Book Notification

Mark Nolan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jake Wolfe Books

Dead Lawyers Don't Lie (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vigilante Assassin (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Lawyer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
San Diego Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Weapon (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Key West Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl Who Escaped (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mark Nolan is a thriller author best known as the author of the “Jack Wolfe” series of novels. He began his career as an entrepreneur writing news stories for business that would get them featured on the likes of Associated Press, The Wall Street Journal, Reader’s Digest, National Geographic, and Parade among other sources. The author was born and brought up in the Bay Area in San Francisco, which is the setting for “Dead Lawyers Don’t Lie,” his debut novel. After spending his childhood in California, he went on to live in Hawaii and the Pacific NorthWest. Nolan has said that he likes living anywhere close to the ocean and has enjoyed scuba diving, fishing, boating and exploring in Hawaii, Florida, California and Mexico. His debut novel that he published in 2016 became a Kindle Unlimited All Star and Amazon Kindle Store bestselling title.

Mark Nolan’s love for storytelling began when he was still a child. He was one of those children that would hide under the covers at night and read with a flashlight till midnight. He still remembers that time he was caught reading “The Hobbit” inside his math textbook at school and was punished by having to do extra math assignments that week. While Mark Nolan was in the sixth grade, he began writing when his teacher instructed the class to write a fictional story as an assignment. The teacher liked his story so much that she read it out in front of the entire class. Most of his classmates also loved the story and afterwards, the teacher told her that she would one day grow up and become a novelist. Her eighth grade also gave her similar encouragement though he would get bsy as an adult raising two children and running a business that he never found the time to write. Once he published his debut and it became a bestseller, he did everything to find the time to write his series.

As for the inspiration for his stories, Mark Nolan has said that he does not have an idea where he gets them from. While he does read a lot, he does not get any ideas from his favorite authors and thinks his inspiration is something akin to magical science. Nonetheless, he believes that he is a highly observant observer of situations, people and life which is why he can write his thriller suspense novels. His mind is something of a storehouse of ideas that he has watched or read about that he finds interesting. Since he is a naturally curious person, he always starts asking what if this happened and then explores the different possibilities. Mark Nolan will usually write brief notes on a 4 by six card and then put the scenes/cards in order prior to starting to write the chapters. This worked on his first novel and is the format he has used to publish all his subsequent novels in the “Jack Wolfe” series.

In Mark Nolan’s “Dead Lawyers Don’t Lie” some killer has been going around killing rich lawyers in the city. He calls himself “The Artist” and thinks he is invincible until Jack Wolfe a war veteran takes his picture by acident while he was committing a murder. Fearful that Jake could expose him, he is added onto the kill list and what happens next is a dangerous game of cat and mouse in which only one man will get out. Jake had only wanted to leave his violent secret life in the past but given his moral compass, he cannot ignore his duty to society. The plot includes two wisecracking Homicide Inspectors from the San Francisco Police, several strong willed women, a smart dog, and the Artist killer who shares an admiration for Van Gogh paintings with Jake Wolfe. He also has a tendency to wax philosophical even when he intends to kill Jake. In his investigations, Jake uncovers a huge conspiracy and his life is in danger and turned upside down adding to the tension. It is an entertaining page turner of a thriller which started as a murder mystery before turning into a eroller coaster thriller with a riveting ending.

Mark Nolan’s “Vigilante Assassin” starts with the premise that every marriage has a secret. In this instance, it turns out to be a deadly one as Lauren Stephen thinks she is having a nightmare when she wakes up one morning to find her husband had gone missing during the night. He cannot reach him on his phone and in desperation, she hires Jake Wolfe to investigate. Jake and Cody his dog search the house and find something so disturbing that they forbid Lauren from looking at it. Lauren believed that she had everything she ever needed with a beautiful home in the suburbs of San Francisco, a loving partner, a successful business and two great kids. But everything comes tumbling down when a dark secret is uncovered. It turns out that her seemingly perfect husband has enemies who require something of her. As for Jake Wolfe the detective, he is a man with a habit of being found at the wrong place at the wrong time. He had vowed never to get involved in anything dangerous or violent ever again but when Lauren’s life and the safety of her children are threatened his protective instinct is triggered. Jake soon finds himself targeted for death and in the middle of a dangerous conspiracy led by powerful men that will do anything including kill to get their way. Jake will have to fight hard and use his mind to protect Lauren, the kids and Cody.

“Killer Lawyer” by Mark Nolan opens to Jack Wolfe as a young lawyer that also doubles up as a government assassin in his other life. He was a CIA trained assassin who intended to live a quiet and peaceful life practicing law and living on a boat. But then a serial killer shocks the city and Wolfe finds himself framed for the killing of a friend. He is now in a race against the clock to resolve the murder and bring justice to the killer before the man strikes again. He is drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a deranged killer gunning for his life and that of his loved ones. With seemingly random shootings reported all over the city, the residents live in fear of death. Meanwhile, Jake’s investigations unearth ominous clues that change everything. With lives at stake and the clock ticking, will he be able to stop the killer let alone find him before he is felled? It is a wild ride as Jack combines with Cody the dog to make for a thrilling roller coaster of a story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Nolan

3 Responses to “Mark Nolan”

  1. belle: 1 year ago

    Love the books because there is very little cursing and no graphic sex. Books like this are hard to find. Hope he writes more soon.

  2. Ariane Haring: 1 year ago

    First of all, love the Jake Wolfe Series. Can’t seem to find Deadly Weapon anywhere.

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      I just had a quick look and saw it on Amazon


Leave a Reply