Book Notification

Mark Schlabach Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Destiny's Dogs: Georgia's Championship Season (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
What It Means to Be a Hokie (With: Frank Beamer) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
What It Means to Be a Seminole (With: Bobby Bowden) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
What It Means to Be a Gator (With: Urban Meyer) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Georgia Football: YesterdayToday (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Called to Coach (With: Bobby Bowden,Joe Paterno) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Always a Hokie (With: Norm Woods,Ray Glier) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heisman: The Man Behind the Trophy (With: John M. Heisman) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happy, Happy, Happy (With: Phil Robertson) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Si-cology 1 (With: Si Robertson) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glory, Glory (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Call: Reflections on Faith, Family, and Fowl (With: Jase Robertson) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
unPHILtered: The Way I See It (With: Phil Robertson) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Row Chaplain (With: Earl A. Smith) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Woodlawn: One Hope. One Dream. One Way. (With: Todd Gerelds) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Touchdown Tony: Running with a Purpose (With: Tony Nathan) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Violated (With: Paula Lavigne) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Gone (By: John Baldwin,Mackenzie Baldwin) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Comes Easy (With: Shaquem Griffin) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Harvest (By: Gregorio "Greg" Francis) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mark Schlabach
Mark Schlabach was born in Knox, Indiana and is a New York Times bestselling author, reporter for, sports journalist, and columnist.

Mark joined in July of 2006 as a college basketball and college football columnist. He’s notable during college football season for his weekly “On the Mark” column and regularly contributes to ESPN programs such as College Football Live, The Experts, SportsCenter, and Outside the Lines.

He graduated from the University of Georgia, and is a member of Sigma Nu fraternity. He spent nine years working at The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, where he covered University of Georgia, the NFL, the Southeastern Conference, and NASCAR. He later spent two years at The Washington Post covering boxing, college basketball, and college football.

Three of the books that he co-authored were on the New York Times bestseller list at the same time in September of 2013. “Sicology 1” was at #1, while “Happy, Happy, Happy” was #3, and “The Duck Commander Family” was #9.

“What It Means to Be a Gator: Urban Meyer and Florida’s Greatest Players” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2008. Taking a decade-by-decade approach to the University of Florida football tradition, this collection brings together more than 40 stories from the most outstanding voices of the entire program.

The spirit of Gators football is not captured merely by one season, one phrase, or a particular game, but instead, it’s the student-athletes and coaches that made the magic happen through the decades blending their experiences to capture the real essence of their beloved school.

From Tim Tebow and his transition to a full-time starter during his sophomore year, Danny Wuerfful and the shotgun formation in the Sugar Bowl, Florida fans are going to relish the intimate stories told by the figures they have come to cherish.

“Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2013. This no-holds-barred autobiography chronicles the remarkable life of Phil Robertson, the original Duck Commander and “Duck Dynasty” star, from his early childhood through the founding of a family business. Life was always getting in the way of Phil’s passion for duck hunting.

An NFL-bound QB, he made his mark on Louisiana Tech University in the 1960s by playing football and finishing his college career with a master’s in English. However his eyes weren’t always on the ball or the books; they typically were looking up to the sky.

Phil grew up with the dream of living the simple life off of the land like his forebears did, however he quickly found himself on the path to self-destruction, drinking too much, leasing a bar, fighting, and letting his talents go to waste. He almost lost all of it until he gave his life to God. Then everything changed.

Phil’s incredible story tells how he followed a calling from God and shortly after invented this duck call which would start this incredible journey to the life that he had always dreamed about for himself and his family. With great love for his family, his country, and his maker, Phil’s finally found the ingredients to the “good life” that he always wanted.

This was a 2013 Goodreads Nominee for Best Memoir & Autobiography.

“Si-cology 1: Tales and Wisdom from Ducky Dynasty’s Favorite Uncle” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2013. You know him from “Duck Dynasty”, now you can enjoy Uncle Si’s crazy exploits, tall tales, and his quirky one-liners in this single raucous collection.

While you read through this book, there are just a few things that you have to understand: 95% of Si’s stories are truthful. Each and every member of the Robertson family has got the god given gift of telling stories. When you have sat in the duck blind for over half of your life, you must figure out some way to pass the time. It is much better than just looking at Jase and Willie for six hours. Many of these stories he likes telling happened when he was a young boy or while he was in Vietnam. At his age, some of the details have grown cloudy, however he will recall the coming stories as best as he possibly can. Just remember that it is not a lie if you believe that it’s true. It is up to the reader to figure out what’s fiction and what is truth. Best of luck with that, Jack. And may the force be with you.

Another thing you’ve got to know: his stories are sort of like his vocabulary. He likes to say “hey” quite a bit. It can mean different things, like yes, maybe, and no. It can mean next week. Bottom line: in order to understand Si, you must understand “hey”.

And if you know anything at all about Silas Merritt Robertson, you know that he’s a hard rascal to figure out.

This was a 2013 Goodreads Nominee for Best Humor.

“Good Call: Reflections on Faith, Family, and Fowl” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2014. The funny, straight faced man of Duck Dynasty has got a real story to tell. Not a repeat of the prior Duck Dynasty book, Jase opens up about his personal family life, his childhood days with a drunken dad, and how he came to his faith.

This open book from him might surprise some fans that love him for his dry humor and rivalry with Willie. This thoughtful yet funny read, is structured around lessons of faith in the blind on such topics as passion, respect, honesty, generosity, forgiveness, humility, and kindness. Chapters discuss: the highlights of his memory of the early days with his disruptive and drunken dad; high school days, and his strong commitment to not be like Phil was, opting for total abstinence from sex and drinking. The moment he forgave Phil for being such an awful dad in his younger days. His first hunt with Phil, where he saw an excitement from Phil he never did before. His first date with Missy, a fake date to make some other girl jealous. And a chapter on Uncle Si, of course, with stories not told in other books.

Here Jase shares a love for the land and our responsibility to take care of it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Schlabach

Leave a Reply