Book Notification

Mark Treasure Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mark Treasure Books

Unholy Writ (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure by Degrees (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Up in Smoke (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder for Treasure (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Copper, Gold and Treasure (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Preserved (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Advertise for Treasure (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Advent (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Treasure (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure in Roubles (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divided Treasure (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure in Oxford (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holy Treasure! (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prescription for Murder (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure by Post (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Planning On Murder (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Banking on Murder (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mark Treasure is the main character of David William ‘A Mark Treasure Mystery’ book series. This character is a British man, graduate of Jesus College, Oxford, vice-chairman of a merchant bank and occasional sleuth. There are 17 books in the series, each containing different unrelated stories. Mark and his successful actress wife Molly participate in a series of events throughout the world, containing mysteries over disappearances, deaths, corruption, thefts, and all kinds of others. It contains a good deal of comedy with witty remarks all around this character. His wife Molly, also gives a funny twist to many of his adventures.

In these times, a merchant banker seems like a most unusual detective, yet you will see the effective use of all his convincing skills to sort out all types of situations. He generally arrives right after the plot is taking place, but for some reason it gets even more mysterious once he sets foot in the place. He might be a bit stodgy for a character, but you will like his cleverness in more than one occasion.

He will meet all kinds of people throughout their quest to mystery solving; from an old lady with alleged psychic powers, to KGB officers, heirs to titles and riches, and so on. Using his skills as a decent merchant banker, he struggles to defend people from great injustices, generally from employers and big businessmen. He cleverly uses his knowledge in business, law, among others, to overcome the nasty obstacles put on his way by the typical British cynics complicating the mystery.

The different plots take place in numerous English towns, villages and even cities. You will find a lively description of local village and town life all around Wales and other sites of the British region of England. You can expect to see good descriptions of the sites, customs and even smells from the context of the plot.

The book series began on 1973 with the Unholy Writ, a good start for the series as it was said to have a nice combination of credible fiction and interesting plot. It was until 1993 with Banking murder that the author decided to end the series, by just beginning another one with a different character. There are some critics that say these books deserve a much better audience for their quality work and will definitely reward their cost. You should decide yourself once you embark on the first of them.

Unholy Writ

There’s a Shakespeare manuscript hidden somewhere at Mitchell Hall. As soon as evidence of this is brought to light, the Moonlight family’s former country seat becomes a center of death and intrigue. There was a need for someone to be commissioned to buy back the estate, and our main character Mark Treasure is selected. This gets even more complicated when he discovers this place to be a headquarters for a fanatical political movement. What is more, an old lady has died of fright and a gravedigger suffered a mysterious and fatal fall. These are apparently non-connected incidents but Mark Treasures finds a link among them; three of them actually, an alleged clergyman from America, a power-hungry MP, and a famous antiquarian supervising a team of Filipino laborers. You might think this is about all the action you can get from a book, but to your surprise Treasure’s investigation led to even more startling revelations and unexpected rewards.

Murder in Advent

As you would expect from a religious place, Litchester Cathedral usually was an oasis of cloistered calm. Then the announced sale of its 1225 copy of the Magna Carta turn is into a center of acrimonious dispute. This is the perfect excuse for our merchant banker to be invited over and help sort all this squabbling. Someone apparently isn’t like where all is going and a fire breaks over in the ecclesiastical library, destroying everything; Magna Carta and all. This happens while Treasure journeys to the place and help solve the arguing. To add to this mess, a body is discovered in the debris; a verger from the church. And as Treasure’s murder investigation unravels evidence of some most unholy mayhem and dark skull duggery, he realizes that Litchester is a place where sins and secrets abound. You will find all the elements of a classic mystery novel, along with some fine touches from Mr. William.

Divided Treasure

In the coast of North Wales, Llanegwen used to be an attractive, healthy place for respectable people. Soon, a mix of strange events would ask for the presence of our main character; there’s a masked rapist stalking the streets, a petty thief with an eye to the main chance and anonymous businessmen who take over the local sweet factory after a highly convenient death. During a polite and discreet demonstration by the workers outside Mark Treasure’s home, he is drawn into a fight to save their pension fund and even their jobs. This is all that was needed for the plot to start developing into a full web of mysteries. Treasure needs all his skills as a banker to uncover the layers of greed and deceit at the factory. Then also become sleuth again when a bold scamper around the shop-floor ends in a bizarre double murder. Who knows how long will it take for him to uncover these apparently unrelated mysteries, can he solve them before another life is lost? Can he restore the healthiness and tranquility of Llanegwen to how it once was? You can’t expect the plot to get any denser, but you can definitely expect it to be convincing. Treasure’s attributes are to be definitely tested in this story.

Murder for Treasure by David Williams

In this book we find a giant Chemical Corporation’s malicious plans brought to jeopardy by a funny event of an old Mrs. Ogmore-Davies searching for her lost parrot. Somehow this brought our banker sleuth Mark Treasure to the Village where a great commotion over the finding of a dead body was taking place. All this was accompanied by an assault on his life, some pitched battle in a train station, and the mysterious disappearance of a battered Australian clergyman. If this wasn’t enough to prove that nobody wanted Treasure in that West Wales sailing village, the fact that another dead body was found when he arrived confirmed it. There is no telling when this might end, as there might even be some psychic power old woman around to make things even more bizarre. Yet this was only the start of that exceedingly unquiet weekend.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mark Treasure

Leave a Reply