Book Notification

Mark Sennen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Charlotte Savage Books

Touch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boat House (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Tale (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Evils (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boneyard (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Puppet (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of DI Charlotte Savage Books

The Boat House is a prequel to the DI Charlotte Savage series, chronicling her very first case.

Publication Order of Holm & Da Silva Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sum of All Sins (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Mark Sennen grew up in a rural place called Shropshire, but was born in Surrey. It was in Shropshire that he learned to worm sheep and drive a tractor. While in Shropshire, he had to make a forty mile round trip simply to go see a movie. Sennen would also go out for nights with his friends that were made up of dances that were held in halls in the village where the girls would be on one side and the boys would be on one side. Mark Sennen has also tried his hand at many things, but without a whole lot of success. He is an average drummer, reluctant farmer, a decent programmer, and a failed Ph.D. student. Sennen can also play the tenor ukulele but not very well and he loves sailing. Sennen’s favorite crime writer is Graham Hurley, who he finds no one can touch. At University of Birmingham, he studied the subject of Cultural Studies. The place he used to use as his programmer’s suite, is now where he writes, but he is still able to program some on the side, when he is not writing. This a shed in his garden.

He self-published the first novel (“Touch”, that came out in 2011 and is also his debut) in the “Detective Inspector Charlotte Savage” series which became a bestseller in the thriller category on Amazon. The books in the series are now published by HarperCollins. He lives by a Devon creek that has not seen a murder in some time and lives with his two kids and wife.

He almost set the novels about Charlotte Savage in Brighton, but found another author had beat him to the punch and decided to set the series near where he lives, in Devon.

“Touch” is the first book in the “Detective Inspector Charlotte Savage” series that was released in the year 2011. A man named Harry likes to look at pretty things and sometimes he has to get closer to them. Detective Inspector Savage and company have a string of awful rapes on younger women to look into, but there is nothing to go off whatsoever. The cycle goes drugged, taken, gang raped, and then dumped somewhere in the middle of nowhere. One of the victims is found on the beach, after being dumped at sea, and so it becomes more serious and it is declared a murder case. Another body is found, with a different modus operandi, but they do find a picture of the first victim close by at the scene. It is probably a serial killer. One that is both careful as well as meticulous. Not to mention fuelled by passions that are both extreme and twisted.

Fans of the novel enjoyed it, finding themselves engrossed in the thick of the story, and it becomes a novel that you simply cannot put down. Some enjoyed all of the characters and Sennen’s writing style felt like a breath of fresh air. The bad guys were scum, and the cops were human and other characters were shown to be not perfect. Some liked how well constructed the plot was and how believable the whole story was. All of the characters were found to be something that kept them on their toes, not something that took away from anything. This novel captures everything that comes with abuse and the problems associated.

Some did not like all of the characters, finding that it made things a confusing for them, and was hard to keep everyone straight. These readers had to keep reminding themselves who that person or another was and it was hard to distinguish between the different people. This stems from the fact that the author does not make a big enough effort to make them stand out from each other. Some found that the novel was just too weak to continue, flat characters and weak prose. Some felt that this novel was confusing and not believable.

“Bad Blood” is the second book in the “Detective Inspector Charlotte Savage” series that was released in the year 2013. A six year old girl is found murdered and was buried under a patio. So it makes sense to most people that a pedophile would be killed shortly after. Several men are executed in cold blood and a member of Detective Inspector Savage’s team is kidnapped. This complicates things, but also lets people know that there is a psychopathic killer on the loose. There is a pattern to the victims the killer is taking. It becomes a race against time to make sure the killer is stopped before it is too late and more people are killed. This killer may have a message for Savage herself

Fans of the novel like the way you can see a young novelist develop his skills and tackle a complex plot, and bring a story together to a conclusion that will satisfy everyone. This novel allowed the reader to visualize things, as though they were making a movie of it in their head, it was that vivid. The characters are well drawn, not just a cardboard cutout, and they also have a bigger role this time out. There is a link that connects the novels together to keep readers coming back for more installments of the series. This novel is better than novel that comes before it. Fans enjoyed reading descriptions about the local scenery, especially because they had been there and knew exactly the places that Sennen was talking about.

Some did not like the way that the novel felt like it was trying too hard to be on the cutting edge of things. Savage’s relationship was laughable and not really something that you would read in a novel. This novel seemed like a weak follow up to the first novel in the series, and plot was a mess and some finished the novel grateful it was over. There are so many characters and not enough of development, or not enough time to do so properly. Some feel, after only reading this novel and not the first one, that it is important to read the first novel first. That way things will make more sense while reading this novel.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mark Sennen

One Response to “Mark Sennen”

  1. Jackie: 2 years ago

    Just found your books I have really enjoyed them. As I work in a Library I pass my reads onto others will look forward to ordering some of the others. Thankyou


Leave a Reply