Book Notification

Mark Gimenez Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scott Fenney Books

Publication Order of John Bookman Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Abduction / Saving Grace (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perk (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Common Lawyer (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Governor's Wife (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case Against William (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

Mark Gimenez is an author who is also a lawyer and writes thrillers that involve the law. His debut novel, “The Color of Law” made New York Times bestseller list. Mark also runs his own law practice.

He was born in La Marque, Texas and would go to college at Southwest Texas State University and got a B.A. in Political Science with honors. Later on, he would study law at Notre Dame and after graduating, got a J.D. degree also with honors in the early eighties.

After working for ten years at a large law firm where he became a partner, that was located in Dallas, he left that firm to practice law solo and also to write fictional stories. He lives with his two sons and wife in Fort Worth, Texas.

Gimenez has written the “Scott Fenney” series and other stand alone novels; he is also the author of a children’s novel. His novels have been translated into fifteen languages, and get critical acclaim all over the world. They also find themselves on international bestseller lists in many different countries.

“The Color of Law” is the first book in the “Scott Fenney” series and was released in 2006. Scott Fenney is a wealthy lawyer, who is smug, and will do whatever it takes to win a case for his clients, who bring his firm lots of business and a lot of money. He has a wife (a social climber) and spoiled daughter (who calls her dad A. Scott, not dad or father or daddy), and a client that Scott is constantly defending in harassment suits. A partner at a large law firm must choose between keeping the lifestyle that he fought to have and doing the right thing. A. Scott Fenney, a former college football star, must make that decision for himself. Clark McCall, son of a Texas politician, has just been murdered after drinking, doing drugs, and having a lot of sex; Fenney has been assigned to defend the woman who is the prime suspect in the case. She is a heroin addict hooker named Shawanda Jones. The powers that run things want her convicted, and Scott’s future hangs on this case going just so. He also believes Shawanda when she tells him that she is innocent of murder. He sets out to find out the truth of what happened to the politician’s son, and realizes that the law is about truth and justice, not just money like he has been told by someone else at his firm.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the novel and found themselves hoping to read more of Gimenez’s work in the future. They also liked the way that Gimenez writes about something he knows about the most, the law. They enjoyed the way that the story got them engrossed in finding out what happens next and they could not put the book down until they had finished it. Fans loved the way Gimenez wrote about fully fleshed out characters who had interesting parts to them and found that by the end of the novel, they liked Scott and found him to be more human and likable. They also like that a high priced lawyer would go out of his way to help someone in need, even if that might not be a popular thing to do.

Some readers did not like the way the story is too slow, weak characters, and the way things seem to be repetitive in the details department. Some did not think that this book, though billed as a thriller, was all that thrilling; they found the novel to be just a bland piece of work that offered little interesting parts to it.

“Accused” is the second book in the “Scott Fenney” series and was released in 2011. Scott’s ex-wife, Rebecca, left him and their daughter for a younger man, for which Scott blames himself. She claimed the other man could give her what Scott no longer could. Now, she wants him to defend her and get her out of a murder charge. Rebecca is accused of murdering the man that she left Scott for, Trey Rawilins, who is a rising pro golf star. Trey was found dead in his house, a beach house that is worth four million dollars, in Galveston, with a butcher knife in his chest. Rebecca’s prints are found on the knife, and the police are not tracking down other leads in the case, so Scott must do that. Through investigating, he goes to Galveston, where he sees an image conscious and sponsored by corporations pro golf tour; a world that has agents, groupies, million dollar purses, caddies, WAGs (wives and girlfriends), and endorsements. He finds that Trey was involved in something that cost him his life and now threatens Scott’s.

Fans of the novel liked the easy writing style that kept them turning pages to find out who the killer is in this book. They also enjoyed the social commentary that has funny insight, plausible characters, and ingenious plotting in the book. They also like the way Gimenez writes about Galveston after Hurricane Ike, finding that the town itself is a character, but it does not get in the way of the story. Fans liked the compelling mystery that this novel has in it. They liked the way the author was able to move the story forward and keeps things going without things getting stagnate.

Some readers did not like the way that it was not as good as the first book in the series. Some even found that the novel featured far too many slutty women who were over sexed and had large breasts looking to break out of too small shirts. Some readers found that Mark’s writing presented a sexist account of what the legal profession has to offer when it comes to female lawyers. Some also found that the novel had poor execution of a decent premise.

His novel “The Perk” won a spot in “Books to Die For”, a book that collects the best mystery novels and was compiled by Declan Burke and John Connolly.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Gimenez

8 Responses to “Mark Gimenez”

  1. Mairead: 11 months ago

    Educational as well as a great read. Fabulous! The colour of law was my first of his books.

  2. Mairead: 11 months ago

    Educational as well as a great read. Fabulous!

  3. Robert Jackson: 1 year ago

    It has been three years since his last book. I really do like his writing and I have referred to the premise of the book, Tribes, many times. Tell him to get back to writing.

  4. Susan Parker: 1 year ago

    I just finished reading Abduction, great book!
    I loved this book, sometimes books don’t always keep my attention, this one did, will be reading more of this author!

  5. Roland Cardenas: 2 years ago

    I have read Abduction 3 times and Color of Law like 5 times. I am reading the Accused right now. I bought The Perk and that’ll be my next read. Thanks, Mark! Just curious if there will be any books on Audible? There are only two on Audible right now but they are two that I’ve already read. Keep up the great work!

  6. Diane Stanton: 2 years ago

    I like all of Mark Gimenez’s books. The ridiculous negative comments truly have no merit.I never found a weak character. Instead, I praise how human and vital each character’s flaws and talents lead us to recognize a bit of ourselves in their being or at least admire their usefulness in the story. Mark’s brilliant and clever law knowledge keeps me turning pages. His humor is always welcomed because of it subtle but vital reqirement in the story. Keep doing what you are doing, MG. I’ll keep looking forward to the next book. Best to you and yours. -DMS

  7. Janette: 3 years ago

    Has he written any since 2011?

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Yes. There are multiple books written after 2011 listed above.


Leave a Reply