Book Notification

Marissa Stapley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mating for Life (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Things to Do When It's Raining (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Resort (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lucky (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Holidays and a Wedding (With: Uzma Jalaluddin) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lightning Bottles (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Legacy: An Anthology(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marissa Stapley is a Canadian published author of fiction and journalist. She also writes romantic comedy stories under the pen name Maggie Knox.

Her 2019 novel “The Last Resort” has been optioned to be adapted into a television show. Stapley’s 2021 novel “Lucky” was optioned by ABC Disney Studios for television as well.

Born in Toronto, Canada, Marissa Stapley arrived in 2014 with the publication of her debut novel, Mating for Life. She would follow that up with the 2018 novel Things to Do When It’s Raining. The author enjoys writing fictional stories that are emotional and the types of stories that are just calling for the reader to find out what happens next. She also loves to write about friends, family, and the lives that her characters (mainly the women) lead.

She is now a best-selling author. As a journalist, her work has been featured in various newspapers and magazines in North America. She has taught creative writing as well as editing in positions as Centennial College and the University of Toronto. She continues to teach and mentor a few students in writing yearly. The author resides in Toronto.

Marissa Stapley is the author of Mating for Life. The debut novel is the perfect blend of humor and realism as it delves into topics such as identity, being a mother, getting married, and what loving someone for life can require.

The main character in this story is Helen Sear. She used to be a folk singer and never embraced the concept of monogamy as something she wanted to pursue. She had three daughters, and each was from a different biological father. She raised them mostly by herself, and it was a rewarding life.

Now some time has passed and Helen over 60. She’s also still dating and has fallen for a man who is just about as traditional as it gets. When it comes to personalities, the two of them could not be more opposite. Helen was always a uniquely free spirit, but the man that she is in love with is just as old-fashioned as she is independent.

When Helen understands that he wants nothing more than for the two of them to get married, she doesn’t know what to do. She really cares about this guy and thinks that she might end up losing him for good if she refuses to marry him. At the same time, she’s been against monogamy and marriage for a long time. What would it mean if she just changed her mind about all of that?

Liane is Helen’s youngest child and now she’s grown up and is in a relationship. It’s in the early stages with the man that she thinks could be her soulmate. The only catch is that the guy has a former spouse and two children from that marriage, and she’s suddenly forced to consider that she might not be just a girlfriend or a soulmate but a potential stepmother as well. It’s a lot to take in, and no one’s there to tell her how it should be navigated.

Meanwhile Ilsa is an artist that has moved on from her bohemian lifestyle. She’s gotten married, but who knows if this second union will last? She’s feeling like the world is getting ever smaller for her, and her art is not doing so well. Ilsa thinks that maybe if she can just find some independence, she might make some progress. But with kids so young, can she even entertain the possibility or will she be stuck where she is?

The oldest of the sisters is Fiona. She is always doing whatever it takes to try and make her life as comfortable and perfect to be in as possible. But somehow, no matter what she does, she never feels completely settled or peaceful. Then she finds out that her spouse has been keeping something huge from her, and all of the small sense of joy that she was holding onto suddenly flies out the window. Can Fiona face up to some difficult facts about herself, or will she run from the truth to keep it all from coming out?

The story of a mother and her three daughters and their adult lives, pick up this debut novel from Marissa Stapley to find out how this story ends and what happens with these three dynamic women!

Things to Do When It’s Raining is the engaging second novel to come out from Canadian writer Marissa Stapley. If you love works by this author or have a desire to read interesting new fiction, check this book out!

Two families may experience being torn asunder by secrets from the past and difficult feelings revolving around heartbreak. But could it be possible that all it takes to set things right is the truth?

The main characters in this story are Mae Summers and her friend Gabriel Broadbent. The two spent their childhood growing up in the Summers’ Inn, the perfect place to be young. It’s at the St. Lawrence river’s edge and is a fond memory and place for the pair.

Mae was just 6 years old when she was orphaned. Gabe was contending with his father back then, who was a mean alcoholic. Lilly and George were Mae’s biological grandparents and took the two in and raised them. The kids quickly became close friends. The last thing that they ever predicted was that the two of them would end up being the other’s first love.

But that first passion was broken up when Gabe had to leave suddenly. They were young still, but Mae ended up becoming more mature and did not allow her broken heart to define her. She moved to New York City and made her own life there. But it’s been over ten years, and the two might just run into each other when they’re called to return to Alexandria Bay.

Once she’s back, Mae finds her grandparents aren’t doing so well. Gabe discovers that he might still have feelings for Mae. Can both find their own version of happily ever after– and will it be together? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marissa Stapley

Leave a Reply