Book Notification

Mark A. Hewitt Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Duncan Hunter Books

Publication Order of Picture Books

Mark A. Hewitt
Mark A. Hewitt is a retired aviation executive, military pilot, and college professor. The ideas for his novels spring from his life experiences, his extensive international travel, and this admiration for the unique “quiet” spyplanes from the Vietnam War.

Mark has a master’s degree in National Security and Strategic Studies from the Naval War College and an MBA from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

“Special Access” is the first novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series and was released in 2013. He swore he’d always be faithful. Is joining a top-secret CIA program going to force him to pick between betraying a friend stay a patriot?

Duncan Hunter’s driven by his own sense of duty. So when this plane crash forces this ambitious pilot out of the Marine Corps, he searches hungrily for some other way to fight terrorism. And he finds it in this intelligence officer’s invite to come on board this clandestine project scouting and then destroying these Mexican poppy fields in the War on Drugs.

Hunter, who is forced into hiding after his cover gets blown, forges some strategic new friendships as he dodges assassination attempts. However while the aftershocks from the hunt for bin Laden bring even more intricate conspiracies to light, this scarred fighter comes under fire from double dealing politicians as well as jihadist snipers.

Can this embattled agent expose this deadly inner rot before he is permanently shot down? This is the darkly unsettling first novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series of political thrillers. For readers that like tough-as-nail heroes, stories of real world corruption, and high octane adventures, then you will love this suspense laden story.

“Shoot Down” is the second novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series and was released in 2014. A jumbo jet explodes just after takeoff right over the waters of Long Island. Witnesses are claiming that this aircraft got shot down by a surface-to-air missile; while the government is insisting that it was mechanical malfunction brought the plane down. This old CIA file is uncovered which is detailing the President had been warned to preclude commercial airliners from getting shot out of the sky either pay this ransom or suffer the consequences.

Right as the agency identifies the shadowy man that is responsible for the shoot down of this airliner, the Libyan dictator Gaddafi gets overthrown. This sparks this race between the CIA and some terrorist networks to win the ultimate terrorist prize: hundreds of man-portable, shoulder-launched, anti-aircraft missiles.

Duncan Hunter and his top-secret airplane are teaming up again with this expert crew to locate these anti-aircraft missiles just ahead of the Muslim Brotherhood and al-Qaeda and kill the guy that shoots down airliners for profit.

“No Need to Know” is the third novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series and was released in 2015. This major security breach finds the CIA’s closest secrets getting divulged and dozens of their highly placed spies getting exposed and then killed. While the Agency is investigating the source of these disclosures, one old Office of Strategic Services file and the ex-Director of Central Intelligence become the focal point of their research.

The race is on to find the secrets in the file. If al-Qaeda is able to win, then they can acquire the “suitcase” thermonuclear devices to attack America with. If the CIA can get there first, they will be able to make a deal with some Russian billionaire and trade the missing treasure for the weapons that al-Qaeda are craving.

The political awakening of Duncan Hunter continues while he battles radical fundamentalists clear across the globe; he thwarts the best plans of terrorists and he eliminates their leaders too. He survived their recent efforts to kill him when he is cornered, captured, and dragged to an al-Qaeda lair finally. Inside lurks a certain doom at the hand of his most bitter of foes.

“Blown Cover” is the fourth novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series and was released in 2017. A stolen CIA file gets released to the public, America discovers that their President is not the guy he claims to be.

Three years after getting chased out of office, the ex-president learns the identity of the man that released his secret file. This ex-President starts exacting revenge as he plots his return to power. One fatwa makes Duncan Hunter the most wanted man in all of America. Then this airliner vanishes just over the Pacific Ocean.

The new President gives the CIA a couple of time sensitive missions: find and eliminate his traitorous predecessor, and stop this self-radicalized computer scientist before some other airliner vanishes too.

Duncan’s in the race of his life to stop this jumbo jet from crashing. The CIA believes that they’ve located the ex-president finally. All roads are leading to Dubai where this showdown between evil and good starts on the top floor of the world’s tallest of buildings.

“Blown Cover” is the PenCraft Award Winner for “Thriller of the Year”.

“Wet Work” is the fifth novel in the “Duncan Hunter” series and was released in 2020. Law enforcement agencies have decided to ignore rather than investigate the dozens of political figures and defectors that have died under mysterious circumstances. This Democratic National Committee staff member gets murdered before the presidential election, Washington, DC police is also just as uninterested in investigating such a crime.

The President is well behind in these polls. Some pretty powerful people are going to want assurances that the President is never going to take the oath of office should he unexpectedly win.

Election day comes, and the Central Intelligence Agency Director uncovers some treachery at the highest of levels in his organization. This rogue group of senior intelligence officers could have exposed themselves for who they really are before vanishing with this secret experimental weapon. All of the mounting evidence is suggesting that the President could be in peril however the Secret Service is uninterested in conspiracy theories or any implausible weapons with impossible capabilities.

Is CIA pilot Duncan Hunter going to be able to save the President from this group of assassins?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark A. Hewitt

Leave a Reply