Book Notification

Marjorie Holmes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Life of Jesus Books

Two from Galillee (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three from Galilee (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Messiah (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sunday Morning (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cherry Blossom Princess (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saturday Night (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Religious Books

I've Got to Talk to Somebody, God (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody Else Will Listen (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Tall As My Heart (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
How Can I Find You, God? (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold Me Up a Little Longer Lord (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
God and Vitamins (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Help You Through the Hurting (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gifts Freely Given (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Wife, Second Life! (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still by Your Side (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Am I, God? (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

At Christmas the Heart Goes Home (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspirational Writings of Marjorie Holmes (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord, Let Me Love (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

To Treasure Our Days (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love and Laughter (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
You and I and Yesterday (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing The Creative Article (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing Articles From The Heart (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Wife, Second Life! (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marjorie Holmes is an inspirational and Christian historical fiction author best known for the Life of Jesus series of novels. As a staunch Christian, she used her faith and talent for storytelling to write retellings of biblical stories that many people have found relatable.

She began writing when she was but a kid, as she enjoyed sharing her poems and fairy tales with her teachers and family. After she graduated from Buena Vista College, she went on to attend Cornell in Ithaca for her Art and English bachelor of arts degree.

For a time, she worked as a secretary in Iowa City, which is where she met and married Lynn Mighell, an Iowa engineering student. With the country deep in the Great Recession, the couple moved to Texas to try cabbage failing but it did not work.

It was at this time that Marjorie began writing short stories for Sunday School and Love story magazines and before long, graduated to more serious publication. Her first ever novel was the 1943 published “World by the Tail,” which went on to become a bestseller.

On Christmas Eve of 1963, Marjorie Holmes was attending Midnight Mass when she found inspiration in the manger scene laid out in front of her.
It struck her as the greatest story ever told and it was from this that she wrote “Two From Galilee,” which was one of the most popular novels of 1972. Making the Holy Family as realistic as it could be, the novel would be the foundation for her bestselling series.

She has asserted that much of the success of her work comes from fans who read her essays, and novels and share them with their friends. Over the years, her books on conversational prayers and essays have sold more than five million copies.

Apart from sales, she has also won several awards over the years including the Woman of Achievement Award by the National Federation of Press Women.
She believes that it is critical to believe in oneself no matter what circumstance you find yourself in. Having come so far in her writing journey she still thanks God for helping her live the dream life of sharing inspirational stories.

After many years of marriage, Marjorie’s husband succumbed to cancer in 1979. She was lucky that her writings were doing so well that she could sustain herself. Still, she always stood on her balcony and asked God to send her a wonderful man.

300 miles away was her answer in the form of George Schmieler, a 71 year old that had lost his wife. He had been going through his late wife’s thing when he found Marjorie’s Holmes’ novel “I’ve Got to Talk to Somebody.” The book gave him so much comfort that he reached out to her.

Even though Marjorie was used to readers reaching out, she never once met any of them. Nonetheless, she agreed to meet Schmieler and by the time he drove her home he had proposed. She declined his offer but he persevered and a month later armed with a surprise vacation and roses, she finally agreed to marry him.
It was from the story of the union that she wrote “Second Wife Second Life.”

In addition to her writing, she taught adult writing classes in Washington, traveled and lectured widely and made appearances on several nationally syndicated shows. Marjorie died in 2002 aged 1991.

Marjorie Holmes’ novel “Two from Galilee” is a retelling of the story of Joseph and Mary who are natives of the small Galilean town of Nazareth. Published in the 70s, this work tells of a family that has to deal with unplanned pregnancies and dreams of brighter futures for their children.

It is an unusual pregnancy for the young couple and Holmes draws a well imagined story of daith and mystery. It is the story of two people chosen for the great work of provisioning an Earthly home for God’s son.

What makes it incredible is that they are a young carpenter and a teenage girl who have to deal with a hostile world. family conflict while all alone and frightened.

It is a thoroughly enjoyable read that combines a well told historical romance as you can imagine how Joseph and Mary felt when they were handed an incredibly awesome opportunity of parenting the savior of the world.

Three from Galilee by Marjorie Holmes is a story that tells of the unrecorded childhood that Jesus had. The author includes the multifaceted aspects of what it means to be an adolescent as Jesus.

It provides an intriguing look into the missing years of Jesus’ life, as she interprets what could have happened in Christ’s early years. At the beginning of the novel, Holmes depicts Jesus as a toddler and then moves along to showcase him as a preteenager.

In the second half of the work, he is portrayed as a youth growing up with Jubal, his dog, a loving family and many siblings. Just like many other young people, he has to deal with many trials in society as the author portrays him as just a regular person.

He experienced emotional and physical pain just as any other human being and the only difference is that he consciously decided that he would not sin and he was the son of God. Reading the novel, it is easy to grow with Jesus and the many other characters in his life.

Marjorie Holmes’ novel “The Messiah” is a retelling of the life of Jesus Christ at the beginning of his public ministry up to the time when he was crucified. It is a fictional and very modern telling of the story that looks into several events from the perspective of Jesus as he embarked on his ministry and prepared for his death.

Aside from Jesus, there are perspectives of the different happenings including Gethsemane and the cross from different characters such as John and Peter. The author also injects modern technologies and aspects of our modern life such as social media posting by Jesu and his disciples.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marjorie Holmes

Leave a Reply