Book Notification

Mark Lawrence Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Broken Empire Books

Prince of Thorns (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
King of Thorns (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleeping Beauty (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor of Thorns (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Red Queen's War Books

Prince of Fools (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Liar’s Key (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wheel of Osheim (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New World (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Book Of The Ancestor Books

Publication Order of Impossible Times Books

Publication Order of Book Of The Ice Books

The Girl and the Stars (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl and the Mountain (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl and the Moon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Library Trilogy Books

The Book That Wouldn't Burn (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book That Broke the World (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

During the Dance (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Road Brothers, Tales from the Broken Empire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Visitor Books

The Visitor: Kill or Cure (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Visitor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fading Light(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered II: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art of War(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knee-Deep in Grit: Two Bloody Years of Grimdark Fiction(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

A man born on 1st January 1968, Mark Lawrence is known as a novelist who has dual nationality. The forty-seven years old author has both American and British citizenship and gets best recognized for the famous book The Broken Empire trilogy of books. Mark Lawrence has won a few awards and in 2014, his novel Emperor of Thorns won the David Gemmell Legend Awards in the best novel category. Mark Lawrence is already married and has been blessed with four children, and one of his children is severely disabled. His main job is being a research scientist and focuses on various but rather intractable problems in his field of artificial intelligence. Mark Lawrence has held secret level clearance with the US and UK governments. Although he was born in the United States, his parents moved to the United Kingdom while he was still young. His main occupation is being a writer, novelist and research scientist. Most of his works are in the genre of fantasy. Other things that you need to know about this author is that he spends most of his free time in writing, playing computer games, brewing beer and tending an allotment.

His first book was Prince of Thorns published by Ace/ Voyager in the year 2011, August. The book was a finalist for the Best Fantasy 2011 in the Goodreads Choice Award, and it has also been in many other competitions. The book Prince of Thorns present a privileged royal child who got raised by a very loving mother. The privileged boy by the name Jorg Ancrath then grows to become the Prince of Thorns and very charming. That is not enough as the boy is also immoral and leads a grim band of some outlaws in a series of raids and atrocities. The group can be said to be a real thorn in the lives of the people. The outlawed group makes the world be in chaos as violence is rife and everywhere is all about nightmares. Our young Jorg has the skills and abilities to master both the living and those dead although there is something that he is yet to conquer and have some peace. The one thing that puts some chill Jorg is the returning of his father’s castle. Jorg has to confront some horrors from his childhood memories and prepare himself for a future that seems to have turned against him. All this brutality got fueled from an early age of nine years when he watched his mother together with his brother got killed. Jorg knew from then that the world was meant to be a brutal place. At the age of thirteen years, he had already formed his gang of bloodthirsty thugs, and when he becomes fifteen, Jorg wants to be the king.

The first novel by Mark Lawrence tries to portray to us a picture of tales of blood, anarchy and treachery. The use of magic as well as the brotherhood to fight for what you need in life. The book paints a compelling as well as brutal and other times a beautiful picture of an extraordinary boy who uses whatever he can on his journey towards manhood and the throne. The thorns truly taught Jorg a lesson in blood; from the loving person he was when he had a brother to a brutal, ruthless man. He has his gang of outlaws he calls brothers who are quick with the knife and sword, and they do evil as they please. The book is not for the faint-hearted and the weak but those who can withstand the brutality given in almost all scenes. However, it is a book that will keep you turning from one page to another.

Mark Lawrence’s second book is King of Thorns that was published in August 2012 by Ace/ Voyager and was also in several nominations for awards. The awards included being a finalist for the Goodreads Choice Award in 2012 for Best Fantasy among others. In his continued Broken Empire series, we have Mark Lawrence taking his young Jorg, who is an anti-hero closer to his grand ambition. Now with his ruthless gang, Jorg will stop at nothing to get what he believes is his the throne of his father. However, so as to get to this greatness, he has to step on bodies of his fellow brothers and countrymen. The young Jorg doesn’t seem to care whether the cost of getting the throne might drown the world in blood. Since the age of nine, Prince Jorg had vowed to avenge the slaughtering of his mother and brother and also punish his father who didn’t avenge their deaths. He starts his plans at the age of fifteen and at eighteen Jorg must fight back for what he has taken using torture and treachery. Jorg now as a king gets haunted by the great pain of his past and the ghosts of the atrocities he has already committed. However, as he burns and gets consumed by the need to revenge, there is an overwhelming enemy force that is marching on his castle. Since Jorg knows he can’t win the fight fairly, he finds solace in the long-hidden cache of some ancient artifacts that some people refer to as magic. Although he is uncertain about them, he is sure that the secret behind them can be of real use to him in the inevitable battle.

Jorg is ready to do anything so as to win the battle and to play fairly is not an option. The land hence burns with fire as lords and kings fight for the Broken Empire. What drives Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath in his brutal battle is all about the revenge for his killed mother and brother. He’ll stop at nothing until he has avenged for their death. He has already learnt how to play the game and won’t stop at nothing. As the army marches towards Jorg’s castle, every person prays and wishes that Jorg will use this chance to unite the empire and help it heal its wounds. However, that could have happened if we had the kind Jorg; ours is different, and all that is in his blood is revenge.

So, are you looking for something great to read and understand how the desire for revenge can turn a man into a monster, you need to lay your hands on this book by Mark Lawrence.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Lawrence

One Response to “Mark Lawrence”

  1. Nate T: 6 years ago

    Can you give us an update about the next Nona book?


Leave a Reply