Book Notification

Marina J. Lostetter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Noumenon Books

Publication Order of The Five Penalties Books

The Helm of Midnight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cage of Dark Hours (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Activation Degradation (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Absolute Visions(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mirror Shards: Volume Two(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 29(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of Galaxy's Edge Magazine 2013-2014(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fantasy For Good: A Charitable Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spark: A Creative Anthology, Volume VIII(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Future Is Nigh(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of Galaxy’s Edge(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weird World War III(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marina J. Lostetter
The dense forests and open skies of the Pacific Northwest are ideal for growing speculative fiction writers. At least, that is what Marina J. Lostetter would like to believe. She’s originally from the state of Oregon.

When she’s not drawing or writing, she can be found reading speculative fiction, or playing it (Marina enjoys a good zombie-themed board game sometimes). And does all of this while globe trotting.

“Noumenon” is the first novel in the “Noumenon” series and was released in 2017. A powerful story about adventure, space travel, discovery, and humanity which unfolds through this series of generational vignettes.

In 2088, mankind is ready to finally explore beyond Earth’s solar system. However one uncertainty remains: where do we even go?

Reggie Straifer (an astrophysicist) has got an idea. He has discovered this anomalous star which seems to defy the laws of physics, and proposes the creation of this deep space mission in order to learn whether or not the star is this weird natural phenomenon, or something that was manufactured.

This journey is going to take eons, just to maintain the genetic talent of the original crew, mankind’s greatest ambition: to explore the furthest reaches of the galaxy, and is undertaken by clones. However a clone isn’t a perfect copy, and each new generation has got its own desires, quirks, and neuroses. While the centuries continue flying by, the society living onboard of the nine ships (designated Convoy Seven) evolves and changes, however their mission is still the same: to reach Reggie’s mysterious star and to explore its origins and its implications.

A mosaic novel about discovery, examines the dedication, growth, adventure, and the fear of having your whole world consist of nine ships out in the vacuum of space. The women and men, even the AI, have to learn to work and live with one another in harmony, while their own original DNA gets replaced continuously replicated and they continue to be born over and over again into a thousand new lives. With the stars their home and the unknown being their destination, they are on this voyage of many lifetimes, it’s an odyssey to comprehend what lies out beyond the limits of human imagination and knowledge.

“Noumenon Infinity” is the second novel in the “Noumenon” series and was released in 2018. Travel out the remotest reaches in deep space.

Generations ago, ICC and Convoy Seven left Earth on this mission which would take them out far beyond the solar system. Launched by the Planet United Consortium, this global group that was formed in order to pursue cooperative Earth wide interests in deep space, these nine ships headed out into the unknown in order to explore this distant star known as LQ Pyx.

Eons later, this convoy has returned to LQ Pyx in order to start working on the Web, this alien megastructure which covers the star. Could it be a Dyson Sphere, which was designed to power this civilization like everybody believes, or something so much more sinister?

At the same time, Planet United’s smallest convoy, which was long thought to be lost, reemerges in this completely different sector of deep space. What they find holds the answers to unlocking the Web’s greater purpose. Each of the convoys possesses a piece of the puzzle of the Web, however they might not be able to bring these pieces together and uncover the true nature of the structure before it is too late.

“The Helm of Midnight” is the first novel in the “Five Penalties” series and was released in 2021. In a deadly and daring heist, thieves have made off with this artifact of horrible power: Louis Charbon’s death mask. Made by some master craftsman, it’s imbued with the spirit of some monster from history, this serial killer that terrorized the city.

Now Charbon is loose yet again, murdering from beyond the grave. However these killings are much different from before, not just random but the work of quite the dangerous mind that probes for answers to this sinister question.

It’s up to Krona Hirvath and some of her fellow Regulators to enter the mind of madness to stop such an insatiable murderer as he faces the horrible truths left in his wake.

“The Cage of Dark Hours” is the second novel in the “Five Penalties” series and was released in 2023. A serial killer’s defeat pulled the mask off the magics and myths of this fantastical city.

Krona and her Regulators survived their encounter with Charbon, the long dead serial murderer that returned to their city, however the illusions of their world got shattered forever.

Allied with this old friend they’ll battle against the elite that have ruled their world with cold steel, deception, and tight control of the magic which could threaten their power, as they also confront beasts from beyond that foggy barrier which binds their world.

Now they have to follow each thread to learn the truth behind Thalo, once believed to be just a children’s story, but are the creeping and quiet puppet masters of their world.

“Activation Degradation” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2021. Exploring artificial intelligence through the lens of Unit Four (a conflicted robot hero).

Unit Four, this biological soft robot stored and built high above the Jovian atmosphere, gets activated for the very first time, it is in crisis mode. Aliens are attacking the Helium-3 mine that it was created to oversee, and now its only purpose is to defend Earth’s biggest energy resource from the invaders in ship-to-ship combat. Something is wrong, because Unit Four does not feel quite right.

There are these files in its databanks that it cannot account for, some unusual chemical combinations roaring through its pipes, and the primers that it possesses on the aliens are suspiciously sparse. This robot is under orders to seek and destroy. That is all that it knows. But according to its handler, that is all that it needs to know.

Determined to fulfill its directives, Unit Four launches its ship and heads off on the attack, however it has no clue that it is about to get caught in this downward spiral of reprogramming, misinformation, and interstellar conflict. Most robots are simple tools, but Unit Four is well on the way to becoming something so much more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marina J. Lostetter

Leave a Reply