Book Notification

Mark Olshaker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mindhunter Books

with John E. Douglas
Mindhunter (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey Into Darkness (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Polaroid Story: Edwin Land and the Polaroid Experience (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Instant Image (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unnatural Causes (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virus Hunter (With: C.J. Peters) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsession (With: John E. Douglas) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Anatomy of Motive (With: John E. Douglas) (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cases That Haunt Us (With: John E. Douglas) (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgotten Killer: Rudy Guede and the Murder of Meredith Kercher (With: Douglas Preston,Steve Moore,John Douglas Marshall) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadliest Enemy (With: Michael T. Osterholm) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killer Across the Table (With: John E. Douglas) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killer's Shadow (With: John E. Douglas) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When a Killer Calls (With: John E. Douglas) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mark Olshaker is American psychology, crime and non-fiction author best known for his book Mind Hunter that was later adapted into a movie. He teamed up with FBI agent John Douglas to write this compelling non-fiction, among many others. Additionally, Olshaker has also teamed up with other notable figures in law enforcement and public health to craft convincing best sellers. All his books are based on true stories that include crimes performed in the past that left many people shocked and law enforcement officers puzzled. Away from writing, Mark Olshaker works as a filmmaker, and he boasts of an Emmy Award.

Mind Hunter

Mind Hunter is a story about special agent John Douglas, a talented agent who captures ruthless serial killers by infiltrating into their minds. Up to date, Douglas has captured the Atlanta Child murder, the Trailside Killer of San Francisco, and other assassins and serial killers such as Richard Speck, Charles Manson, and John Wayne Gacy. Until his retirement, Agent John Douglas was known as the model of law enforcement, and his work has inspired thrillers like The Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon, to mention but a few.

The Mind Hunter is a non-fiction account of rapists and murderers and what goes on in their heads when they commit those heinous crimes. There is no doubt that Douglas has a colorful career, and he is eager to put his skills into good use when confronted by a case that seems impossible to solve. John Douglas spends most of his career at the Behavioral Science Unit. Here, he and other agents interview many violent offenders and then try to use the information they gather to solve some of the violent crimes that remained unresolved.

This is not your average non-fiction crime stuff. The fact that the book is written in consultation with a former FBI agent gives it quite an edge. Douglas also includes the circumstances that led him into this career in the first place while highlighting a few of his war stories and the work put into bringing serial killers and other offenders to justice. The book comes with no exaggerations as all the cases highlighted in it are true. However, Douglas’s fresh way of looking at crime makes for an exciting read and allows the reader to understand what goes on where the human brain is concerned.

Douglas gives credit to local cops and fellow agents he worked with throughout his career. It is evident from this writing that however talented he is, Douglas could not solve alone. Similarly, he also needed some help with the book, which is where Mark Olshaker comes in. The duo works to transport the reader to the scene of the crime to the FBI, where expert’s work of evidence collected in a bid to fill in all the details.

Aside from just offering conclusions, the authors highlight the steps required when carrying out any form of investigation. According to Douglas, the behavior is a reflection of personality, and the best way to predict future violence is to have a look at past abuse. In his bid to capture the serial killers, Douglas had to understand the criminal mind to enable him and others to evaluate crime in totality.

Mind Hunter is an out of the ordinary crime book with real-life stories and authors determined to break down the process involved in a criminal investigation in a way the readers can understand. The book is fast-paced, and the flow from start to finishing is outstanding.

The Cases That Haunt Us

The Cases That Haunt Us further delves into the work of Agent John Douglas, an FBI veteran who specialized in the profiling of criminals. John Douglas teams up with filmmaker Mark Olshaker to answer some questions left in the mind of millions of people after certain crimes committed in the past remain unresolved. The book takes certain cases, and the author sets to reexamine and reinterpret the facts and evidence provided where these cases are concerned. The author makes the skills he developed in the course of duty to deeply profile the key suspects while giving his conclusions on each of these cases.

There are many reasons why the cases in this book cannot be said to be open and shut. Is it true that Lizzie Borden was responsible for murdering her father and stepmother? Who Killed Jon Benet Ramsey? Go on a detective journey with a real-life FBI agent and let the author try to explain all the details that lead to the conclusions made at the end of the day. Aside from the excellent writing, this book stands out because it offers controversial yet convincing outcomes on notable cases. The author deconstructs the evidence gathered and draws up intelligent conclusions based on this evidence, among other resources.

In the Cases That Haunt Us, the author presents himself as the expert he is without being overbearing. Douglas methodically goes through each case, making it easy for the reader to see the facts that lead to his conclusion. Good background on the topic, a flair for writing, and a chronological flow of events make this an intriguing read. The addition of other cases that Douglas was able to solve when working for the FBI helps support the theories Douglas makes while making his conclusions more authentic.

This book touches on the Victorian murderer in the Jack the Ripper case. Douglas provides a detailed retelling of the facts in this case without delving into the theories that surrounded the brutal killings during this period. The book sticks to the facts and offers a reasonable explanation of crimes that would otherwise remain a mystery. There is also a good number of unresolved cases that happened in the recent past.

If you are a fan of detective stories, The Cases That Haunt Us is a great choice. This book will not only highlight some of the unresolved cases in history but also offer logical conclusions to these cases. Agent Douglas’s expertise in this field is unrivaled, and his storytelling skills are nothing but outstanding. Generally, a great read with gripping cases and well-thought-out conclusions.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Olshaker

Leave a Reply