Book Notification

Mark Pearson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Jack Delaney Books

Publication Order of Private Books

Private (By: James Patterson,Maxine Paetro,Mark Sullivan) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private London (With: James Patterson) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Games (By: James Patterson,Mark Sullivan,Mark Sullivan) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private:#1 Suspect (By: James Patterson,Maxine Paetro) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Berlin (By: James Patterson,Mark Sullivan,Mark Sullivan) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private L.A. (By: James Patterson,Mark Sullivan) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Down Under / Oz (By: James Patterson,Michael White) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private India (By: James Patterson,Ashwin Sanghi) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Vegas (By: James Patterson,Maxine Paetro) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Sydney / Missing (By: James Patterson,Kathryn Fox) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Paris (By: James Patterson,Mark Sullivan,Mark Sullivan) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rio / The Games (By: James Patterson,Mark Sullivan,Mark Sullivan) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Delhi / Count to Ten (By: James Patterson,Ashwin Sanghi) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Princess (By: James Patterson,Rees Jones) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Moscow (By: James Patterson,Adam Hamdy) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rogue / Private: Missing Persons (By: James Patterson,Adam Hamdy) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Beijing (By: James Patterson,Adam Hamdy) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rome (By: James Patterson,Adam Hamdy) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Monaco (By: James Patterson,Adam Hamdy) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
On his website, James has a separate listing for the "main" Private series which is in this order: Private, Private: #1 Suspect, Private L.A., Private Vegas, Private Paris and The Games.

Mark Pearson is an English author popularly known for his DI Jack Delaney a police procedural series. Pearson became a published author in 2008 when Hard Evidence the first book in DI Jack Delaney series was published.

Hard Evidence

Hard Evidence is the first book in DI Jack Delaney series featuring Detective Investigator Jack Delaney. The story kicks off with at a murder scene; the victim is Jackie Malone, her body lies in a pool of blood in her North London flat where she has lived and worked as a prostitute. She appears to have deep knife wounds and her hands and legs are tied with a coat hanger wire.

However, for Detective Inspector Jack this is not like the typical cases he is used to, he was a good friend of Jackie and before her death; she had left several desperate messages on his phone. Despite no immediate suspects and clues, the fear in her voice shows that this was not just a random act of violence. Just as the detective begins his investigation into the case, a young girl vanishes, and Jack has to find her before it is too late. He knows that he must act very fast if he intends to find the young girl alive at the same time he is determined in finding Jackie’s killer. However, his uncompromising and tough attitude has made him some strong enemies, and this case could be their perfect moment to dispose of him once and for all.

Blood Work

In the second series novel, DI Jack is thrust into a murder case, the first murder victim is a young woman, and her body is found on Hampstead Heath. Her throat appears to have been slashed with a knife and her body mutilated. This shocking discover mark the start of Detective Inspector Jack toughest case ever.
The second murder victim is a young woman, and her body appears to have been expertly dissected. The body is found in a North London flat with a colored scarf tied around the victim’s neck. With the two brutal murders, it becomes apparently clear that a psychopath is on the loose. There are no links between the two victims, and also there are no clear motives behind the murders.- However, the crimes scenes narrate a terrifying story.

Jack with the help of a forensic pathologist Kate Walker has to work faster against all the odds and piece together the available clues if they need to uncover the truth behind these two murders. But violent events from the Detective’s past are threatening to ruin his life, and he also must stay a step ahead of his adversaries if he needs to stop the serial killer from getting more victims.

This second installment is a brilliantly written police procedural, but it is not a” policeman catch killer” story alone, as there are also multiple stories in the novel. Through these stories, you will get to know more about the victims past, and how their lives were before meeting their deaths. You will also interact with the protagonist; learn of his past, and how it keeps on affecting his current case that he is working on. In this story, we get to find out more about the detective and more about how his wife died. The relationship with his forensic sidekick is explored in this book which is amazing to see the outcome of their “professional relationship.”

The author has made use of different point of views, as the story is narrated from various POV thus allowing you as the reader a chance of gaining access to the mind of different characters even the minor ones.

Death Row

Years back when Jack Delaney was still a beat cop based not far from Hendon, two children were reported missing. The two kids have never seen again, but years later Delaney rescued a girl from the an abandoned vehicle resulting in the arrest of Peter, one of the most feared child rapists and killers of the recent history. Even though the bodies were never discovered, Peter admitted to killing the two children and even much more. He was sent to jail where he was to spend the rest of his life. Jackie thought that the case was closed, but he could not have been more wrong.

The third book in the series is well written and easy to follow. The story captures reader’s attention right from the first page to the last. The characters featured in the book are strong, and regardless whether they are villains or the good people, you will still get a strong feeling for them. Jack is a good cop, handsome, courageous and always gets his job done even when a case seems to be impossible to solve, he always manages to crack the nut. The story is a real page turner and well paced, and before long, bodies begin piling up, and the chase for finding the killer is on.

Murder Club

In this fourth series installment, Murder Club, Inspector Delaney is anticipating to have a good time during the Christmas holiday with his partner Kate Walker and his daughter Siobhan. Unfortunately for him, the past always finds a way of ruining the present and so does his past ruin Jack’s plans.

A year before Delaney was responsible for the arrest of Michael Robinson, a lethal and violent rapist. Robinson claims that he was set up by the police before his trial, and was brutally attacked and left for the dead while in prison. Fortunately, he did not die, but a year later he is now out of the hospital and ready for the trial. He now holds Delaney responsible for the attack that saw him spend a year in hospital and nearly ended his life.

Everything is about to get twisted and get a whole lot worse Inspector Delaney when the rapist is set free. There are entirely new faces at the city –and with them come old bones, old crimes and some unsettled scores to settle. Apparently, it appears that Delaney is not the only person in London with terrible secrets to hide, and as the body count starts rising, he might be forced to join the club.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Pearson

Leave a Reply