining the army or finding someone to marry her. However, she seems to have other intentions. One fine day, she was startled to discover a kindred spirit in a middle aged slave who was about to be for auctioneered. Arin, as his name goes appears to defy everyone as well as everything around him. While following her instincts, Kestrel decides to buy him without thinking about the consequences of her actions. It does not take long for her to realize that she was beginning to fall in love with Arin. On the other hand, Arin also had a secret. Kestrel notices that she paid a higher price to have a human being that she could have thought under normal circumstances. With its setting in the modern world, The Winners Curse is an interesting story filled with deadly games as well as gamble as to whether one should keep his /her head or end up losing the heart.

The Winner’s Crime: The Winners Trilogy

Kestrel has decided to settle at the palace and after she gets married to the prince. Although her wedding has been scheduled to take place during the summer, the emperor has insisted that dignitaries should arrive during the winter season so that they can celebrate with several balls. One of the people expected to make this trip is Arin, the governor. Kestrel is aware of the rumors going around about their relationship but she seems to wait for the man eagerly. It was until Kestrel saw Arin at the corner of the palace before she understood that the emperor would do anything to have at the end of the day. She believes that one day she will take conquer and enslave her enemies to expand her territory only if her fear of the people of Herrani and great loyalty she had towards Arin would not force he to become a spy. It is looks impossible for the two to be together. The climactic scene has been laid out clearly with several clues throughout the story with Kestrel’s father watch and the secret room.

At some point, pieces of the story do not seem to fit properly and it takes time for readers to get the connection that exists between the water engineer and the dress. Nonetheless, it serves to say a lot about couples who are very unlucky. After witnessing the shocking turn of events in the last pages of her book, The Winners Curse, this story picks up very well from exactly where everything was left despite an independent Herran, Chaos, engagement and start of war. It is not easy to tell someone about what happens in book without spoiling its trilogy. The Winners Crime takes reader into the world of riches, politics and the court. There is a lot that was taking place between Arin and Kestrel. One of the things that will impress you is the turmoil felt by both Arin and Kestrel. However, things appeared one sided. The story did not focus on the situation at hand but instead, it was centered on the forbidden lovers. Although the allure of such kind of love in understood, the cup was overflowing. There was the introduction of many new characters and potential plot points when most of us would have wanted it to focus on things such as the Dacra, Kings Cruelty or even the crown prince. In summary, The Winners crime is a book filled with war, conquests, broken relationships, family issues power, friends, loyalty and forbidden love among other aspects. Despite the tragic love between Arin and Kestrel, the plotting, setting and choice of characters was on point.

In conclusion, there is no doubt the Marie Rutkoski’s books are worth reading. While her book The Winners Curse talks about the budding love between Arin and Kestrel amidst slavery, The Winner’s Crime revolves around international politics and war. According to Marie Rutkoski, she wrote The Winners Curse with the intention of portraying the effect asymmetrical power. She alleges that Arin and Kestrel are passionate, intelligent a as well as brave people but one of them is extremely positioned when it comes to power. Initially Kestrel owns Arin but where there is a rebellion, she ends up as his prisoner. The plot, style and setting of both books clearly show Marie’s writing skills.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marie Rutkoski

Leave a Reply