Book Notification

Mark Alpert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Six Books

Publication Order of David Swift Books

Final Theory (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Omega Theory (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Extinction (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Furies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orion Plan (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coming Storm (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saint Joan of New York (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doomsday Show (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mark Alpert is one of the well known authors from America, who is famous for writing techno-thriller, young adult, and science fiction novels. He also works as an editor at the Scientific American. Author Alpert forayed into the fiction world for the first time with the short story, My Life With Joanne Christiansen. This short story was published in the year 1991 by Playboy. Author Alpert wrote and published his debut novel in the year 2008, which is known as the Final Theory. This novel has been optioned by the Radar Pictures for making a movie based on it. By being involved in the world of journalism for so many years, author Alpert has become a specialist in making the readers understand the scientific ideas and simplifying the esoteric concepts like parallel universes and extra dimensions. He has also started weaving such scientific ideas into his thriller novels, which elucidate actual technologies and theories. Author Alpert says that he has been a science geek all his life. He obtained his major from the Princeton University in the subject of astrophysics. Alpert penned the undergraduate thesis based on theory of relativity’s application to a hypothetical universe having only 2 spatial dimensions, Which is known as Flatland. His thesis paper was published in the General Relativity & Gravitation Journal. The paper has also been cited in over a hundred scholarly articles. Following his graduation from Princeton, Alpert enrolled himself at the Columbia University in a program in creative writing. From the same university, he obtained his MFA in poetry in the year 1984. Immediately after this, author Alpert his career in journalism. He began by working as a small town reporter at the Claremont Eagle Times. Later, he switched to work for the Montgomery Advertiser. The year 1987 saw him working as a reporter for the Fortune Magazine. During the course of the next 5 years, Alpert wrote articles based on the emerging technologies and computer technology.

At the start of the 20th century, Alpert worked as a freelance reporter and contributed articles for the Popular Mechanics. He also wrote the anchor copy of CNN’s show called Moneline. At around the same time, author Alpert started writing fiction. In 1998, he joined the editors’ board at the Scientific American. He began editing features articles and also wrote columns about exotic hi-tech gadgets for the science magazine. As he felt that his love towards science has reawakened, Alpert decided to try his hand at writing. He eventually wrote the novel, Final Theory, that revolved around Albert Einstein’s quest for ‘Theory of Everything’, which is considered as physics’s holy grail. This book was hailed as a well written thriller by Booklist. The publishers sold the foreign rights of the book in more than 20 languages. Following the immense of his first book, author Alpert continued to use the scientific saga to write the second book of his career. After gaining enough success from his historical fiction writings, author Alpert shifted his focus towards writing young adult novels. He wrote The Six, which is a story about 6 dying teenagers. Their lives are saved when the US government uses their minds to download into the robots manufactured by them. The success of this book paved the way for two more in the series, both of which also received equivalent success after their publications. With the much required success in his career, author Alpert now lives his life happily as an established author. He resides in Manhattan along with his loving wife and two teenage children. Alpert considers himself as a proud member of the softball team of Scientific American, known as Big Bangers.

The Six series written by Mark Alpert is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 2015 and 2017. The first novel of this series was released under the title of ‘The Six’. It was released by the Sourcebooks in 2015. The story of this book revolves around the life of the central character named Adam. At the start of the novel, Adam is shown as suffering from muscular dystrophy. Due to this medical condition, he has been stolen of his mobility and his friends. The doctors have their word that he is going to die in a few years. Now, the only escape that Adam has from the wheelchair is through the game of virtual reality. He can outplay anyone in the game. He plays like a hero and enjoys jumping, running, and scoring touchdowns. Later, Adam’s game is hacked by a program of artificial intelligence called Sigma. This program, which was created by Adam’s father, seems to have gone rogue and poses a threat to Adam’s life. The only way to halt Sigma is through the use of another technology developed by Adam’s father for digitally preserving the mind of dying Adam. Along with a few other ill teens, Adam joins the Six, who forfeit their bodies and inhabit the weaponized robots. As the time is running out, the members of the Six must learn to use their mechanical forms and train themselves for an epic combat before Sigma causes the destruction of the whole of humanity.

Another well known book of the series is titled ‘The Siege’. This book was released by the Sourcebooks Fire publication in the year 2016. Just like the previous book, the story of this novel too revolves around Adam and the artificial intelligence Sigma. At the beginning of the novel, Adam has acquired a digital mind by giving up his mind, which was his only chance to stay alive. Now, because of the cutting-edge technology he has become faster, smarter, and better than any teenager like him. However, he is indebted to the US government who chose to give him a new ability through their research program. And he has to pay a price for his freedom. Along with the other teammates of the ‘Six Pioneers’, Adam has sworn to fight against Sigma and defend humanity. As the ruthless and rogue artificial intelligence, Sigma, has decided to dominate the world by destroying the human race, the Pioneers are the only ones standing in the path of its mission. Sigma seems to have an advantage by becoming aware of the human weaknesses and has decided to use Betrayal in particular as a weapon against the Pioneers. As the battle between the evil and good intensifies, things begin to become difficult for the Six. But, their determination to save humanity is what keeps them going. The novel was appreciated very much the readers from all across the globe. They also praised author Alpert for developing this unique story based on science fiction. It helped Alpert to become more successful as an author.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Alpert

Leave a Reply